Play Nice Eddie McGuire comments on holding Caro Wilson underwater

Was also shocked when the herald sun editor went on mmm and proclaimed the reader comments on the various articles were split 50/50. wanted to scream at the radio. I'd say its 90/10 in favor of McGuire. Its this distorted view of the majority in the general public that is so infuriating. Robbo did the same thing on his 360 program early in the week when he said 85% of people agreed with him and the AFL were not listening.

Beggars belief how out of touch the media are

weight of opinion, despite being impossible to actually and accurately gauge, is not necessarily determinative of 'the correctness' of anything, though.

Son, we live in a world that has inequality, and that inequality has to be guarded by men with media exposure. Who's gonna do it? You? You, BigFooty? I have a greater responsibility than you can possibly fathom. You weep for the wooden spoon and you curse the AFL. You have that luxury. You have the luxury of not knowing what I know, that Caroline Wilson, whilst opinionated, probably has a point. And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, profits advertisers! You don't want the truth, because deep down in places you don't talk about at parties, you want me on television. You need me on that radio show. We use words like "testicles", "manliness", "old boys". We use these words as the backbone of a life spent defending something. You use them as a punchline. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a non-gender specific person who rises and sleeps under the blanket of the very product that I help promote, and then questions the manner in which I promote it! I would rather you just said "thank you", and went on your way. Otherwise, I suggest you pick up a microphone, and start broadcasting. Either way, I don't give a damn what you think you are entitled to!

You mean he sounds like a working class boy from Broady ?, so what ?

As a person he has far more credibility in what he has done for Collingwood FC, Melbourne, Victoria and a heap of charities than Wilson, who basically is just a gutter crawling gossip journo.

One tries to build, one tries to knock down.
He wouldn't piss on people from Broadmeadows. He uses that in his pseudo class battle. Yet he doesn't socialise with anyone but the top end of town or A listers. So anyone who falls for his contrived attempts to cling on to his past is an absolute moron.

But, yes, he does a lot of good things, but his mouth lets him down when he tries to lead and egg on the pack. A pack that I might add that hasn't got much brain power in its midst. He can be better than that, but continually lets himself down.

Apart from being dumb radio filler, these comments aren't the same:

Dwayne Russell: We’d have to sell tickets for those who want to push you, Caro, I reckon.
Caroline Wilson: That’s very funny Dwayne. Hysterical.
Brayshaw: Bloody oath!
Tony Shaw: And hold her under Dwayne.
Caroline Wilson: Oh, boys.

Versus a full minute of it from multiple people without Caro in the room (who were they bantering with? Not Caro.):

McGuire: In fact I reckon we should start the campaign for a one-person slide next year. Caroline Wilson. And I’ll put in ten grand straight away- make it twenty. [laugher] And if she stays under, fifty. [louder laugher] [laugher]
What do you reckon guys? Who else is up there? I know you’re in JB?
Brayshaw: No, yep, Straight in
Danny Frawley: I’ll be in amongst it Ed
McGuire: Is Duck there?
Wayne Carey: Yes, I’m here mate.
McGuire: Duck’s in. Danny’s in — already spoken up.
Frawley: Yeah I’m in Ed.
McGuire: I could do an auction here today.
Frawley: I’ll actually jump in and make sure she doesn’t — I’ll hold her under, Ed.
McGuire: I reckon we could charge ten thousand for everyone to stand around the outside and bomb her.
Damien Barrett: I’m on Caro’s side now, Ed. I’m on Caro’s side these days, Ed.[indecipherable]
McGuire: She’ll burn you like everyone else, mate. She’s like the black widow. She just sucks you in and gets you and you start talking to her and then BANG! She gets you. [Holy crap - is this not every good journo? Get the conversation going and get information?]
Brayshaw: If you ran that auction from down there, I reckon you’d start grabbing some bids out of the seats too. There’d be money piling in everywhere
McGuire: It’s be magnificent. I think we should do that next year. It’s all good for footy.

Cheif_ No-one gives a s**t about the subtle difference in wording as so one can be perceived as a connection to DV with a bow tied from Ulaan Batoor to Moscow, and the other playful banter, the more damming thing is that why was this such a media beat-up? That's now where the washup of this has led to. If we can identify why it was a media beat up, and why McGuire was targeted than the people who are still being sanctimonious twats five days after in this thread especially, and all the rest of the people who got off from this story, can learn something not very nice about themselves and about Australian society.

weight of opinion, despite being impossible to actually and accurately gauge, is not necessarily determinative of 'the correctness' of anything, though.
No need to lie about it though to suit the narrative you are trying to spin.

The correct answer would of been for him to say that we as a paper feel we must take a stand despite the public overwhelmingly sitting in the corner that this reaction has been over the top.

No need to lie about it though to suit the narrative you are trying to spin.

The correct answer would of been for him to say that we as a paper feel we must take a stand despite the public overwhelmingly sitting in the corner that this reaction has been over the top.

without trying to inflame, im just curious how you arrived at your statement of 'its 90/10 in favour of eddie'? all you say is 'id say' its that split.

i know you see that as the correct answer based on your experiences/observations, but maybe the person you are saying is lying sees the split of opinion differently based on theirs. there have been no polls taken, and in any event they are usually skewed by who asks the question, and how they do it, and the fact that the majority isnt always 'correct'.

Was also shocked when the herald sun editor went on mmm and proclaimed the reader comments on the various articles were split 50/50. wanted to scream at the radio. I'd say its 90/10 in favor of McGuire. Its this distorted view of the majority in the general public that is so infuriating. Robbo did the same thing on his 360 program early in the week when he said 85% of people agreed with him and the AFL were not listening.

Beggars belief how out of touch the media are

I would say from reading facebook, listening to the radio and looking at this thread, it's roughly 50-50 in that there are people who get it, and plenty who don't.

In fact yet to speak to anyone in person about this who doesn't think that what Eddie was wrong.

Chief No-one gives a s**t about the subtle difference in wording
Subtle. :D

No one gives a s**t? Try the people (including Eddie) using the 3AW comments to paint Caro as hypocritical and using this incident to give innocent Eddie a kick.

I can see there is no point in discussing that - we will never agree despite the evidence of the two transcripts placed side by side.

as so one can be perceived as a connection to DV with a bow tied from Ulaan Batoor to Moscow, and the other playful banter, the more damming thing is that why was this such a media beat-up? That's now where the washup of this has led to. If we can identify why it was a media beat up, and why McGuire was targeted than the people who are still being sanctimonious twats five days after in this thread especially, and all the rest of the people who got off from this story, can learn something not very nice about themselves and about Australian society.
The connection to DV is that the language used is part of the problem in society. Speak with care about these things, specially if you are a person with power and visibility. Your words aren't just yours - they affect others.

I don't think it was a beat-up. If, like the others involved, McGuire had acknowledged what he'd done instead of trying to play it down and muddy the waters before going into hiding he'd have been much better off and this would have ebbed away. Some damage would have been done, but at least he would have salvaged some respect. After that it is just act in accordance with the lesson learned and all he'd have to do is acknowledge his bonehead comment every now and again. Sincerity would have gone a long way.

But no. His ego told him he just had to explain that it was all just a big joke and it would all go away.

-outrage because Eddie McGuire's comments normalize violence against women

-outrage caused proceeds to make ten times the original audience listen to what eddie said

silly response - it's your response you should provide the proof. If you have a problem with what she says put it forward don't be a sheep and go along with the yelling from the footy show etc

Its not a claim its a fact.
That's the difference. I don't need to prove anything to anyone what a stupid remark.

Writing articles at times about two figures in the industry you are paid to report on is different to "shaming and slandering" them. I don't doubt she has written articles about them, sometimes some that may not be flowery positive PR, but that is completely different to shaming and slandering.

But if it was written about a woman...? Then it would be sexist and misogynist and the boys club.

I would say from reading facebook, listening to the radio and looking at this thread, it's roughly 50-50 in that there are people who get it, and plenty who don't.

In fact yet to speak to anyone in person about this who doesn't think that what Eddie was wrong.
50% of people get it? You mean agree to your side of the debate?

I actually don't think it's that cut and dried. I believe there are people at each end of the spectrum, as well as many at various points in between.

Don't go there mate

You have no idea ...I. Not arguing with you mate

If you can't see the damage Eds comments do then I suggest you get a education on these matters

So every time someone says "if he's late home again ill kill him" or "if that's true ill murder that bastard" that's a threat and not a joke or an exaggeration?

Get real.

Wrong yes.
Rude yes.
Personal yes.
Over the line yes.

Related to DV, no.
Sexist, no.
Misogynist, no.

Fact is if the comments were the other way round this discussion wouldn't be happening.

Similar to the Chris Gayle thing. Happened weeks earlier in a similar situation, but genders reversed, and the woman was called brave, cute and various other positive words. Gayle was called a creep, and things far far worse.

Some people need to look up equality.

without trying to inflame, im just curious how you arrived at your statement of 'its 90/10 in favour of eddie'? all you say is 'id say' its that split.

i know you see that as the correct answer based on your experiences/observations, but maybe the person you are saying is lying sees the split of opinion differently based on theirs. there have been no polls taken, and in any event they are usually skewed by who asks the question, and how they do it, and the fact that the majority isnt always 'correct'.
please just read any of the comments on any of Rita Panahi articles, Susie Obriens, Robbos etc and read the comments at the bottom. probably more like 95/5 as far as public opinion goes. Majority isnt always right, but is right more often than not

He wouldn't piss on people from Broadmeadows. He uses that in his pseudo class battle. Yet he doesn't socialise with anyone but the top end of town or A listers.
Is he still on the phone with Joffa regularly?

most people do thing Eddie was wrong. Same as most people would say Priddham was wrong for calling Eddie an intellectual pygmy

Its the stretch from eddies comments that were maybe in poor taste, and maybe desrved one article in the paper saying that, to all of a sudden it being sexist and causing dometic violence that has most people fed up with the media barrow that is being pushed

i wish people debating issues, in this thread but on BF generally, would stop treating it like two boxers trying to deliver the knock out punch. there is no 'knock out punch' on issues like these. these comments, and the wider themes that they can or have fed in to, are not black and white, and there is no single statement or post that will 'win' the discussion.

just because we arent all face to face, it doesnt mean we cant be respectful and polite. even (especially?) if we disagree on things fundamentally.
Piss awf

(Joke)

causing dometic violence that has most people fed up with the media barrow that is being pushed
This is basically the argument against the discussion about it - and as a straw man argument it is entirely invalid.

Nobody has said this particular comment has caused domestic violence.

Nobody. Anywhere.

The point is that acceptance of this sort of thing contributes to unhealthy attitudes about women, and this is in the mix of factors that make domestic violence more of a problem than it should be.

Love how the media has gone after Sam Newman but conveniently not mentioned a word of the 3AW transcript he read verbatim showing Caro chortling along with co commentators about "holding her under water"!

And not a word of Caro writing and producing the nasty sexist rant against fellow female journo Bev O'Connor that Hutchy took all the heat for.

If she's the face of feminism we just got sent back to the dark ages!