News New Hyundai A-League logo

• Thread starter Thread starter Hank93

I don't know if I'm shocked that it's not on the sleeve. It might change, because those pictures in the article use this seasons kits and are photoshopped.
Should be interesting to see what happens if Wellington returns to stripes like the ones in 2009.. If the badge stays on the chest, do we don a sewed-on patch?

"The logo design is inspired by football’s three outstanding features – atmosphere, diversity and unity,” Mr Gallop said.

More correctly, the logo was inspired by a rubber band someone had sitting on their desk, but we refused to pay them their commission until they came up with a wanky deeper meaning...

Pics of new logo for every club (Source: http://www.foxsports.com.au/footbal...e/news-story/ce39aa402458a2c496f1ff88cd5dba61)
79fa5936a0899abde08aca9722d843e0.jpg
3644bb29bf2d48af2fb837393b17604e.jpg
450dff88324448ea76c2116426aad622.jpg
0a365054a82c560db96dffcf570bf32f.jpg
e9d609360cd53303d3c69df6fb06c282.jpg
4d3b40bdd8e20ce7b4343d085cd95941.jpg
42e55e8b7e10f1d6a94085c61b131343.jpg
ba9d0bddb4459db82ae9fd163393550c.jpg
f78fe087831d5d5ad2f888d7f1cc87e4.jpg

Interestingly both Melbourne City & Wellington have different order of colours on their badges than what was originally on here 586de23aadbb125292ee4a1ee2b5acb1.jpg however these might be for 2017/18 kits rather than this seasons i.e. City will probably move to mostly 'city blue' kit.

Also wondering what will happen on the away/clash kits.. Will they have the orange logo or different order of the team's colours?

Why the hell does Glory have silver/grey as their secondary logo colour - it's not even a club colour.
The logo features grey.
Glory-logo-2009.png

I guess they could have used white, but the logo would look weird in completely orange, seeing as that's what it looks like when it's not recoloured.

Hmm. Don't mind it. I was expecting to see the wordmark gain more prominence and the logo to be overhauled or for green or yellow to overtake the orange. I guess it makes sense to continue the lineage of the old logo – it is a growing competition and keeping some vague patterns from the last one is smart. But to me it looks a little default. It looks very bland. I guess that isn't a big fault, most soccer comps have really corporate and boring logos that could be applied to any random league, but I am disappointed.

To me, it just looks really really bland. Reminds me of the naff FFA Cup and the personality devoid state league and state 'federation' (lol) crests. It doesn't scream bold to me.

Say what you want about the new English Premier League logo, but those colours pop. On the ad boards, the tele, or in ads, you see those colours and you're drawn to it. I would have loved to have seen something like that – black is just such a boring background. Soccer here should be seen as bold, new, fresh, and young. But, I also think multiculturalism is the sport's best angle. Italians, Greeks, Serbs, Africans, Asians, Skips... I reckon a multi-colour ad campaign or logo would be a ripper. It could bring in every single target demographic and I reckon it'd be congratulated. A byline like "Football: It's Modern Australia" or something would be good... play around with the idea of the sport being a mixed bag, of it being for the future, and Australia being like that... you'd be onto something.

I don't know. Just reckon walking down the street and seeing these yellow, orange, and green ads with a huge A-LEAGUE in an identifiable font would be cool. Logos can get lost: a good word mark literally spells it out. This sport should be in your face. Missed chance for me.

But, the biggest missed chance is the weird timing of the launch. I've been looking forward to this and... I find out two days later?

Why would you launch this on the eve of a season it won't even be used in? Sure it'll leak via IP Australia or something, but North Melbourne avoided it and so too did the W-AFL (I think). This new rebrand was supposed to be an event; all-encompassing. Teams like Adelaide, Perth Glory, and I think Sydney FC especially were told to curb bringing in a new logo until 2017-2018 because they wanted to tie it all in. Then there's the innuendo about the two new teams... seriously, absolutely pump it all with one big event up in Sydney – get the new teams' strips, new logos, and the new identity all unveiled if not in the same night, in the same week. Call it 'Revolution Week' or something wanky. Get it on the back pages. Get a social media countdown going on everyday, where something new is unveiled every day. Risk it and buy some ad space across from Flinders, in Hindley Street Mall, in Pitt Street, down Hay Street and the Cappuccino Strip – and have the billboards basically a rotating news cycle of what's new that day.

Jesus christ you don't even have to do the expensive shit. Just utilise social media and your contacts at Fox Sports.

**** me soccer in Australia just does not want to help itself. So stale. The general public don't realise it, but they love unveilings and cool logos... take it up! The Twenty 20 is crude, the AFL aren't interested... ****!

Will say though, like the word mark and I'd try and use that as much as possible.

Plus **** me, the Glory absolutely shit me. Why do they persist with white? Orange zings so much, you can see it in the club colour mock-ups. It shouldn't work – orange and purple and white – but it does. A new look for them should be a simplified logo and nice strips and streaks and dashes of orange on the home strip. It is such a cool and unique identity but they bland it down for an unknown reason. Especially odd when Freo are the purple and white team in WA... wouldn't you create a point of difference? Incidentally hark back to your best period, the most revolutionary period for any team in a soccer comp in Aus, and the time when you dominated crowds and cups? Beyond me.

Second note – yeah those logos are staying on the front, but more tolerable when their in club colours.

Third one – seeing those colours all splayed out like they are in the club colour squares, I reckon there is definitely room for a claret, blue, and white team. A nice two-tone green would balance it out as well. Black, white, and yellow as well.

City's secondary colour should be red, not navy blue. Separates them from Sydney and pays tribute to the Heart history and the away kit.

That will not happen so long as Man Utd are red

I won't be surprised to see the red gone entirely within two seasons

I didn't think about this until now but the whole 'logo in team colours' thing takes its cues from the new MLS branding. And we all know how Australian sports execs love to ape American sports

MLS, MLB and MLL all do it.

What colour will/would South Melbourne FC have if they entered the A-League?

It would be pretty outrageous, but novel, if all three clubs trotted out in different shades of blue. Navy, royal, and sky all accentuated with white would be a laugh.

What colour will/would South Melbourne FC have if they entered the A-League?

It would be pretty outrageous, but novel, if all three clubs trotted out in different shades of blue. Navy, royal, and sky all accentuated with white would be a laugh.

It wouldn't be South Melbourne without the royal and white.

But then again, Port Adelaide had to add teal...

South Melbourne could go for the hoops or stripes to distinguish them from the others though. Blue and white hoops would be pretty unique too.

South wore a white with red sash as a clash in the FFA cup, It was a tribute to the 1st strip of the club
Surely they would return to that as there is no Melbourne Heart anymore... Otherwise, 3 teams with blue within the same city..

Couldn't see South wanting to wear anything but blue and white tbh. Would be a bit odd having three teams in one city all with the same colour, but at least they are theee different shades.

Won't matter anyway because South won't be getting a license.

Couldn't see South wanting to wear anything but blue and white tbh. Would be a bit odd having three teams in one city all with the same colour, but at least they are theee different shades.

Won't matter anyway because South won't be getting a license.

Could you imagine Souths vs Wanderers? Closest thing you'll get to proper footy firm violence.

Sadly I don't think this will happen, but it would be wonderful if they used this new logo as a chance to bring in a sleeve patch. I like the club colours idea but if it was to be a patch I feel it would need to contrast with the kit itself while using club colours as demonstrated below.

upload_2017-1-26_9-45-51.png

So, Brand New posted about this... it's always cool to see an Aussie rebrand on there, I've given them a couple of tip-offs in the past.

One thing a couple of posters mentioned is the weird cut off 'E' in the wordmark, and how it looks like "A-LFAGUE"... once you see it, you can't unsee it.

So, Brand New posted about this... it's always cool to see an Aussie rebrand on there, I've given them a couple of tip-offs in the past.

One thing a couple of posters mentioned is the weird cut off 'E' in the wordmark, and how it looks like "A-LFAGUE"... once you see it, you can't unsee it.
I'm not as bothered by it as you must be, I like the F. However, once you have ONE edit, you should probably keep it consistent and have the other 'E' looking like an F as well?