Pretty happy with the Ryan decision
Kelly was gone by Ryan's pick

In an alternate universe, we have Tim Kelly playing Gaff's role and Gaff playing Masten's role.Tim Kelly is so classy
Nah Lever is a lesser Gov.
Rotham should idolise shep but that still wouldn't make him a true intercepting player.
Not that i agree on the selection but i can see him turning into a whipping boy by the nuffies.No pressure on the kid
![]()
Not that i agree on the selection but i can see him turning into a whipping boy by the nuffies.
Im not usually as keen on mature age draft picks but unlike most mature age players, Kelly already possesses elite AFL characteristics and is one of those type that can turn a game on its head. With a couple more years in the system, he could potentially become a top line mid in the comp/Not at all. Just a victim of circumstance. I reckon we initially made the GC trade with the full intention of picking up Kelly AND Ryan (despite the experts on here saying they aren't worthy of second round selections).
When Brander was available at our first we couldn't pass him up ( I reckon we would have taken Allen here if Brander not available), then when Allen slipped to our 2nd there's no way we could pass on him.
Pretty sure both will turn out pretty damn good. Just in terms of contending this year, throw in Kelly right now and I reckon our mix is about right.
Why not at the end of this year, offer geelong our first pick in the draft for kelly. he may want to return to WA with the familyIm not usually as keen on mature age draft picks but unlike most mature age players, Kelly already possesses elite AFL characteristics and is one of those type that can turn a game on its head. With a couple more years in the system, he could potentially become a top line mid in the comp/
I agree Allen is talented but IMO, at 190cm he's not a genuine KPP and we already have a truckload of his type. Im just banking on the club seeing him as a big bodied mid, but him playing in defence atm is kinda making me nervous.
we have no first rounders this year and he probably warrants one.Why not at the end of this year, offer geelong our first pick in the draft for kelly. he may want to return to WA with the family
Im not usually as keen on mature age draft picks but unlike most mature age players, Kelly already possesses elite AFL characteristics and is one of those type that can turn a game on its head. With a couple more years in the system, he could potentially become a top line mid in the comp/
I agree Allen is talented but IMO, at 190cm he's not a genuine KPP and we already have a truckload of his type. Im just banking on the club seeing him as a big bodied mid, but him playing in defence atm is kinda making me nervous.
I don't really rate mature age pick due to them only being depth or solid/decent foot soldiers. However, kelly has the potential to do a Barlow if not better and you have to also realise that a lot of young mids that are drafted at 18 usually come into their own at 22-24 years of age as well. Oscar Allen makes me nervous purely because he is an under size tall forward with heaps of question marks (but undeniable potential). Can he make it as a mid? can he over take Brander and waterman? etc. I don't think id be as nervous if we got fogerty.Tim Kelly is 24 in 2 months. As a mature age draftee, he kinda needs to come in and impact straight away, his career is likely half the length of someone drafted at 18 years old.
I don't really rate mature age pick due to them only being depth or solid/decent foot soldiers. However, kelly has the potential to do a Barlow if not better and you have to also realise that a lot of young mids that are drafted at 18 usually come into their own at 22-24 years of age as well. Oscar Allen makes me nervous purely because he is an under size tall forward with heaps of question marks (but undeniable potential). Can he make it as a mid? can he over take Brander and waterman? etc. I don't think id be as nervous if we got fogerty.
listened to Haggers podcast and a "Team" has offered 1.25m for six seasons plus the club wanted an acceptance on that deal on which Haggers saying McGovern accepted so its now in West Coasts court to up there deal or possibly lose McGovern . Haggers is guessing its Fremantle as McGovern does not wish to move East could easily be Sydney though as Sydney has beautiful weather .
\ Really its up to McGovern whether he wants the hassle of moving and leaving because we have Gaff and Lycett to consider really our hands are tied .
Free agency is so disruptive to footy clubs can now realise the Geelong / Adelaide situation in previous seasons .
Haggers was right about Sheed missing yesterday morning and today he reckons Kennedy limped into training yesterday in serious doubt and Shuey has hamstring tightness and is doubtful , reckons West Coast have pushed players in the past few weeks to play with some injury concerns .
He’s a lot taller than 190 cm in my opinion. Wait for the reading after next pre-season.Im not usually as keen on mature age draft picks but unlike most mature age players, Kelly already possesses elite AFL characteristics and is one of those type that can turn a game on its head. With a couple more years in the system, he could potentially become a top line mid in the comp/
Most supporters won't know or care.He’s a lot taller than 190 cm in my opinion. Wait for the reading after next pre-season.
Still wish we had Kelly in our midfield though.
Allen is definitely going to cop it from supporters but luckily most are too dumb to know that we picked Allen before Kelly so they’ll probably mistakenly hang shit on Anus instead.
our poor mids belted kellyGoing to watch Callum Ah Chee today. I reckon if we do lose Gaff, he will be one we target and we have decent trade form with the Suns.
Kelly would’ve been great but let’s give Oscar a few years before we judge. I think he will be a star
Think they overvalued Dean Gore in that situation. But still got pick 9 and 28.They also got less than that for Dangerfield
YeoAre Lecca and Emac the most recent 5 year deals we've done? Oh and NicNat.
Not to say I'll be happy if Gov left, but 6 years can **** off. Especially at that money. Doing so guarantees we'll have cap and list issues, him leaving at least gives us the chance to cover his impact.
I get your overall point but slotting Tim Kelly in there as your cheeky $80k option misrepresents it quite a lot haha. The tradeoff is more like Josh Hill vs a 5th rounder.
Think they took what they could get because it would still have been better than the compo for FAThink they overvalued Dean Gore in that situation. But still got pick 9 and 28.