Play Nice Adam Goodes

Why is it that Brett Goodes is never booed? Someone should ask Adam that.
Brett Goodes hasnt delivered some home truths. Adam Goodes has.

Mohammad Ali gets standing Os everywhere he goes now, but don't forget he was seen (by racists) as a black radical who should keep his mouth shut. He would always criticise the US as a war mongering racist society.

The same arguments have been re-heated and directed at Goodes.

No doubt he's achieved more than both of us but there are a lot of sports people with charities out there. He has gone down hill in the past six or seven years compared to what he was like. This thread shows a wider variety of people showing contempt for his character. He seems to think it's all about him and when it's not he tries to make it about him.

It's at the stage now where instead of taking a higher ground, Goodes is using division to face his demons.

Would take a big character to settle this booing issue in a respectful manner but with his onfield diving and umpire playing, it's hardly surprising he's bringing the situation to boiling point through negativity.

Would be challenging to be in his position, as the general public are often fairly simple beings.. If a kid sees a big dark skinned guy with a full beard... It's not against the laws of nature for them to relate it to what they know.

If a player has long hair and gets called a girl, often they will cut it to avoid further discrimination. Not goodes, he antagonises the situation until it boils over.

Regardless of his motives and insecurities there is general angst that is coming to the surface and would be exactly the same if Goodes was instead gay, asian, muslim, jewish, disabled etc.

He's bringing a social issue to the front pages, but by being a flog.

It's Jerry springer 101.

With the full backing of a PC media and AFL, it's probably good these issues get faced, even if Goodes does it to take the focus away from being disliked because of his relationship with umpires and his tactics.

He's cornered himself into playing the race card. For where his career sits with retirement approaching, it's probably in his interests to divide and conquer rather than take a humble path.

I'd be very interested to see the comparison between the amount, nature and impact of the work that Goodes does, vs Andrew McLeod - and the recognition that they both receive for it (and whether they seek it out).
Why don't you just come out and say - I don't care what Adam does - I'm just gonna hate. You won't be alone.

Adam Goodes is booed because he is the most Un-Australian ever to win Australian of the year. He was ungracious, undeserving and criticised our way of life post reward. Adam Goodes is the issue here not the Australian public and he is inciting the booing
He is not. He's being hounded by a bunch of white people who think he's gotten ahead of himself, and who would rather their minorities be subservient, invisible, meek and servile.

That's the impression he gives, and that's why a lot of people dislike him.

Same as Harry O. Same as Will Minson.

I missed about forty pages of this thread while I was asleep, did you end up telling me what we could do to try and help address some of the indigenous issues that this country has?

Face it, people dislike him because he loudly proclaims the plight of his people.

I told you a few people to go and listen to. Start with Gregory Phillips.

As many had said already if he did that to Jetta or Buddy who probably saw the same talk during the week it would have been great. There would have been enjoyment by them, rather than anger by blues fans, and being on TV would have raised just as many questions to get the awareness up if the dance ... as well as expressing Adam's pride.

This is the bit that stands out for me, and reinforces why many people who are not in the slightest bit racist, dont like Goodes.

Option A - He does his traditional war dance as he runs towards buddy and/or Jetta, the boys get up, the crowd loves it, the media love it and report it as such. Good strong, cultural leadership shown by a former AOTY in a relevant week.

Option B - He does his traditional war dance as he runs towards the only little pocket of Carlton fans. The media are skeptical and report it as such. Narcissistic, divisive actions shown by a former AOTY who should know better in a week where the act will get more attention than normal. Take away all the controversy and he is sticking it to a team who is down by 50 points.

He chose option B. He is a prick.

You are suggesting it is common behaviour. I disagree.

We all boo players at times in games, but this is systematic booing of a player week in week out.
He ain't the only one. from my team Selwood gets it every single game and I'm sure there are others from other clubs.

This is the bit that stands out for me, and reinforces why many people who are not in the slightest bit racist, dont like Goodes.

Option A - He does his traditional war dance as he runs towards buddy and/or Jetta, the boys get up, the crowd loves it, the media love it and report it as such. Good strong, cultural leadership shown by a former AOTY in a relevant week.

Option B - He does his traditional war dance as he runs towards the only little pocket of Carlton fans. The media are skeptical and report it as such. Narcissistic, divisive actions shown by a former AOTY who should know better in a week where the act will get more attention than normal. Take away all the controversy and he is sticking it to a team who is down by 50 points.

He chose option B. He is a prick.

The footy media are tabloid trash who'll report things the way to get the outrage response from the lowest common denominator.

He is not. He's being hounded by a bunch of white people who think he's gotten ahead of himself, and who would rather their minorities be subservient, invisible, meek and servile.

Maybe another over-reaction right there, Sweetback.

Maybe the truth is somewhere in-between the two extremes, but Goodes has taken on more than he can chew at the moment........but then again sometimes you have to over-balance to get back to an equilibrium.

Anyway................next.

Adam Goodes is booed because he is the most Un-Australian ever to win Australian of the year. He was ungracious, undeserving and criticised our way of life post reward. Adam Goodes is the issue here not the Australian public and he is inciting the booing

john farhnam the englishman

Personally I think it still would of been cringeworthy even if it had been directed at the Sydney cheer squad. Not sure what that makes me but I'm sure it won't take long for someone to put a label on it

You're clearly a couch potato

People claiming that Goodes is inciting some fans by a show of indigenous pride.

Same people claiming that crowd isn't racist.

Weird how someone who isn't racist would get incited or offended by a show of indigenous pride
A brilliantly simple a clear analysis. It is indigenous round. Can we handle a strong minded aboriginal expressing his opinions which some people find confronting?

I reckon it is crap he is booed and a waste of time by the people doing it. Simple "Mob mentality" just like the psuedo PC brigade feigning interest in matters that they have no real concern about and/or don't effect them in anyway.

Any justification of this booing...i.e "he is a sh1t bloke etc" is crepe...We all know a heap of sh1t people...and more than likely don't say a thing.

Um have you seen the list of australian of the years?? There are some shockers in there.

Brett Goodes hasnt delivered some home truths. Adam Goodes has.

Mohammad Ali gets standing Os everywhere he goes now, but don't forget he was seen (by racists) as a black radical who should keep his mouth shut. He would always criticise the US as a war mongering racist society.

The same arguments have been re-heated and directed at Goodes.

Off topic, but how would Ali go these days converting to Islam?

he just had his press conference, he got what he wanted. Well done Adam, its all about you.

He said the celebration was premeditated, then in the next sentence said he had something planned for the other side of the ground too, and Lewis Jetta had something planned, lol

I truly can't see what the fuss is about. His jig just made him look a bit of a ninny that's all!
I agree. But those constantly whining about him being booed at games need to shut up as this is the type of self righteous crap that brings it on. There are heaps of indigenous players in the AFL and 99% of fans love to see them play for their skills no matter what team they play for. Goodes is a serial whiner and if people say that it is simply a racist matter what does that say about the vast majority of indigenous players who obviously love and enjoy the game and who don'e seem to attract controversy at all. Then again Sydneysiders seem to regard themselves as the judge and jury on most social issues

Maybe another over-reaction right there, Sweetback.

Maybe the truth is somewhere in-between the two extremes, but Goodes has taken on more than he can chew at the moment........but then again sometimes you have to over-balance to get back to an equilibrium.

Anyway................next.
Yeah, it's all mixed in there. There are a lot of idiots getting outraged over nothing.