Bluemour Discussion Thread VIII

I don't see how you could possibly argue that we need tall forward so more than we need mids

Really? I've been doing it all year.

To date many of our tall forwards (all of them in fact barring Charlie) have shown next to nothing. Harry has gotten a couple of cheapies but otherwise shown he is a good kick. He doesn't contest hard enough and his running patterns are rubbish at present. SOS has looked better since coming back in.

VC in open discussion with media about his 'state of mind' - to be resolved in coming few weeks - reads like gimme a bit moooore Port and lets close the deal real soonish...

pathetic the way these contracts are played out in public imo.

It could be this way....but in this case i doubt it.

I haven't been following it real closely but apparently Port's deal makes him their highest paid player. So i doubt that would move further up.

Imo, the delay (if it is a delay, seeing we are not even at the bye yet haha) is more likely that one or two Vic clubs have upped their deals and he genuinely has to make a decision to stay or go. I reckon Carlton and Essendon are those 2 Clubs.

I dunno whether i want him to quickly sign with Port or not. I'd love him at Carlton, but i'd hate him to go to Essendon.

Love for Carlton....or hate for Essendon.....hmmmmm that's a tough one.

Ah bugger it, just sign with Port Ollie:)

I'm not sure that is the case anymore. With their success over the last 10-15 years they would have a new generation of 'proper' supporters that aren't just there for a social outing.

Went to the game on Friday and was very surprised to see them boasting about 60000 members.

I'd be confident (without being bothered enough to look it up) that no Sydney based NRL club could boast that number.

VC in open discussion with media about his 'state of mind' - to be resolved in coming few weeks - reads like gimme a bit moooore Port and lets close the deal real soonish...

pathetic the way these contracts are played out in public imo.

Captains & Vice Captains, poor form on display, just like our good ol’ skipper.

There is zero connection between St Kilda taking Riewoldt in the draft and them not winning a flag with him, nor is there sufficient information/data available for you to make the claim that taking a key forward with pick 1 lessens the chance of winning a grand final,

Fair call, reading that back it sounds stupid and doesn't really reflect what i think.

To date many of our tall forwards (all of them in fact barring Charlie) have shown next to nothing. Harry has gotten a couple of cheapies but otherwise shown he is a good kick. He doesn't contest hard enough and his running patterns are rubbish at present. SOS has looked better since coming back in.

Yep - FT professional footballer in AFL system for a couple of years possessing all the physical attributes required to be a good forward - height/leap/run and kick - and lacking a bit between the ears. begs a question doesn' t it regarding Carlton's ability to develop players into specific roles and delivering on basic KPI's...

In Rugby - you have elite young kids barely out of teenage years making National team and playing against the best in the world in equally if not more demanding roles - in AFL you have the old BS - takes time to develop talls- meanwhile Fogarty is tearing it up for Adelaide as if he was a developed player.

maybe avoiding kids who are just bigger than other school kids as their #1 attribute and competitive advantage is a good plan.

Re Murphy imo:

He won't go.
He shouldn't go.
He won't go.
I'll be fine with him staying.
If he goes...i wouldn't bat an eyelid and would deep down be a bit happy to move on from him.
Carlton F.C. have , and will, butter his bread better than elsewhere would.
He won't go.

That is a beautiful confusing analysis.

Oh please. Why do you feel the need to talk down the young prospects we've got on the list just to support your point of view?

You're being way too harsh on Harry in particular, who has shown plenty already. He's a 20 year old 200cm key forward with less than 10 games under his belt, playing for the side with probably the worst F50 entries in the competition. His tackling and intent has been very impressive, and he has worked his way to plenty of contests up the ground. He needs to work on his contested marking, but that'll come with greater strength and more experience.

Kerr has looked good too over the past few weeks. Long way to go yet but the early signs are encouraging and he has improved with each game he has played.

Our young forwards are a few games in. Let’s judge them at the end of the year and then draft accordingly. But yeah another couple of goal kicking mids. Can’t we get or grow both. Go the navy blues .

If SOS is the tight arse I think he is, our top pick is off the table (unless for an offer too good to refuse). I can understand why people are a little gun-shy about top picks and yes Wines is worth a top pick, but I’d much prefer to utilise free agency where possible. Gaff would be number one on the wish list, followed by Shiel next year. All of a sudden we would have serious quality and depth through the middle.

Agree with you, one of our more pressing problems is we can't score.
Midfielders can be replished anytime, excellent mauture FA options this year and next, skinny young midfielders that can be brushed aside for 2 to 3 years wont help much. I'd rather draft support for Charlie, a KPF with good Footy IQ, skills and mobility. Harry has not convivced yet and may need 1or 2 years yet and not much else after he.

Worked from home today, so no chance of that ;)

I am just a realist Bull. All about possibilities and probabilities

You sound like my brother mate.
You are right though , possession is nine tenths of the law so he will probably stay and become their next captain.
But in the middle of winter , holding up the ladder at 1-10 , until he does re sign at Port , I'm gunna dream about the carnage he and Cripps could create together just that little bit ...

Yep - FT professional footballer in AFL system for a couple of years possessing all the physical attributes required to be a good forward - height/leap/run and kick - and lacking a bit between the ears. begs a question doesn' t it regarding Carlton's ability to develop players into specific roles and delivering on basic KPI's...

In Rugby - you have elite young kids barely out of teenage years making National team and playing against the best in the world in equally if not more demanding roles - in AFL you have the old BS - takes time to develop talls- meanwhile Fogarty is tearing it up for Adelaide as if he was a developed player.

maybe avoiding kids who are just bigger than other school kids as their #1 attribute and competitive advantage is a good plan.

Fogarty tearing it up?

Troy Menzel trivia: currently the leading goalkicker for second-placed Tea Tree Gully in the SAAFL - has 28 from 8 outings, has been named in the best a handful of times.

Had to google this, as I'm still in disbelief that a player of his talent didn't have a long AFL career. I vaguely recall stating during his first year with us that he may one day be Carlton's best player... Needless to say, I'm very pleased that those in charge are better judges of football talent.
Lazy footballer who got by on his footballing ability alone. Anazing to think he and Dan are from the same family.