Review Saints beat North by 17

Lonie won a good amount of the ball, his stats were close to Gresham's but better disposal efficiency.
Looks like he has the yips in front of goal. Just have to make him stop having the yips.
He won as many clearances and more contested ball than our inside mid expert Dunstan.
Didn't understand all the hate for Lonie tbh I thought he played well.

The club obviously feel that having a relevant presence at every stoppage in what is a very stoppage heavy game is more important than a ruckman who can get an extra 10 bad touches. And I'm inclined to agree with them.

Yet again the opposition ruckman is named as one of their best players , I don't think he had an extra 10 bad touches if he was named as the first listed in Norff best players . Doesn't that hint that something isn't right with our choice of ruckman ?

Goldie 17 disposals plus 1 goal

Longer 6 disposals including zero kicks again

I think I would take the 17 disposals and a goal every time.

Longer minus 4 metres gained , again a negative number.

Sent via HAL

I thought at least Lonie was unpredictable. He plays pretty frenetic and makes the pace go up. Mav is totally devoid of confidence.
I think as a whole we need more poise and Lonie unfortunately just makes us look a mess out there. Reckon he handballed over his head to nowhere about 5 times. Totally agree on Mav. Seems to see himself as an enforcer type - just wish he'd drop the bravado and start trying to play like his brother.

Melt squad here checking in.

Great first 15 minutes, aside from accuracy even better 2nd quarter.

Faded in the second half, cost ourselves a percentage boosting win &, like last year, that could be the difference between playing finals. Tough lesson to learn.

Positives were Ross, Robbo, Gears, Bruce, Billings & Sinc.

Negatives were Lonie, Mav & skills or lackthereof in general.

Mav & Lonie out, Paddy & Steele in. Roo to the wing.

The schadenfreude towards certain teams has certainly entertained me this season, and one of my treats post game is to go the oppo board, find the game day thread, start from the end and read backwards until I get to the tipping point where the oppo fans realise they can't win and start really melting. I had to go all the way back to page 3 for this game, about 5 mins from the start!

Poor ****ers are despondent and numb.

Good win, not great. Actually never in doubt after 10 minutes. This season for any side is all about effort. You could argue that's the same any year but this looks different to me.

Got to say I saw no different in coaching at all the players who came were ok but and this isn't a positive, we harass better when paddy doesn't play. Ball stays in the forward line more and we defend better there. Not sure how we manage this long term. Like Lonie forward but his acting is pathetic. That round the neck was embarrassing and he probably never gets one of them again.

Gold Coast next week is huge. 12 wins will play finals with a good percentage. We won't have a good percentage. 11 wins may get in. Great if we do. Not good enough but huge for the following year and gives hope to fa that maybe interested. And for god sake play hickey next game. He now admits he was a naughty boy. He has learnt his lesson. If longer is a good afl footballer
I'm good in bed

Just on Mav, the 2 instances where I thought he definitely deserves to lose his spot were in the 2nd quarter coming out of defence, he ran onto a loose ball from Webster's? kick, which set us up perfectly. Bruce streamed forward & had a great 10m gap on his opponent. All that was needed was a strong Kick in the general direction of Bruce, but no..... Mav slows up tries some fancy footwork to baulk & 'look flashy', then ends up holding onto the ball too long that he has to finally kick high ball to Bruce in a 1-2 against Tarrant & Hansen.

The 2nd instance was exactly the same play but in the last, all that was needed was a strong kick down the line to a free player, but Mav has to look flashy so he baulks, cuts back inside then kicks a grubber to out of position Saints players that were goalside expecting him to use to loose down the line.

Seriously, needs to get a reality check

Good win, not great. Actually never in doubt after 10 minutes. This season for any side is all about effort. You could argue that's the same any year but this looks different to me.

Got to say I saw no different in coaching at all the players who came were ok but and this isn't a positive, we harass better when paddy doesn't play. Ball stays in the forward line more and we defend better there. Not sure how we manage this long term. Like Lonie forward but his acting is pathetic. That round the neck was embarrassing and he probably never gets one of them again.

Gold Coast next week is huge. 12 wins will play finals with a good percentage. We won't have a good percentage. 11 wins may get in. Great if we do. Not good enough but huge for the following year and gives hope to fa that maybe interested. And for god sake play hickey next game. He now admits he was a naughty boy. He has learnt his lesson. If longer is a good afl footballer
I'm good in bed

I have no idea what you look like but that's still an image I would rather not have anywhere near my brain.

I'd drop Gresh before Lonie at this point, not because he's a worse player or even in worse form, but because I reckon there's a chance Lonie could still be a decent AFL player and so we need to find out, and I reckon Gresh could use a few weeks playing in the guts consistently.

As much as I would like to see Lonie be a success, his goal kicking is unacceptable and a major liability. I think by memory he is 0.5 from set shots in 2017. That one he missed from 15 metres was unbelievable.

Dunstan very good. Will hold his spot.

Some of Longer's taps are fantastic and gives the midfield a fair chance at clearances. He even took an intercept mark!

Riewoldt shouldn't be playing. He struggled with his knee and he couldn't kick the ball more than 35metres. Not a great thing to push with life after footy coming up. Players can play not quite 100%, but putting someone out there at 60% can't be good for the body long term.

As much as I would like to see Lonie be a success, his goal kicking is unacceptable and a major liability. I think by memory he is 0.5 from set shots in 2017. That one he missed from 15 metres was unbelievable.

Tend to agree, but:

Gresham 15.16 (12 games)
Billings 13.17 (12 games)
Weller 8.16 (11 games)
McCartin 5.8 (5 games)
Lonie 3.7 (5 games)

They're all kicking badly. Is it possible there's some systemic factor affecting the whole team, or at least the young ones?

Tend to agree, but:

Gresham 15.16 (12 games)
Billings 13.17 (12 games)
Weller 8.16 (11 games)
McCartin 5.8 (5 games)
Lonie 3.7 (5 games)

They're all kicking badly. Is it possible there's some systemic factor affecting the whole team, or at least the young ones?

Hmm lonie's scoring accuracy is 27%
Gresh; 47%
Billings 42%

Also Billings was unlucky twice, I feel like he's turned a corner.

Just on Mav, the 2 instances where I thought he definitely deserves to lose his spot were in the 2nd quarter coming out of defence, he ran onto a loose ball from Webster's? kick, which set us up perfectly. Bruce streamed forward & had a great 10m gap on his opponent. All that was needed was a strong Kick in the general direction of Bruce, but no..... Mav slows up tries some fancy footwork to baulk & 'look flashy', then ends up holding onto the ball too long that he has to finally kick high ball to Bruce in a 1-2 against Tarrant & Hansen.

The 2nd instance was exactly the same play but in the last, all that was needed was a strong kick down the line to a free player, but Mav has to look flashy so he baulks, cuts back inside then kicks a grubber to out of position Saints players that were goalside expecting him to use to loose down the line.

Seriously, needs to get a reality check

Agree mate. Wasn't a fan of his attempted don't argue when he was caught by Ziebell either.

Was a really meh type of game.
I think we have good young players. We can play good team defence but have lost the ability to run and carry the ball or move the ball fluidly from defence.
I still think thats a structures and coaching thing.

Couple points.
North were putrid and we were lucky to win.
I really hope the team send Roo off properly. Like with Lenny. If he's not going on, Make a decision soon to give everyone the chance to go to the games and say goodbye. Greatest saint ever!
Lonie is terrible atm.. Maybe we should get Ballantine as a DFA. A specialist small forward will help us 10 fold.
I think Hickey helps us in every area after the bounce that Longer doesnt and should be given another go.
Dunstan was ok. But Steele is better.
Weller average at best atm.
We need speed through the middle.

We utterly blitzed them for 3 & a half quarters. Sure we didn't kick straight, but we were dominant out there.

Happy with the win, heaps to improve on. Bring in the Suns

Very proud of the boys. Had to turn it around and they did.

Plenty to work on for sure, but they responded. Desperation and effort was awesome.

Was ugly, and I doubt anyone thinks we have arrived. But they got the job done.

Reckon everyone would have taken a 3 goal win yesterday morning.

were you at the game ?
I was at the game and thought Lonie played a great game by his standard. Had a presence when the ball was on the deck and he had a hand in a few contested situations on the wing which won us the ball. Far from the worst performed but people only see the missed goal and probably one or two missed tackles and lose their mind.

I would persist with him for a few more weeks.

On last night's form it was a good team effort, but I would question if Mav could hold his spot- does he offer more than Minch? We still need more goals from the smalls down forward. Lonie wasn't too bad, did some effective things. Longer really needs to grab the ball more around the ground and just doesn't do enough. Not impressed with our drop off in the last quarter, and Ross and co for all their good work, just need to keep the intensity up and not become watchers. Sinclair is a class act.

Was a really meh type of game.
I think we have good young players. We can play good team defence but have lost the ability to run and carry the ball or move the ball fluidly from defence.
I still think thats a structures and coaching thing.

Couple points.
North were putrid and we were lucky to win.
I really hope the team send Roo off properly. Like with Lenny. If he's not going on, Make a decision soon to give everyone the chance to go to the games and say goodbye. Greatest saint ever!
Lonie is terrible atm.. Maybe we should get Ballantine as a DFA. A specialist small forward will help us 10 fold.
I think Hickey helps us in every area after the bounce that Longer doesnt and should be given another go.
Dunstan was ok. But Steele is better.
Weller average at best atm.
We need speed through the middle.
Finals are more defensive. So a good trait to have. Ability to spread quickly is the missing piece IMO.