List Mgmt. Trade & F.A. 2017 (if a scenario sounds wrong - read on before posting)

I remember watching Tony Lockett absolutely dominating up forward whilst playing for a shitful team. Lynch doesn't dominate. Noone looks better than Lynch when the ball is kicked out in front and this massive guy with presence runs and jumps and marks it high out in front, but he doesn't do that enough to warrant the price because he doesn't do much inbetween - not many one on one marks, he doesn't often clunk them in a pack, he provides very little at ground level. Good player, but he doesn't warrant the huge price tag. He'll have to produce a damn site more than the 44 goals, 15 possessions and 1.5 contested marks per game that he gave GCS this year to come close to warranting the cost that is being suggested. I don't buy the theory that if he goes from a shitful team to an ordinary or evn a good team he will suddenly produce at a much higher level. The jungle drums are beating so loudly that I believe that we will get him next year. Therefore I hope that I'm wrong.

We'll have to disagree largley on his capabilities. I've seen him do all those things you say he doesn't do, this was a down year for him and still kicked 44 goals while used in a predominantly CHF role long leads up the wings etc. They often had Wright or other deep.

The best forwards get good uncontested numbers (something overlooked when people zone too hard on contested numbers) becuase they know how to lose their man or get seperation on leads.

2017 (Lynch only played 19 games and played more CHF then Kennedys FF yet produced similar numbers and superior in some)

Tom Lynch Name Joshua Kennedy
Gold Coast Suns Team West Coast Eagles
Forward Position Forward
121 Career Games 207
Dandenong Stingrays Origin East Fremantle
October 31, 1992 Date of Birth August 25, 1987
24yr 11mth Age Turned 24 in 2011
199cm Height 196cm
98kg Weight 103kg
2017 Stats for Season 2011
19 Games 23
Kicks Per Game 9.0
5.6 Handballs Per Game 2.7
15.2 Disposals Per Game 11.7
6.3 Marks Per Game 6.3
2.3 Goals Per Game 2.6
1.3 Behinds Per Game 1.6
1.9 Tackles Per Game 3.0
Hitouts Per Game 0
2.4 Inside 50s Per Game 3.0
Goal Assists Per Game 0.6
1.5 Frees For Per Game 1.1
1.0 Frees Against Per Game 1.4
Contested Possessions Per Game 6.5
8.7 Uncontested Possessions Per Game 5.4
10.6 Effective Disposals Per Game 7.5
69.7% Disposal Efficiency % Per Game 64.1%
2.8 Clangers Per Game 2.4
1.4 Contested Marks Per Game 2.2
2.2 Marks Inside 50 Per Game 2.8
0.1 Clearances Per Game 0.2
Rebound 50s Per Game 0
2.2 One Percenters Per Game 1.8
0.2 Bounces Per Game 0.1
97.9 Time On Ground % Per Game 87.6
7.0 Score Involvements Per Game
214.8 Metres Gained Per Game
3.2 Turnovers Per Game
1.4 Intercepts Per Game
0.8 Tackles Inside 50 Per Game
80.3 AFL Fantasy Score Per Game 77.4
85.0 Supercoach Score Per Game 85.0

Go back 12 months when Lynch played a mixture of deep FF and CHF in a better GC team and compare him 23 (was 23 the entire season) to Kennedy 23:

Forward Position Forward
121 Career Games 207
Turned 24 in 2016 Age Turned 23 in 2010
199cm Height 196cm
98kg Weight 103kg
22 Games 22
10.0 Kicks Per Game 9.0
5.4 Handballs Per Game 2.8
15.4 Disposals Per Game 11.8
7.0 Marks Per Game 5.9
3.0 Goals Per Game 1.9
1.6 Behinds Per Game 0.9
1.7 Tackles Per Game 2.7
Hitouts Per Game 0
2.6 Inside 50s Per Game 3.1
Goal Assists Per Game 0.7
1.4 Frees For Per Game 1.1
1.2 Frees Against Per Game 1.2
8.1 Contested Possessions Per Game 4.8
7.6 Uncontested Possessions Per Game 6.9
10.6 Effective Disposals Per Game 7.9
68.8% Disposal Efficiency % Per Game 66.9%
2.6 Clangers Per Game 2.6
2.8 Contested Marks Per Game 1.4
3.4 Marks Inside 50 Per Game 1.6
0.2 Clearances Per Game 0.1
0.1 Rebound 50s Per Game 0
1.6 One Percenters Per Game 1.4
0.2 Bounces Per Game 0.1
96.3 Time On Ground % Per Game 88.6
0.1 Centre Clearances Per Game
0.1 Stoppage Clearances Per Game
8.0 Score Involvements Per Game
232.4 Metres Gained Per Game
3.0 Turnovers Per Game
1.2 Intercepts Per Game
0.9 Tackles Inside 50 Per Game
86.2 AFL Fantasy Score Per Game 70.9
93.2 Supercoach Score Per Game 67.1

So both his contested numbers and uncontested number in both years were superior to Kennedys at the same age.

Now lets look at Hawks J.Roughead @ 23:

Tom Lynch Name Jarryd Roughead
Gold Coast Suns Team Hawthorn Hawks
Forward Position Forward
121 Career Games 253
Dandenong Stingrays Origin Gippsland Power
October 31, 1992 Date of Birth January 23, 1987
199cm Height 193cm
98kg Weight 98kg
2016 Stats for Season 2010
22 Games 23
Kicks Per Game 8.4
5.4 Handballs Per Game 4.1
15.4 Disposals Per Game 12.4
7.0 Marks Per Game 5.0
3.0 Goals Per Game 2.3
1.6 Behinds Per Game 2.0
1.7 Tackles Per Game 1.9
0.6 Hitouts Per Game 1.2
Inside 50s Per Game 1.6
1.1 Goal Assists Per Game 0.6
1.4 Frees For Per Game 1.0
1.2 Frees Against Per Game 1.0
8.1 Contested Possessions Per Game 6.6
7.6 Uncontested Possessions Per Game 6.2
10.6 Effective Disposals Per Game 7.4
68.8% Disposal Efficiency % Per Game 59.7%
2.6 Clangers Per Game 2.0
2.8 Contested Marks Per Game 1.6
3.4 Marks Inside 50 Per Game 3.0
0.2 Clearances Per Game 0.7
0.1 Rebound 50s Per Game 0.1
1.6 One Percenters Per Game 1.5
0.2 Bounces Per Game 0
96.3 Time On Ground % Per Game 94.0
3.0 Turnovers Per Game
1.2 Intercepts Per Game
86.2 AFL Fantasy Score Per Game 70.7
93.2 Supercoach Score Per Game 78.7

Again Lynch superior in every category (to a player who played similar roles), there is no reason to think Lynch wont play good footy for the next 5 years plus especially if he can get some decent service and played deeper more often.

Yes you are right, but they are also a protected species. In days gone by a forward would have their arms chopped everytime he went for a mark, was blocked or held when going for a mark etc. Forwards now get a free if there is contact.

Only some forwards now get that (special ump love treatment). Often it depends on who is playing on who if an undersized defender like a former Gibson or Rance is playing on a brute (Cloke, Patton, Hawkins etc) they often get away with blue murder.

We'll have to disagree largley on his capabilities. I've seen him do all those things you say he doesn't do, this was a down year for him and still kicked 44 goals while used in a predominantly CHF role long leads up the wings etc. They often had Wright or other deep.

The best forwards get good uncontested numbers (something overlooked when people zone too hard on contested numbers) becuase they know how to lose their man or get seperation on leads.

2017 (Lynch only played 19 games and played more CHF then Kennedys FF yet produced similar numbers and superior in some)

Forward Position Forward
121 Career Games 207
24yr 11mth Age Turned 24 in 2011
199cm Height 196cm
98kg Weight 103kg
2017 Stats for Season 2011
19 Games 23
Kicks Per Game 9.0
5.6 Handballs Per Game 2.7
15.2 Disposals Per Game 11.7
6.3 Marks Per Game 6.3
2.3 Goals Per Game 2.6
1.3 Behinds Per Game 1.6
1.9 Tackles Per Game 3.0
Hitouts Per Game 0
2.4 Inside 50s Per Game 3.0
Goal Assists Per Game 0.6
1.5 Frees For Per Game 1.1
1.0 Frees Against Per Game 1.4
Contested Possessions Per Game 6.5
8.7 Uncontested Possessions Per Game 5.4
10.6 Effective Disposals Per Game 7.5
69.7% Disposal Efficiency % Per Game 64.1%
2.8 Clangers Per Game 2.4
1.4 Contested Marks Per Game 2.2
2.2 Marks Inside 50 Per Game 2.8
0.1 Clearances Per Game 0.2
Rebound 50s Per Game 0
2.2 One Percenters Per Game 1.8
0.2 Bounces Per Game 0.1
97.9 Time On Ground % Per Game 87.6
7.0 Score Involvements Per Game
214.8 Metres Gained Per Game
3.2 Turnovers Per Game
1.4 Intercepts Per Game
0.8 Tackles Inside 50 Per Game
80.3 AFL Fantasy Score Per Game 77.4
85.0 Supercoach Score Per Game 85.0

Go back 12 months when Lynch played a mixture of deep FF and CHF in a better GC team and compare him 23 (was 23 the entire season) to Kennedy 23:

Forward Position Forward
121 Career Games 207
199cm Height 196cm
98kg Weight 103kg
22 Games 22
10.0 Kicks Per Game 9.0
5.4 Handballs Per Game 2.8
15.4 Disposals Per Game 11.8
7.0 Marks Per Game 5.9
3.0 Goals Per Game 1.9
1.6 Behinds Per Game 0.9
1.7 Tackles Per Game 2.7
Hitouts Per Game 0
2.6 Inside 50s Per Game 3.1
Goal Assists Per Game 0.7
1.4 Frees For Per Game 1.1
1.2 Frees Against Per Game 1.2
8.1 Contested Possessions Per Game 4.8
7.6 Uncontested Possessions Per Game 6.9
10.6 Effective Disposals Per Game 7.9
68.8% Disposal Efficiency % Per Game 66.9%
2.6 Clangers Per Game 2.6
2.8 Contested Marks Per Game 1.4
3.4 Marks Inside 50 Per Game 1.6
0.2 Clearances Per Game 0.1
0.1 Rebound 50s Per Game 0
1.6 One Percenters Per Game 1.4
0.2 Bounces Per Game 0.1
96.3 Time On Ground % Per Game 88.6
3.0 Turnovers Per Game
1.2 Intercepts Per Game
86.2 AFL Fantasy Score Per Game 70.9
93.2 Supercoach Score Per Game 67.1

So both his contested numbers and uncontested number in both years were superior to Kennedys at the same age.

Now lets look at Hawks J.Roughead @ 23:

Tom Lynch Name Jarryd Roughead
Gold Coast Suns Team Hawthorn Hawks
Forward Position Forward
121 Career Games 253
Dandenong Stingrays Origin Gippsland Power
October 31, 1992 Date of Birth January 23, 1987
199cm Height 193cm
98kg Weight 98kg
2016 Stats for Season 2010
22 Games 23
Kicks Per Game 8.4
5.4 Handballs Per Game 4.1
15.4 Disposals Per Game 12.4
7.0 Marks Per Game 5.0
3.0 Goals Per Game 2.3
1.6 Behinds Per Game 2.0
1.7 Tackles Per Game 1.9
0.6 Hitouts Per Game 1.2
Inside 50s Per Game 1.6
1.1 Goal Assists Per Game 0.6
1.4 Frees For Per Game 1.0
1.2 Frees Against Per Game 1.0
8.1 Contested Possessions Per Game 6.6
7.6 Uncontested Possessions Per Game 6.2
10.6 Effective Disposals Per Game 7.4
68.8% Disposal Efficiency % Per Game 59.7%
2.6 Clangers Per Game 2.0
2.8 Contested Marks Per Game 1.6
3.4 Marks Inside 50 Per Game 3.0
0.2 Clearances Per Game 0.7
0.1 Rebound 50s Per Game 0.1
1.6 One Percenters Per Game 1.5
0.2 Bounces Per Game 0
96.3 Time On Ground % Per Game 94.0
3.0 Turnovers Per Game
1.2 Intercepts Per Game
86.2 AFL Fantasy Score Per Game 70.7
93.2 Supercoach Score Per Game 78.7

Again Lynch superior in every category (to a player who played similar roles), there is no reason to think Lynch wont play good footy for the next 5 years plus especially if he can get some decent service and played deeper more often.
I agree that he's a very good player, but the trade value and salary bandied around is the highest for anyone in history. I can't see him being anywhere near that good.

Offered a blank cheque? That's just what the AFL wants you to think. Just AFL propaganda really. It's all about business these days for AFL. I doubt they actually care much for a club like Gold Coast that generates much revenues. I don't think AFL would mind too much if Lynch went to Collingwood because its definitely going to push us up the ladder which means more $$ for AFL.

Besides, Lynch will be 26 by the end of next season. Stupid of Gold Coast to sink a large proportion of their cap-space into someone who will retire by the time they even make finals next. It's so obvious that he will leave next year, Gold Coast may as well try and broker a trade for him this year and try and get something while they can.

Go watch the interview with Machlaclan. The AFL have a large paying Ambassador role for Lynch on the proviso he stays a GC player. Falou and Hunts Ambassador roles were paid up to a mil per year AFL is desperate to keep lynch at GC.

Here read this it will give you an idea on the money they are talking. 1mil contract and 1 mil Ambassador role. 2 mil pa player. Good luck matching that and not destroying your cap.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...k=adfbe9ebf4db338ee493e3a3ef888869-1507354394
If a trade request was lodged this October, the trade would be near impossible, for Lynch is the future of this football club.

Chairman Tony Cochrane would blow a lid and say under no circumstances would Lynch be traded. He also said Rodney Eade would coach all of 2017 and you could write it “in my blood”. He also said Jaeger O’Meara would not be traded.

But he’s gettable.

McLachlan’s comments on Fox Footy’s On The Couch program on Monday night was a message to Lynch that staying at the Suns would be financially worthwhile.

How can the CEO say that?

How can clubs allow the AFL, and by extension the AFL Commission, to basically guarantee an ambassadors’ salary before Lynch has even considered a contract extension?

Why is that integrity comes second when it involves the Suns?

It’s a new club, but so are the top-four GWS Giants, and after seven years, surely free kick(backs) can’t be continually dolled out because the Suns have been an AFL-run, mismanaged, poor-performing and culturally-bashed crusade from the start.

e115b52fde5227f1da29fdafa23b2cce

Tom Lynch is one of the brightest young stars in the AFL. Picture: Michael Klein
Perhaps in its worst state since that first season, part of the rescue mission is to keep Lynch and pay him monster-sized cash.

It’s known the AFL paid Karmichael Hunt and Israel Folau in the vicinity of $1 million a season in their early years and it was arguably understandable because the AFL used them to make inroads into rugby league territory.

The Lynch situation is far from converting the otherwise converted.

With ambassador’s cash, Lynch conceivably could be the highest paid player in the game if he re-signs with the Suns beyond 2018.

McLachlan clearly wants to see the Suns succeed, but his idea could send rival clubs bellowing in angst to the Commission.

“We would never pay a guy in advance,” McLachlan said.

“If he re-signed with the Suns and he’s the right guy to be an ambassador on the Gold Coast and Queensland, we’d do that. And he’s the type of guy who would. But we would never do a deal in advance.’’

It doesn’t matter if it’s in advance or not, Lynch now knows there’s about a $1m for the taking on top of his close-to $1m salary.

If Buckley leaves a legacy at all it will be the ability to pick who to get rid of with a high degree of success( or that player going backwards at their new clubs)
Hence he could be good at being a list manager. I agree with you. Players that he has been happy to move on haven’t really kicked on at their new clubs. Shaw might be the exception, but even then when you consider the second half of 2017, he seems to have fallen off the pace a bit.

I agree that he's a very good player, but the trade value and salary bandied around is the highest for anyone in history. I can't see him being anywhere near that good.

Only salary and that is largely due to AFL see Machlaclan stepping in and doubling his wage. Trade wise similar to treloar.

There is no way known he will be a pie unless he moves for a lot less money, really this is a moot point. Pies have been courting him for 2 years and were looking like getting their man (just quietly) until the AFL stepped in with this ludicrous salary rort.

In terms of trade it would likely be 2 firsts, maybe due to the strength of 2018 draft we may have squeezed out a 2nd back like in the Treloar trade.
But at the end of the day any way you cut it Treloar cost us 2 first round picks (double pick 7) and pick 62, not 1 and a half firsts (like many on here try to fool themselves) becuase we got a 2nd back (a pick in the 30s). We lost acess to 2 pick 7s and gained a pick 30 with Treloar.

If he was consistent enough Melbourne would keep him as he would be providing a need. My concern is that he after 9 years in the system he may have reached his ceiling and if he comes to us and continues to play as he has, he will be crucified by the media and fans at a club like ours, when it has been reported in the past that the media and fan criticism has personally affected him

Do you think him getting kicked out and then given a lifeline (of sorts) from pies could in anyway wake him up?

He seems reluctant to take on critisicism from anyone not just white noise from the outer either talking coaches and teammates. (much like Jones admitted to early in the season but changed).

I think Watts should of looked to change clubs years ago, he needs to get the monkey off the back of the "number 1 pick" stigma that haunts him at Melb, and maybe needs to get fresh input as well as a new challenge at a new club.

I am yet to see a pies supporter have any expectation of Watts to be a saviour forward (like Lynch) mostly there has only been disparriaging comments which are likely tied to a bias of his early days.

I think he can come in play a role and be a handy addittion without the expectation or need for him to be starring from week to week.

He adds pace, clean disposal, good decision making with ball in hand and on his best days can kick you a 5 goal haul. The main issue is linked to his off field preperation and workethic to become the best version of him weekly (rather then whack a mole esque performances).

For mine I hope he does come to us, definitely an improvement to our forward line so long as he *puts in*.

Mate.. business is business.. cause some player is ladida and all rosey and s**t with his club.. doesn't count for s**t if there's a huge offer on the table.

Sloane would make an extra mil over the course of his career at another club.

You can argue that Griffen and Ablett left BC things weren't quite right.. well explain Franklin and Dangerfield. Player's that leave throw out BS reasons half the time anyhow.

In conclusion.. if he leaves he leaves. Equal baring as far as I'm concerned if he gets along or doesn't get along with the club he's currently at.

Explain Franklin and dangerfield?

Franklin chased a girl and the biggest (and dodgiest) contract in AFL history.

Dangerfield had a go-home factor.

Yes business is business, but from where I sit it's easy to see that Sloane is happy at the Crows and has every reason to stay.

This discussion is moot anyway as the Crows will sign him away for the remainder of his career before too long.

Go watch the interview with Machlaclan. The AFL have a large paying Ambassador role for Lynch on the proviso he stays a GC player. Falou and Hunts Ambassador roles were paid up to a mil per year AFL is desperate to keep lynch at GC.

Here read this it will give you an idea on the money they are talking. 1mil contract and 1 mil Ambassador role. 2 mil pa player. Good luck matching that and not destroying your cap.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...k=adfbe9ebf4db338ee493e3a3ef888869-1507354394
If a trade request was lodged this October, the trade would be near impossible, for Lynch is the future of this football club.

That's all well & good loki04 but at the end of the day he has to want to stay.

His manager clearly stated he wants success.

Pies Premiership player as opposed to the GCS $. Ablett fleeced that Club if I was Lynch I would be dirty. He owes them and the AFL nothing.

It is as simple as that for me anyway.

The two players i want will likely be available at those two teens picks so why only get 1 when we can have both. We draft Balta and Richards then our defence is virtually sorted in one draft
I've got a few posts to catch up on so not sure if this has been raised by anyone else but lots of talk about swapping 6 with Lions 12&18 or Tigers 15&17. Lions likely to get 19 for Rockliff so if they are only willing to trade 18&19 then would people still be interested? (Please ignore any questions of fair value as these can be balanced by trading / adding later picks if needed.) Would make it much harder / impossible to get Balta but should still get Richards and have some other tall options.

That's all ygood loki04 but at the end of the day he has to want to stay.

Pies Premiership player as opposed to the GCS $. Ablett fleeced that Club if I was Lynch I would be dirty. He owes them and the AFL nothing.

Yup the bit of ray of hope we can cling to is pull of family, teen dream of being a pie, playing in hopefully on the way up team.

But that is a whole lot of coin to stay put (rumoured 2mil pa), we would have to be looking at 1-1.4 mil contract and maybe 250k endorsement (outside cap ala judd and Visy) deal, just to get him interested you would think (and on field improvement to show we are contenders).

I've got a few posts to catch up on so not sure if this has been raised by anyone else but lots of talk about swapping 6 with Lions 12&18 or Tigers 15&17. Lions likely to get 19 for Rockliff so if they are only willing to trade 18&19 then would people still be interested? (Please ignore any questions of fair value as these can be balanced by trading / adding later picks if needed.) Would make it much harder / impossible to get Balta but should still get Richards and have some other tall options.

Nah thats too big a hit imo, 6 down 18 /19 is too big of a drop to enter.

If he wants success and based on the past 4 years why would he want to come to us?. At this point all we can offer him is the same as GCS...money

Yup the bit of ray of hope we can cling to is pull of mfamily, teen dream of being a pie, playing in hopefully on the way up team.

But that is a whole lot of coin to stay put (rumoured 2mil pa), we would have to be looking at 1-1.4 mil contract and maybe 250k endorsement (outside cap ala judd and Visy) deal, just to get him interested you would think (and on field improvement to show we are contenders).

I said I agree with you but Dusty could have gone to North Melbourne also for a s**t load more $.

Being a Pies Premiership player is an intangible in dollar terms after retirement.

I went to a sportsman lunch and Daicos was guest speaker with Swan a couple years ago.

Daicos said he has yet to buy a drink at a bar since 1990. :D

Explain Franklin and dangerfield?

Franklin chased a girl and the biggest (and dodgiest) contract in AFL history.

Dangerfield had a go-home factor.

Yes business is business, but from where I sit it's easy to see that Sloane is happy at the Crows and has every reason to stay.

This discussion is moot anyway as the Crows will sign him away for the remainder of his career before too long.

Player's rarely say it's the cash.. they spin bullshit about how they need a new change of scenery and are home sick and bla bla bla.. it's all about the $s my friend.

If he wants success and based on the past 4 years why would he want to come to us?. At this point all we can offer him is the same as GCS...money

We get Lynch........and the best KPP this year and throw in a Watts and we are in contention.

The GCS list is poo........have a good look at it Roverjg.

18&19 unders imo

The way his manager talked in that recent interview where he said that Lynch would be looking at the new coach and what kind of success he can have at GC says to me that while money is important, it is a secondary consideration for him. That means he’s gettable regardless of the cash Gillon wants to throw at him.

My biggest fear if he does move to us is the reprisal of the AFL. We saw how they cracked the shits when Buddy went to Sydney and imposed trade restrictions on them and took away COLA. I just know if we take Lynch from their weaker baby that they’ll change something in the rules to * us over down the track. Probably try to find a way to take Nick Daicos away as a FS selection or something ludicrous...