Preview Changes v West Coast

Stringer Smith Dunks Cloke Redpath Cordy

All play forward and all got dropped for different reasons and the delivery was crap to them also

Dickson is no different so why different treatment and hey differnet opinions on here that he gets ANOTHER chance??

He has done f$ck all offensively or defensively he needs to go back like everyone else has
Hasn't been back that long, he's had quiet games in the past so Im not worried.

Agree he needs to be dropped if it's a work rate issue but I'm not sure that the case.

We're don't have a vintage forward line as it is and I'd be very hesitant about dropping the one guy we have that kicks straight when we do get the opportunities.

Hasn't been back that long, he's had quiet games in the past so Im not worried.

Agree he needs to be dropped if it's a work rate issue but I'm not sure that the case.

We're don't have a vintage forward line as it is and I'd be very hesitant about dropping the one guy we have that kicks straight when we do get the opportunities.

Excuses sorry

Clay came back after injury DROPPED

The mc has made a point of dropping blokes that aren't performing so it's Dickos turn to play some VFL.

People forget in the finals last year he did pretty much zero against Weasels

Kept the Hawks in the game with his kicking.

Then had an good prelim and gf but was far from excellent.

He is a good ordinary footballer who kicks straight. Ask yourself this IF HE DIDNT KICK SO WELL WOULD HE GET A GAME WEEKLY?

But all that said all I'm saying is he needs to be dropped like everyone else had been when they don't perform

Excuses sorry

The mc has made a point of dropping blokes that aren't performing so it's Dickos turn to play some VFL.

He is a good ordinary footballer who kicks straight. Ask yourself this IF HE DIDNT KICK SO WELL WOULD HE GET A GAME WEEKLY?

But all that said all I'm saying is he needs to be dropped like everyone else had been when they don't perform
Fair Dinkum MD - Dickson had a 'far from excellent' finals series?

Sounds like you just need another whipping boy now Lin has done his knee.

Excuses sorry

You're seriously under rating his GF and Prelim games there, his 2 goals in the GF were as crucial and as good as any.

He's not a big possession player and I'm not exactly sure what he was supposed to do as a small forward against Sydney and Melbourne when we're getting the crap kicked out of us all over the ground.

He's still clearly the best we have for that role and I'd be prepared to give him another chance or 2.

Fair Dinkum MD - Dickson had a 'far from excellent' finals series?

Sounds like you just need another whipping boy now Lin has done his knee.

Lol go back and watch the games and tell me he was very good. Yes he kicked important goals but so did Cordy And Daniels

He had one average game
One poor game
And two good games
That isn't a brilliant series

I'm not whipping him he was good at finishing last year in a good team but he doesn't do much off his own boot does he?
As I said he is a finisher and if he isn't given the ball he is next to useless.

You're seriously under rating his GF and Prelim games there, his 2 goals in the GF were as crucial and as good as any.

He's not a big possession player and I'm not exactly sure what he was supposed to do as a small forward against Sydney and Melbourne when we're getting the crap kicked out of us all over the ground.

He's still clearly the best we have for that role and I'd be prepared to give him another chance or 2.

Libba is the best clearance player we have why did he get dropped? Coz he wasn't doing what we the team needed him to.

Dicko is no differnet but it seems some on here give some blokes 1048383938 chances and the better players about 2

Outs: Honeychurch and ?? I'd go Suckling but doubt it

Ins: Smith and Murphy(if ready)

I'd keep playing Cordy, Dale and McLean for now, Dale and McLean have impressed me this year, especially Dale, Dickson looming as potential dropped soon.

Hard see Matty Boyd getting back in and Campbell deserves a few games out his game on the weekend.
Honey was very good on the weekend. No way he is dropped. Not a chance.

Bob is back so there is at least one change. Could be Picken.

Lol go back and watch the games and tell me he was very good. Yes he kicked important goals but so did Cordy And Daniels

He had one average game
One poor game
And two good games

I'm not whipping him he was good at finishing last year in a good team but he doesn't do much off his own boot does he?
As I said he is a finisher and if he isn't given the ball he is next to useless.

Its like you'd rather win an argument and hand back the cup just to prove a point sometimes.

He had one average game
One poor game
And two good games

Dude...one of those very good games got us into a Grand Final ffs! Four goals and negating Heath Shaw.
His Grand final was also good and the Hawks game could have been also very good except for kicking.
Were you at the game on Saturday? Dickson did a lot of leading without being acknowledged for it.
I will be the first to admit his form is down but i reckon he's building and too good to leave out as teams will pay him attention and in turn others get more opportunities.

Its like you'd rather win an argument and hand back the cup just to prove a point sometimes.

Dude...one of those very good games got us into a Grand Final ffs! Four goals and negating Heath Shaw.
His Grand final was also good and the Hawks game could have been also very good except for kicking.
Were you at the game on Saturday? Dickson did a lot of leading without being acknowledged for it.
I will be the first to admit his form is down but i reckon he's building and too good to leave out as teams will pay him attention and in turn others get more opportunities.

Lol I love how people exaggerate and if your honest they don't like it.

But on the end all I'm saying is he should be treated the same as every other player and be dropped.

Somehow that's ok for everyone else to say about every other player but if I do it's a p!ssing contest.

And Dicko did not lead a lot the other night. He spent most of the game up around half way mark in our press and couldn't get back in time coz he is slow. This isn't his fault the structure does not suit him but when Honey is getting far more ball than him he needs a break

I hope M Boyd isn't picked.
I share that view. Heard a few fans at Whitten after the game saying he'd definitely be back in. Really hope it's not the case. I want him knocking the door off the hinges to get back in. He's not there yet.

Murphy reported to be ready. Tom Boyd will be on "managed minutes" in the VFL (interpret that any way you like). Picken in doubt with a medial strain.

That means there's definitely at least one IN so there has to be one OUT.

I reckon MC will say Murphy in for Picken (inj). Don't think they'll drop Dickson yet. Nor Suckling.

I share that view. Heard a few fans at Whitten after the game saying he'd definitely be back in. Really hope it's not the case. I want him knocking the door off the hinges to get back in. He's not there yet.
35 touches and 9 marks...what is your definition of knocking the door off it's hinges?

Is that because you don't want him in the side despite how he goes at VFL level?

It's cool to call an old player 'cooked' and pick a younger guy over him because he's young, despite the vet probably being the best player on the ground for our seconds.

Tory Dickson has played 5 finals and kicked 15 goals.
We haven't had many finals specialists in 91 years so on behalf of all of us long suffering supporters thank you.

But should be dropped this week, needs a spell in the VFL.

Like Libba did it 0 weeks in a row?
Have to agree with this. Moyd's game in the VFL was better than any single game that Libba played down there, yet there were heaps more calling for Libba's return every single week than Moyd now. It's funny how once people have written Moyd off, they can't bring themselves to admit that his VFL form might justify him getting back in the team. It's also funny how people were exaggerating how poor his games were for the team this year - almost as if they were diminishing the very large gap between "All-Australian" and "dropped" to be smaller than it actually was so they could call for him to be dropped.

Some of the Moyd hate is a bit hard to comprehend. I'm not at all convinced that he's cooked. 90% of our list is in a form slump and most of it isnt age related. I'm not suggesting we sign him up for another year but I'm certainly not against him getting games if his VFL form warrants it.
The funny thing is, his form is down, but it's not because of the reasons that people are suggesting it is. Everybody is criticising his clangers, but the stats show that the rate that he commits them are roughly identical to last year. The issue is more the simple fact he wasn't winning a heap of the ball compared to last year. For example he has not gotten more than 14 kicks in any of the games that he has played this year - a tally he exceeded in 17 of the 24 games he played last year, including every game in between rounds 5 and 19. The very fact that he could prove he could win the ball a heap in VFL - one would assume that he kicked the ball at least 20 times, proving that he was getting to the right spots to be a link-up/mop-up player, is the way to get back into the team

Granted, Moyd has been in s**t form in the AFL this year. He isn't alone though. Young and old players. He appears to be copping extra flak because he's 34 and his bad form means that "he's done and he should be made to retire."

That's garbage in my opinion.

He should be allowed to earn his spot back in like any other player on the list. If we're going into playing a final at the end of the year, and we don't have vets like him playing decent football, we're pretty much fried anyway.

I'd much rather go down with him giving it his all than probably go down anyway with NFL punter hawthorn reject bitches like suckling in the team.

Saying "I hope they don't pick Moyd" after he's gone back and been BOG or near BOG in the VFL borders on disrespectful to a guy that has probably earned a lot more over his career.

I can't imagine the shite I would cop if I said I hope they don't pick Moyd.

Lol there isn't much down there left to pick so if he earns a spot then he should be picked.?

Everyone things I have whipping boys but it seems most on here blame two or three for all the ills this year Suckling Moyd Roberts while others that are obvious issues float through due to on excuse or the other.

I agree with Lemmiwinks McTaters, Moyd should play if he's killing it in the VFL subject to two caveats:
  • Biggs smashed it for weeks at VFL level and couldn't get back in, so our loaded half-back stocks (JJ, Murphy, Biggs, Williams, Suckling, Moyd) and the form of the blokes in the AFL should be a barrier to Moyd getting a swift recall; and
  • Given that our team's approach to kicking accuracy on the weekend appeared to be inspired by Danny McBride's approach to bathroom activities in This is the End, I'd prefer Murphy, if they're competing for the same spot.
Contrast Moyd to, say, Dickson, who is currently keeping out some draftees, a plastic wheelie bin and a coat rack from a spot as a medium forward in our team (I think Honey is keeping Smith out).