Traded Braydon Preuss [traded with #62 to Melbourne for Tyson]

He is. But that wouldn't stop us from entertaining offers.
Look, id like him at Geelong, no worries at all as we need another ruckman ( 9 of the clubs 1st starting Ruckman has started at another club before been number 1 at there current club )
Preuss won't be worth heaps as he isn't playing heap of 1s footy at North, no offence his value won't be high, I'm guessing a 3rd round??? But if he was week in/out then his value would be higher..

He is. But that wouldn't stop us from entertaining offers.

Goldstein has a year or two left and is on big money. You'd be better off moving him on and keeping the younger Preuss when you look at what Preuss would be likely to net you in a trade.

I don't think Goldy would be worth much. Gone too far backwards from where he was and his age would deter suitors. I reckon we'd get more for Preuss.

We have Xerri coming on well as a ruckman, should be ready to replace Goldy in a couple of years.

I don't think Goldy would be worth much. Gone too far backwards from where he was and his age would deter suitors. I reckon we'd get more for Preuss.

We have Xerri coming on well as a ruckman, should be ready to replace Goldy in a couple of years.

Preuss might ruck in your next flag Goldy won't.

So personally. who do you want to take over Goldy, Xerri or Preuss?

We've got Preuss, a Mumford-type ruckman with presence who has been in the reserves all year. His form hasn't been as great as last year, but he'd probably still be getting a game in other teams who need a decent ruckman with physicality. If Goldy got injured this year then Preuss would come straight in. But we have a developing ruckman in Xerri who is coming along well and could step up and be the Goldy back up next year if we need him.
So what would Preuss be worth in this years trade period to say teams like Geelong or the Giants who are lacking that type of ruckman to go deep in finals? Or anyone else who would be interested in him.

Ideal example of a mid year trade situation. We may pay more now than we would at years end

So personally. who do you want to take over Goldy, Xerri or Preuss?
Ideally Preuss. But as long as Goldy is still with us, Brad had shown that he won't play both of them. Not with Brown, Waite, Daw, etc, also starting.
I think we're stuck with Goldy till the end of his contract, because we won't get much for him as he's closer to the end than the start.
So I think we look at trading Preuss at the end of this year while he has decent currency and other teams want him. We then use what we get for him to help fill our bigger need which is class around the ball.
Meanwhile, Xerri keeps developing over the next 1-2 years to eventually replace Goldy.

Ideal example of a mid year trade situation. We may pay more now than we would at years end
I see how it would help the Cats, because you get a ready made ruckman who can come in straight away and play the second half of the year. Not sure how it would help us though? i.e what decent classy mid(s) of equivalent value would we get in return from the Cats?
Unless it was a 3 way trade and we get the mid from elsewhere?
Are there any classy mids though not getting a game, or on the fringe, that would be of interest to us?

I see how it would help the Cats, because you get a ready made ruckman who can come in straight away and play the second half of the year. Not sure how it would help us though? i.e what decent classy mid(s) of equivalent value would we get in return from the Cats?
Unless it was a 3 way trade and we get the mid from elsewhere?
Are there any classy mids though not getting a game, or on the fringe, that would be of interest to us?

No you would ask for our R1 pick or something like that... maybe 2019. It will be complicated though. how does SC work.

He's been quiet for a few weeks, but broke out v Pittonet on saturday.

Still needs to work on his palm work.

Yeah, how about your club actually develops some footballers for a change rather than continually topping up with other clubs players?

yeah no worries Snake. Just what do you call developing players

Hitting the draft instead of topping up all the time.

You can't stave off the inevitable forever, and the fall will be great.

How’s he developed this year? Only seen him once live this season (against Soldo in the VFL a few weeks ago) and he wasn’t overly impressive.

Wins the ruck battles almost all the time, but the quality of his hit outs needs work. Been hot and cold otherwise.

He's only 22. Still a pup in ruckman years.

Hitting the draft instead of topping up all the time.

You can't stave off the inevitable forever, and the fall will be great.
Thats two different issues..

Drafting and development? Perhaps our first pick from the 2017 draft playing in his first year , we did not develop him it must be TAC. Cant see we would have developed him too much in 1 Preseason. Maybe our 2nd pick is not development either because Kelly is a mature player. Blitz has been playing a bit down back but he was a runner so we did not develop him even if he had not played footy for years ..he could always run. Tom Stewart? Similar in a way to Scott Thompson. Develop him? Its a bit hard to work out how much development any club puts into a player.

We have had four Rookies debut this year from the 2016 draft ..and the last two or three drafts we have added a very strong section of our side.

Will our fall happen ..it may well but not because we have not gone to draft enough. The issue is finding players with the picks we have had. We haven't had a single figure pick in 12 years. Hit the draft too hard with ordinary/poor picks ..and you most certainly will fall. So one day it may go sideways and we drop off.. maybe we fall to the bottom.. that would be different .. as we have never been bottom.

and I know this is all in good fun ... in a way I agree with you as far as rucks go my preference is to go to draft and find a young kid to develop. Rucks though are a very strange group..so many start at one club and go somewhere else.