- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Carlton
- Other Teams
- North Ballarat
I know the feeling, being nice about Essendons prospects is difficult/sickening. lolStop making me defend Carlton. It's not right, dammit.

LIVE: Fremantle v Hawthorn - Rd 9 - 6:10PM Thu
Squiggle tips Hawks at 51% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists » -- All Rd 9 Games
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 9
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
I know the feeling, being nice about Essendons prospects is difficult/sickening. lolStop making me defend Carlton. It's not right, dammit.
so on and so forth.
Is all that likely? Doubtful that it is, but one thing I've learned about footy over the years, is that it's unpredictable what's going to happen next. No one would have been guessing the Lions to 3-peat back in 1999, but loh and behold.
As for the chances of this list winning a flag, I think it depends on what can be achieved regarding the coming years recruitment. Certainly with guys like Murphy, Thomas, Henderson, Gibbs, Menzel, Yarran, Kreuzer, Garlett, etc on the list, there's a reasonable core to keep building around, rather than being 10 years away from a flag with a total rebuild as you've suggested.
Let's be honest, your hatred of Carlton has a little to do with it too.![]()

At present it's not set up to win a flag, I'm not sure anyone would say otherwise, we do however have hopes for some of our younger blokes to take a step up from promising young players to regular contributors to help fill the void for the older fellas who are on the way out.
Your mob managed to take a step forward last year through drastic unforeseen improvement from Carlisle/Hooker/Hibberd etc + the recruitment of Goddard, there's nothing to say we can't make a similar improvement.
Stop making me defend Carlton. It's not right, dammit.
I know the feeling, being nice about Essendons prospects is difficult/sickening. lol

But really, an exercise that could be applied to any team. The reality is (IMO of course) that this Carlton list does not have the quality. Even if the stars aligned as you suggested, you'd have to ALSO rely on other teams not having the same luck. That is, it's best is not better than everyone else. It's best is not even roughly equivalent to the better sides.
Check this out:
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BgLKijCCUAAb3sd.jpg:large
I didn't verify the information myself, so I'm relying on it being accurate, but geez, if correct that is bloody damning. The second oldest list in the league, and I think agreed by all not currently a flag threat.
And this is where I genuinely believe that the Carlton faithful are genuinely suffering from a rose tinted belief not rooted in reality. Murphy, Thomas, Henderson etc is NOT a reasonable core to build around; and this is the fundamental difference in our opinions. I reckon I could write a similar list of players for every club, and for most that 'core' would be significantly better than Carlton. In relation to this poll, a list consisting of Heppell, Zaharakis, Carlisle, Daniher, Ryder, Bellchambers, Hurley, Hibberd, Hooker, Melksham, Myers...... it's diabolically skewed in Essendon's favour.
Really have to strongly disagree with that. Carlisle, Hooker and Hibberd were pre-existing, KNOWN talents that simply needed time. Carlisle and Hooker were always touted as 200 game players - they aren't a bolt out of nowhere.
This is you at your ridiculous best. All Essendon players are known talents and Carlton players are hacks.
I'd think you're trolling, but what's scary is you actually believe this shit.
The fact you say he's on Stanton's level sums up how crap your opinions are on Carlton players.
I didn't say that Carlton would have a better run of it, every side will have players take unexpected steps forward and others that drop away in any given year, it's you who seems to believe Carlton is suddenly going to drop off the map.Ha ha, my hatred for Carlton has a lot to do with the ENJOYMENT of it, but not the analysis itself.
Which to be fair, is a hope shared by seventeen other clubs. Nothing we've seen says Carlton are going to have a better strike rate at this.
Really have to strongly disagree with that. Carlisle, Hooker and Hibberd were pre-existing, KNOWN talents that simply needed time. Carlisle and Hooker were always touted as 200 game players - they aren't a bolt out of nowhere. And Hibberd would have STARTED 2013 in most Essendon fans top 5 or 10 players.
And as for Goddard; he was already an established elite player - not sure how that can be unforseen.
And this is where I genuinely believe that the Carlton faithful are genuinely suffering from a rose tinted belief not rooted in reality. Murphy, Thomas, Henderson etc is NOT a reasonable core to build around; and this is the fundamental difference in our opinions. I reckon I could write a similar list of players for every club, and for most that 'core' would be significantly better than Carlton. In relation to this poll, a list consisting of Heppell, Zaharakis, Carlisle, Daniher, Ryder, Bellchambers, Hurley, Hibberd, Hooker, Melksham, Myers...... it's diabolically skewed in Essendon's favour.
I didn't say that Carlton would have a better run of it, every side will have players take unexpected steps forward and others that drop away in any given year, it's you who seems to believe Carlton is suddenly going to drop off the map.
I didn't say Goddard was unforseen, he's been a solid to v good player for near on a decade, the other three were a little surprising. Carlisle always was going to be good, he just needed time but no one would've predicted he was going to be discussed as a possible all australian last season. Hooker really came as a shock, to go from being a solid depth player to one of the better intercept defenders in the comp & Hibberd to go from being a good solid player to one of your most important.
Ok, well on previous form, Hooker would have ideally been depth, he took a huge step forward this past season. There's a reason almost everyone scoffed at Essendons proposal of Hooker for an unproven Caddy..Eh?
I think Carlton are, and will be this year a middle of the road side. I don't think relative performance is likely to be drastically different to 2013.
Hooker has never been a depth player; has been a first choice selection since 2009.
As for Hibberd, granted as an Essendon supporter I'm more 'exposed' to him, but if he came as a surprise I'd offer that you may not have been paying very close attention.

I didn't say that Carlton would have a better run of it, every side will have players take unexpected steps forward and others that drop away in any given year, it's you who seems to believe Carlton is suddenly going to drop off the map.
I didn't say Goddard was unforseen, he's been a solid to v good player for near on a decade, the other three were a little surprising. Carlisle always was going to be good, he just needed time but no one would've predicted he was going to be discussed as a possible all australian last season. Hooker really came as a shock, to go from being a solid depth player to one of the better intercept defenders in the comp & Hibberd to go from being a good solid player to one of your most important.
Ok, well on previous form, Hooker would have ideally been depth, he took a huge step forward this past season. There's a reason almost everyone scoffed at Essendons proposal of Hooker for an unproven Caddy..
Speaking of just not true, that kind of form would have had him as a lock for All Australian, alas he wasn't.That's just not true. In the first half of 2012 Hooker took the oppositions best forward and only would have been beaten once or twice.
Speaking of just not true, that kind of form would have had him as a lock for All Australian, alas he wasn't.
I'm sure why Essendon supporters want to argue that their players improved. They went from being a middle of the road side to a top 4-6 side whilst remaining exactly the same apparently.
Ok that's cool. My initial point before I got mixed up was that he has taken a huge step forward over the past 3-4 years and that I hope someone like Matthew Watson/Andrew McInnes can take a similar step forward, both are pretty raw at this stage but both have shown a bit when given game time.I didn't say he didn't improve. I said his improvement was foreseeable
Now you're just cracking the sads, or not reading in context.
The inference was that Carlisle/Hooker/Hibberd came out of nowhere, as in, Essendon's improvement came because these previously unknown and completely unexpected players performed; and by extension that could happen at Carlton.
Hmmmm you're right. Based on 2013 I am being rather unfair to Stanton comparing him to Murphy.
Ok that's cool. My initial point before I got mixed up was that he has taken a huge step forward over the past 3-4 years and that I hope someone like Matthew Watson/Andrew McInnes can take a similar step forward, both are pretty raw at this stage but both have shown a bit when given game time.
Yeah I agree their are definitely Carlton players who have foreseeable improvement this year I think the criticism of their list is their are too many players are with a foreseeable decline.
I think it's overstated tbh. All we're ever told is how Waite is never on the park ... yet we're apparently going to be stuffed when he retires. That Judd is baked, but again, we're stuffed when he retires too. Carrazzo had next to no impact last season, but it seems we can't improve because he's just turned 30. Our most consistent aging contributor is Simpson, who happens to be one of the league's most durable and is getting better with age, but we're done for there too apparently. Meanwhile players integral to your performances last year in Watson & Goddard, your top two in the B&F count, are turning 29yo this year and not even considered.
Lucky for Carlton what the majority of people think is only useful for winning polls on bigfooty not football matches.
Yeah I agree their are definitely Carlton players who have foreseeable improvement this year I think the criticism of their list is their are too many players are with a foreseeable decline.
With Judd slowing down I have question marks over a midfield lead by Murphy, Thomas, Gibbs and Mclean who are all excellent on their day but I'm not sure how Murphy and Thomas will handle the attention that goes with being the top midfielders in a side.
are sure you barrack for the bombers ? way to sensible quote