Autopsy Rd 4 Blues annihilated by 86 points

My early thoughts player by player:

Cripps didn’t play well but his effort and intensity was high.

Weiteting was very poor. I genuinely hope for his sake he is actually injured this time but you can’t blame people if they don’t believe him. His intensity is terrible. I’ve not been a fan of dropping him but I am now.

Dow. Can’t kick. Has to be said. Lots of work to do for him I’m afraid.

Charlie had few opportunities but looked also to gave given up late.

LOB ram hard and put in repeat 2nd and 3rd efforts. Good game.

Simmo- did he play?

Garlett has tackles broken too easily. Flashy I suppose.

Fisher seemed injured and was awol

Plowman is one of many slow players

SPS

Ok I give up.

There's you wooden spoon battle and we nearly lost it by 100 points. Gone too hard with the rebuild 10-4 under 21s out there tonight. Most sides have 3-5 a week we regularly have 8-10.

13 players with 12 or fewer possessions to 6. Our 22-28 year old range on our list is absolutely second rate. Cripps (and Doch) aside there's not a single player even at a B-grade level. Ed Curnow the next best and he's a great role player. The rest are avg. role players or just not up to it.

Here's hoping we stick fat with Bolton after a 3-19 season. What hopes he got with such an abysmal list
3-19 huh, ssshhhhhiiiiiiiiiiittttttttt your hopeful mate

I said this during the game: we all love our club but tonight I feel almost broken. After 40 years following the club I’ve never felt as disillusioned as I am tonight. Forget Pagan years, forget Mick, forget Ratten sacking at al. Right now we’re broken. There’s no enjoyment , we’re rudderless. Feels like Fitzroy.
Same feeling here and I'm trying to convince my seven year old that we are improving.....

I would like to say it can’t get worse than this but we still have both Sydney teams to play, and port and bulldogs and west coast.. oh ****
Who can we win against. Looking at the draw, I really don’t know where we’re getting a win from.

This is as bad a performance as I can remember from this football club. As bad if not worse than the hidings in the Pagan era. The lack of effort and desire to pick up a player is pathetic. There are probably ten players who need to be dropped but obviously that can't happen. Bolton will be lucky to see the month out if tis type of performance is repeated

it's snuck up on us, but we've done a melbourne. the kids and players we swap in week to week like graham are on a hiding to nothing.
no system out of the stoppages, just hacking it out by foot.
a couple of the kids just handing it straight to NM players.
a few players tried and a few others were undone by lack of experience further up the field. dirty day.
cuningham looks good when he gets the ball in hand, needs it more. casboult and wright did about as much as the could on the end of our midfield.

Shattered about this as I particularly despise North, but where is the spark going to come from, where do we go from here? what do we need to do to get this team competitive again? Not interested in smart arse, self gratifying, look at me 'I'm in a bad mood' type responses or arguments. What do we have to do short and long term?
In the short term- pray it doesn’t rain- we have exactly no chance with a wet ball, skill level deficiencies are amplified
Long term- stick fat, kids need time, our lack of size smashed out midfield which in turn screws our forwards and completely ****s the defense

I think Garlett was ok but needs to be more involved. Plus Silvagni on return worked hard just used it badly.

The only real positive was Lob

I have an issue with his attack on the footy, but may be due to his injury in the pre-season, not sure. SOS did work hard after qtr time, but his disposal was shocking. There was not much at all to take from tonight. But we go again next Sat arvo against the Eagles.

Sorry Bolts, you get until the end of the season to fix this. If we’re still losing games like this later in the season, I can’t see how survives.

I’ve watched some bloody terrible Blues performances but that was truly the worst I’ve seen.

Yep, just like Ratts, just like Brittain....smart decisions both those were...not!!

Bolton will be coaching next year, we’ve gone the absolute full rebuild and brought in kids and zero mature free agents to replace the quality we moved on for the draft picks for those kids.

It’s what everybody wanted....yet nobody is prepared to take the bad that happens from that.

Board know that, admin know that...most supporters know that

Can cop a flogging from time to time whilst we are developing, as long as the kids show something to give you hope... that didn’t happen, not one of them looks like they have improved.

Mullet & Oshea are sooooooo bad.

I have had nothing but praise for Bolton since he stepped foot in Princes Park, but that was unacceptable and he needs to be made aware of it. I also question if him doing the presser asking fans to be patient has given the players an excuse..

Ive gotten used these loses and can understand that the club is rebuilding/injuries/whatever excuse you want to give, and it will take time.

What sucks when the kids get up tomorrow and will want to watch the replay, and yet again i will have to pretend it didnt record.

I was told in no uncertain terms by my 7yo that if we lost to the pies he would probably change teams. We got through last week due to having a ripping day at the blues junior footy clinic. The kids had a ball meeting and doing some drills with the players. It re-ignighted the passion for the blues in my boys.

**** knows how they will react tomorrow.

The rational side of me knows that there’s enough talent there that when the bodies mature we might have a half decent team.

The passionate side of me says that I don’t want to wait till 2020. Not having already waited more than a decade. And life is too short to alway keep looking years ahead.

My angry side says that the skills coaches should be taken out and shot. We can’t tackle. We can’t hit a target. We can’t do the basics.

Autopsy Rd 4 Blues annihilated by 86 points