- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Adelaide
- Other Teams
- Norwood
You spelt Troy Menzel wrongUsing Tippett as an example, do you you ever wonder if clubs suffer buyers remorse?

There is a third option.
He may retire as an AFL footballer and follow his real dream of being a Papier Mache artist.
Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
Did anyone else not realise there were two McClures?
You spelt Troy Menzel wrong
I usually pretend I don't understand English when a bloke asked me for 50 cents outside the railway station last week.Lever is saying whatever he has to say to make the question go away. Its really no more complex than that.
My god, a footy journalist talking sense.Report on SEN
Tim Gossage believes the figures being bandied around for Adelaide’s out-of-contract duo Mitch McGovern and Jake Lever do not represent what they are worth.
McGovern has been linked with a move home to the WA clubs, but SEN’s West Australian commentator says he is not a $700,000 a year player, believing he hasn’t proved he can be a match winner on a consistent basis.
“He’s not worth it mate ($700k), fair dinkum, blokes who have an inflated price in the market, he hasn’t had an 80 goal season,” Gossage told SEN’s The Run Home.
“His career is going to go 250 games, do it more often. Yes it was a beautiful mark, it was a clutch goal, I understand the extremities of what it meant to them and their season, but he’s got to do it all the time.
“There are better players than him going around that won’t be paid as much.
“I know he’s a good player, but $600,000 maximum, $550k.”
Also said this about lever
“Jake Lever, if you said to me he would be one of the most sought after players in the competition right now, you would lock me up and put me in a padded cell,” he said.
“I think he’s a very good footballer, but he is not in the realms of $750-800,000. They’re not worth that money.”
My god, a footy journalist talking sense.
My faith is restored.
Lonergan Mackie Motlop opens up some serious money
I agree with all of this. Guv is very good - but he is third behind Tex and JJ, and still a baby in KPF terms. Lots of upside, but a lot of upside still to go.
And I love Jake, but I think 750k is way at the upper end of what he is worth right now
Problem is the market price might just be stupid.
Nothing has changed except the quantum though really. Clubs have always been able to do this and those that do won't win a premiershipIn the old AFL he is talking making sense but not in the new AFL CBA world
Teams now have luxury of wrapping up 1-2 players at big overs due to a big increase in salary cap. You will find more and more young players be paid big numbers for their potential than rewarded for actual output moving forward. Its just the nature of the beast now.
Papier mâché....what the HELL is papier mâché!?There is a third option.
He may retire as an AFL footballer and follow his real dream of being a Papier Mache artist.
Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
So he met with someone who wasn't a Melbourne employee but was representing them,I know who to believe. Lever said to Bickley's face. 'I have not met with Melbourne Bicks.' I'm confident he wouldn't set himself up to be labelled a liar.
If we responded to every report we'd probably never stop talking with the amount of speculation running through the club at the moment.
Agree, he is very criptive and Bicks / Rowie aren't smart enough to ask the right Qs.Yep like with a duck paddling against the flow I think there's a lot going on under the surface when Jake speaks...
What happens if you love money ?Id rather make decisions for love than money and **** what people want to label me
It may the reality (although I wonder how much credibility these "godfather" rumours really have), but it's still not "sense". I agree that there are clubs out there willing to mortgage their future and compromise their list management by paying massive overs for one or two players. But I don't think that's "sensible" or sustainable.In the old AFL he is talking making sense but not in the new AFL CBA world
Teams now have luxury of wrapping up 1-2 players at big overs due to a big increase in salary cap. You will find more and more young players be paid big numbers for their potential than rewarded for actual output moving forward. Its just the nature of the beast now.
Yep - no much chance Lever would fall to Geelong's first pick in PSD. It would be nice to have Brisbane finish bottom with money to burn as a contingency.They can offer him as much money as they want but they still have to get him out of Adelaide via trade.
Geelong don't have anything of value to trade.
The only possible way they could get Lever is to offer some sort of ridiculous million dollar + deal that no-one is prepared to match and get him via the PSD.
"News flash: McGovern signs with Crows for $700k/year"Any club willing to pay $700K+ for a 3rd. forward or a 3rd. defender isn't winning a premiership any time soon.
In the old AFL he is talking making sense but not in the new AFL CBA world
No worries, not having a go. Just would prefer 5AA didn't ask bloody leading questions!I was letting Odog know when he says it, because he couldn't find the spot.
I am well on record in the going camp.
the scarier thing is that its tim ****ing gossage!?My god, a footy journalist talking sense.
My faith is restored.
No mate. Even in the new AFL CBA world they are not worth that much. Not even close. Lever for $600k is massive overs. Gov for $500k is massive overs. I reckon that is $100k to $150k overs. I think we may be willing to offer that much overs just to put out the fires of other interested clubs. I am sure that will match any offer.
I reckon the instant inflation is the caused by the perfect storm of the CBA and North Melbourne's lack of list management planning.
My wild theory now is that North dumped all these senior players and freed up all this cash. Then they realized - shit we dont have anyone worth paying this much. They would have front loaded a handful of players and saved 5% of the cap. Now this year they are going to clear out the other half of their high earning veterans on their list including Goldstein etc. But now they have a massive amount of wages that they can spend which just increased by $2m a season including this season.
I think thats when it dawned on them that they need to do long contracts where they spend the bulk of their free cash up front but then still have the player tied to them when they come out the other end of a rebuild. So their offer to Josh Kelly makes perfect sense to me. They could potentially pay Josh $7m over the first 3 years and then just $3m for the last 6 years. This allows them to pay normal wages in 3 or 4 years. Its pretty smart cause they dont really have any other players that would demand high wages now if they are looking 4 years ahead.
I think something similar is the only way to justify giving Jake Lever an average of $800k or more.
The catch in this is type of approach is you take some of the best players in the league and move them to literally the worst teams. These players have to trust that the club will actually spring back all the way to the top. But it rarely ever happens. Most clubs that drop all the way to the bottom never spring all the way back to a premiership. A very very few do. So that is the decision Kelly and Lever have to make.
So yours was a short post?lol, you've ******* written a book here fella. And it's because you know it's truuuuuee and you don't like it.
I usually pretend I don't understand English when a bloke asked me for 50 cents outside the railway station last week.