Opinion Re-drafting Ahmed Saad

Will Ahmed Saad be at St Kilda for the 2015 season?

• Yes

Votes: 65 84.4%
  • No

Votes: 12 15.6%

Good luck to Saad. I don't think anyone with a brain seriously considered him a drug cheat, just someone who made a silly mistake who paid a hefty price for it that could well have finished his career.

Hopefully he can repay the Saints faith now they've given him the chance

TBH i was a bit Meh! about us either redrafting or not redrafting Saad. He's 2nd yr blues left me a little nonplussed about him.
But now i actually think its not a bad idea at all by the club. With such a young list he fits that good mid age bracket we lack, and has a body with a few preseasons under his belt to help balance out the influx of so many new kids.

TBH i was a bit Meh! about us either redrafting or not redrafting Saad. He's 2nd yr blues left me a little nonplussed about him.
But now i actually think its not a bad idea at all by the club. With such a young list he fits that good mid age bracket we lack, and has a body with a few preseasons under his belt to help balance out the influx of so many new kids.
I don't think we can underestimate the power of Saad from a culture perspective upon the kids.

We live in an age where last year's pick 1 just dumped his club, and where this year's expected pick 1 told recruiters he'd leave after his initial contract finished, come what may. More and more players are acting like they're free agents, and getting away with it. We're in an era where a three year contract is effectively a two year one, because clubs have to expect that the player will leave for greener pastures in their final year, so trade them with a year to go, just to get some payoff.

In powerful contrast, St Kilda holds a futurefest in which 19 kids say the words, "I'm COMMITTED to a Saints future...". We are trying to create a sense of loyalty, commitment that is entirely alien to anywhere else in the AFL right now. And it's not enough for us to draft premiership-level talent - we gotta keep them.

The St Kilda Football Club's commitment to Saad, in the midst of all his trials these last two years, speaks powerfully to those 19 kids. It tells them, "If you stay loyal to the Saints, they stay loyal to you." Every single one of those kids will hear Saad singing the praises of the club. That kind of narrative could be the difference between a good player leaving or staying.

Glad we redrafted Saad, he's a ready made small forward which we could do with and he's young enough to be around for our next premiership window.

Like Milney he can spark the side with a freakish goal or two and was a popular player which was no doubt a factor in us redrafting him.

The loyalty factor is important too, it's not like Saad was a deliberate drug cheat, he made an innocent mistake and deserves a chance at redemption.

Definitely worth a rookie pick.

I wonder if Saad has worked on shortening his goal kicking routine. The quarter is nearly finished by the time he kicks the ball
No he hasn't. He thinks its not a problem. Said on radio today

I don't think we can underestimate the power of Saad from a culture perspective upon the kids.

We live in an age where last year's pick 1 just dumped his club, and where this year's expected pick 1 told recruiters he'd leave after his initial contract finished, come what may. More and more players are acting like they're free agents, and getting away with it. We're in an era where a three year contract is effectively a two year one, because clubs have to expect that the player will leave for greener pastures in their final year, so trade them with a year to go, just to get some payoff.

In powerful contrast, St Kilda holds a futurefest in which 19 kids say the words, "I'm COMMITTED to a Saints future...". We are trying to create a sense of loyalty, commitment that is entirely alien to anywhere else in the AFL right now. And it's not enough for us to draft premiership-level talent - we gotta keep them.

The St Kilda Football Club's commitment to Saad, in the midst of all his trials these last two years, speaks powerfully to those 19 kids. It tells them, "If you stay loyal to the Saints, they stay loyal to you." Every single one of those kids will hear Saad singing the praises of the club. That kind of narrative could be the difference between a good player leaving or staying.

great post mate!

I wonder if Saad has worked on shortening his goal kicking routine. The quarter is nearly finished by the time he kicks the ball
Reckon his long run in,is one of the highlights of his game. Nothing better than listening to the opposition supporters bagging him, before he slots the pill dead centre of the goals. Then we get the chance to flip them the royal finger, yelling "Up Yours You Maggots" :p Gotta luv footy & Saad ;)

Where has the old Ahmed Saad thread gone? (post moved here along with a few others to continue what has been an interesting story - Squizzy)

Anyway I just wanted to add that I am immensely proud of the club for doing the right thing by Ahmed.

Whatever else happens the bloke deserves his chance and I am confident he will aurprise many and probabky end up 2nd in our goalkicking.

Last edited by a moderator:
I have a feeling he is not allowed in side the club until 1 January

Unless ASADA deviates at all from the general wording WADA recommends, he is not allowed to take part in any "organised activities"; specifically relating to anything do to with anyone else under the jurisdiction of a relevant association.
To give an example, the NFL is not actually covered by USADA or WADA, as they are registered as an entertainment industry and don't need backing from a sporting association as its not an Olympic sport and doesn't need international funding. So someone with a ban from athletics for example, could actually serve a different ban under NFL rules (often its 2-4 games there for a minor 1st offence) then train/play after that. Dwain Chambers trained in other sports whilst banned from athletics, including with the Miami Dolphins and the (amateur) national team.

But Saad cant even go into Linenhouse centre at the moment. He cant go on a team outing to the cinema. But if happened to be going for a run down the shore and Jarryn Geary and Jack Newnes just happened to be jogging by at the same time, thats fine...

Might be a dumb question but ill ask it anyway.

With saad being suspended with his time off would he have been able to hire a fitness/kicking coach or someone to help him out with his flaws?

Not someone under the jurisdiction of ASADA. So that rules out any coach registered with any governing body (which pretty much all will be otherwise their indemnity insurance is void). Personal trainers with private company would be the only option, and there are likely to be very few of those with the necessary coaching experience to work on kicking. At best a former player who now does PT would be about the best option, but even then people underestimate the skills involved in coaching. Having played yourself doesn't automatically gift you the assessment and teaching skills involved in judging someone else's kicking, any flaws, and designing a remediation and development plan.
That said, the main thing at AFL level is the fitness. Its unbelievable, and there's just no way a person could be at that level just by going for a run before work every morning. They would need to be in an elite performance environment and being challenged constantly, and I suspect he'll have managed to do that without breaching his ban. Technique stuff will likely need to be addressed from January.

Opinion Re-drafting Ahmed Saad