Mega Thread Port Forum 'General AFL Talk' Thread Part 8

With their big win over the Bulldogs the Hawks may stay in the eight this round. North Melbourne will beat the Suns but are now 5% behind and GWS just have to win but take on the Eagles in the west.
A win is unthinkable, but it'll be interesting to see how the improved Lions go against Hawthorn next week.

I like how the board's nicknames for Josh Jenkins are building on each other and getting progressively further and further away from his actual name like a game of Chinese whispers. Give it a few months and he'll be known as 'Jerk Goosington' or something.

Goose Josh Goal Square Pants.

Lions have already beaten the Hawks this year.

A win is not unthinkable.
Yeah but the Hawks just don't lose in Tassie - it'd be a huge upset (not that I'd be too upset about it :-)).

I like the bit where us keeping our stars has nothing to do with club culture we just pay above market rate for everyone.. I hope they are this blind and daft forever.

It's all good, they're just going to draft South Australians from now on.

I like the bit where us keeping our stars has nothing to do with club culture we just pay above market rate for everyone.. I hope they are this blind and daft forever.

I had another insight into Jack Watts from my mate at the dog park the other night, who’s been away working in NSW so updates have been limited.
So Jack is absolutely loving life at Port, as is Trengove mind you. Reckons the culture at Port Adelaide is like nothing he’s experienced. The inclusiveness and family feel leaves Melbourne’s for dead. “Best decision he’s made”.
In another twist, he’s been telling Jack Watts about his Port fanatic mate at the dog park he has to meet. So he reckons both Jack’s might be coming out to the park this week. Hold me.....

It's all good, they're just going to draft South Australians from now on.
They are already putting next years team up with Rankine and Lukosius in them.

How the **** they will manage that I don’t know.

Hawthorn are the team that most people agree should get into the eight with a good run to come. However, nothing can be certain and with the long-term loss of McEvoy they may have a bit more of a problem with some of their games to come. They have some easybeats it is true but they also have Geelong, Essendon and Sydney. These are the games they must really step up for, if they lose all or two of them they are very close to not making the eight. And if the other teams who are challenging for the eight step up then this would make their job harder. It is quite possible this year that a team could finish second or third but with just one extra loss could be out of the eight.
Essendon have a chance to make a late run and but for their last two games against Richmond at the MCG and Port at AO could make it. Their poor percentage should see them missing, even a couple of big wins should still see them about 5% behind the eighth-placed team. As with some other teams, their chances rest with how long it takes for West Coast to get Kennedy and Darling back. If West Coast stay in the form they are at the moment, they could have a real chance of losing their place in the eight. And such a drop is not impossible, North Melbourne in 2016 went from 9-0 to 12-10 after R23 and only made the finals on percentage.

They are already putting next years team up with Rankine and Lukosius in them.

How the **** they will manage that I don’t know.
Get Lukosius and Rankine to write letters to all clubs saying to not draft them? It's been done before.

Yeah but the Hawks just don't lose in Tassie - it'd be a huge upset (not that I'd be too upset about it :)).

The quick move and switch play that they did against the Blues was irresistible, but the Blues were witches hats. Can't see that happening against the Hawks in Tassie.

Essendon have a chance to make a late run and but for their last two games against Richmond at the MCG and Port at AO could make it.

But for their last two?

Essendon will beat us by about 80 at Adelaide Oval. Their big issue will come up when they have to play Gold Coast at Metricon, or their clutch round 21 game against St Kilda.

Just when you thought the Cyril Rioli hysteria has subsided, the Fox Footy team ask Stuart Dew - in a pregame interview for the Gold Coast match - how it felt to play alongside him, for a handful of games, ten years ago.
Carn. They just have to be sure they are covering all bases.:D

But for their last two?

Essendon will beat us by about 80 at Adelaide Oval. Their big issue will come up when they have to play Gold Coast at Metricon, or their clutch round 21 game against St Kilda.
Nice post but you forgot the Benny Hill yakety sax music.

I always feel Sandy Roberts was born to commentate North Melbourne games and that’s all.

"Sets sail for home" was memorable, but that was more thanks to the magic of Peter Matera than Sandy Roberts.

“Gives it away to Benny Brown who says “I’ll have 3 in the first term””.

Classic Sandy.

Nah, that would only be 'Classic Sandy' if it had actually been Waite who kicked the goal.

“Gives it away to Benny Brown who says “I’ll have 3 in the first term””.

Classic Sandy.

Can you prove he didn't say that?

I had another insight into Jack Watts from my mate at the dog park the other night, who’s been away working in NSW so updates have been limited.
So Jack is absolutely loving life at Port, as is Trengove mind you. Reckons the culture at Port Adelaide is like nothing he’s experienced. The inclusiveness and family feel leaves Melbourne’s for dead. “Best decision he’s made”.
In another twist, he’s been telling Jack Watts about his Port fanatic mate at the dog park he has to meet. So he reckons both Jack’s might be coming out to the park this week. Hold me.....

I've never seen a guy so obviously happy to be at a new club. Even in the sanfl his attitude was like I'm playing reserves but I'm still playing for Port Adelaide! How could I complain? :D

Just when you thought the Cyril Rioli hysteria has subsided, the Fox Footy team ask Stuart Dew - in a pregame interview for the Gold Coast match - how it felt to play alongside him, for a handful of games, ten years ago.
What about Bruce on Friday? Daniel Rioli lines up and it's "now for the 500th goal from a Rioli". Cyril Rioli has 275 goals, Daniel 42(including 2 on Friday), Maurice 80, Dean 91 and Willie 11. Total 499. Can't remember what happened with that kick, it otherwise didn't make the distance or was OOF as Daniel scored 2.0 on Friday.
Seems like while there is a Rioli around we won't be able to shut Bruce up.