Traded Jake Carlisle [traded w/ #23 and #44 for #5, #24 and Craig Bird]

Reverse them all? Actually, it is relatively clean Swans and Bombers haven't on-traded the picks.
The question was around the legality of contractual change and Jake walking to the PSD.

FWIW I don't want it reversed, I want Jake at STKFC. I back our club to sort him out if it is possible.
If you guys tear up the contract it is exactly that. You dropped the eggs on the way home.

Reverse them all? Actually, it is relatively clean

The Swans would loose the chance to get Dunkley & Mills as we on traded 23 to get enough points, plus getting bird back I reckon could put us over the salary cap (reason why he was forced out).

From the Swans side, would be a major cluster f&€% and I doubt we would let that happen (easily at least)

Not to mention, we wouldnt have enough free list spots required for the draft (we havn't delisted anyone yet, and there is only 1 possible delistee)

The Swans would loose the chance to get Dunkley & Mills as we on traded 23 to get enough points, plus getting bird back I reckon could put us over the salary cap (reason why he was forced out).

From the Swans side, would be a major cluster f&€% and I doubt we would let that happen (easily at least)

Not to mention, we wouldnt have enough free list spots required for the draft (we havn't delisted anyone yet, and there is only 1 possible delistee)

Clearly would be messy for SFC & would need AFL dispensation but I just don't think anyone here really knows definitely if the transfer was withdrawn (which is still possible but not likely) what that would mean for the trade.
Logically the trade hangs on transfer approval.
Granted, all semantics at this stage but an interesting point of conjecture.

Clearly would be messy for SFC & would need AFL dispensation but I just don't think anyone here really knows definitely if the transfer was withdrawn (which is still possible but not likely) what that would mean for the trade.
Logically the trade hangs on transfer approval.
Granted, all semantics at this stage but an interesting point of conjecture.

As there is 3 clubs involved, Bird already heading to vic and the consequences for the Swans I don't think it would be vetoed.

2 club trade I can see it, but there is more at stake.

If it was, after we have already signed Talia on some of birds wages, a lot of trades would need to be vetoed.

Unless the AFL gave us a salary cap and draft concessions which is not likely. This would get really ugly.

If it was just you and Essendon it would be easy, but the implications of a cancellation is worse for the AFL in my opinion, then the Saints signing someone without due diligence.

Why is the responsibility not on the saints to do 'due dilligence' ?

Many people knew about this video before the trade. Anyway not my point they should well and truly know what type of player he is. Need to stop blaming others for poor governance/dilligence.

Id say 80% of players have done what Carlisle was doing whilst playing. But probably 0.2% have had it recorded by someone and then socialised it - idiot. It seems jake ain't that smart.

Id like to see this moved on about. From both Essendon fans, saint fans ans others. There is no way anything is 'getting reversed'. He will play quality football for you next year as a key defender thats all that matters. Hes not a troubled drug addict any more than 80% of the afl players. Its off season 80% of them are doing similar things especially when its overseas.

The drugs arent the problem its the stupidity that sucks. He wont do anything similar again you can count on that in regards to video of it and then snap chatting it.

Not a good look if theyre trying to 'reverse' the trade even though they cant and know they cant. Only ill informed Saints supporters seem to think it can happen.

You guys are almost saying we dont want Jake anymore. Not that welcoming and knowing Jake your better off being welcoming.

Saints not handling this well. Have tjey come out and said ' We are disappointed in Jake, he has made a poor decision as he has acknowledged, likely penalties will come whether thats from us or the AFL is yet to be decided. We are still extremely happy to have Jake even though hes clearly made a mistake here, we think he will be a great attribute to our defense and future plans and will work with him in regards to this issue.

Technicality? There was nothing technical about it. They may have been duped into doping by Dank, but they can't prove he ever had the drugs. How is that a technicality?
dont quote me, but didnt they find that the drugs were sold to dank, the problem was that they couldnt prove that a) they were what he thought he bought and b) he gave them to the players

record keeping was shonky, therefor cant prove that they took the drugs. i.e. technicality

dont quote me, but didnt they find that the drugs were sold to dank, the problem was that they couldnt prove that a) they were what he thought he bought and b) he gave them to the players

record keeping was shonky, therefor cant prove that they took the drugs. i.e. technicality
sounds like insufficient evidence rather than technicality to me

getting off because ASADA didn't follow procedure would be a technicality

Saints fans stop worrying about the "possibility" of reversing the trade or anything like that.

You've got Carlisle now and in time this will die down and he and teammates can just get on with playing footy and as others have said maybe this will be the awakening he needs to pull his head in and become the footballer he can be.

You have a lot to look forward to in the coming years so look ahead and leave the rest of the media driven shit behind.

a Carlton and St Kilda fan lamenting shit behaviour by footy clubs. Ain't it great!

Are you actually trying to take the high moral ground? I am more than happy with where the Saints are at, Essendon have what they want - high draft picks. Time to move on and rejoice in what your potential picks will bring.

The Saints now are not the same as in the past - current administration and playing group are to be proud of

There are feral fans from all clubs, don't let them take away from discussions where clubs are actually at.

Reckon the best way this trade can be looked at is in a couple of years. The Saints have gone through a list rebuild, now only have to tinker instead of a complete overhaul.

Are you actually trying to take the high moral ground? I am more than happy with where the Saints are at, Essendon have what they want - high draft picks. Time to move on and rejoice in what your potential picks will bring.

The Saints now are not the same as in the past - current administration and playing group are to be proud of

There are feral fans from all clubs, don't let them take away from discussions where clubs are actually at.

Reckon the best way this trade can be looked at is in a couple of years. The Saints have gone through a list rebuild, now only have to tinker instead of a complete overhaul.
Yep our club is always on the high moral ground. Whether it's the first female board member, what we did for indigenous recognition and anti-racism through Long and making the Footy more attractive and safe for a mass audience through Sheedy Essendon has been ahead of the curve. Of course that changed with Peter Jackson in charge.

Don't get caught up in the ASADA bullshit. That was about mismanagement, not ethics.

Saints fans stop worrying about the "possibility" of reversing the trade or anything like that.

You've got Carlisle now and in time this will die down and he and teammates can just get on with playing footy and as others have said maybe this will be the awakening he needs to pull his head in and become the footballer he can be.

You have a lot to look forward to in the coming years so look ahead and leave the rest of the media driven shit behind.

Good post

Can anyone shed any light on the Jake v BGoddard incident at essendon?
Nothing in it, just a bit of push and shove. Probably happens at most clubs at some stage. Some of the senior Bomber players confronted him over his work ethics