2018 Draft thread

Hard to make an argument for a priority pick when they traded out arguably their best player last year to rebuild through the draft. Not particularly fussed if they get one though. It will only be end of first round. Nice to see Sloane resign at the Crows, takes one more possible compo pick out of the equation. If Lynch came out in the next few days & stunned us all by resigning with the Suns, well, that'd be just super.

Wouldn't mind be displaced one spot if he signed with us...... ah to dream.

In a direct comparison Cotter, what can Smith bring to the table and do better than Walsh, and vice versa?
I don’t know the players like Cotter does but Smith looks like a beauty to me. He’s super hard at the contest but is still able to cover the ground and use the footy well. I’d be interested to see his endurance test results because, if they are close to elite, I think his game will translate better to the AFL, at least initially.

The one little question mark I have on Walsh is his physicality. I’m not suggesting he is soft at all but Walsh seems to me to win the ball in close through his positioning and game sense rather than beating an opponent one on one. He may struggle around the contest when he first gets to senior level. Smith, on the other hand, looks hungrier for the footy and will climb over blokes to get it. Perhaps the difference might be similar to the difference between Josh Kelly and Joel Selwood. Both elite, just a different way of playing the game.

I’d be really happy with either of them though.

I don’t know the players like Cotter does but Smith looks like a beauty to me. He’s super hard at the contest but is still able to cover the ground and use the footy well. I’d be interested to see his endurance test results because, if they are close to elite, I think his game will translate better to the AFL, at least initially.

The one little question mark I have on Walsh is his physicality. I’m not suggesting he is soft at all but Walsh seems to me to win the ball in close through his positioning and game sense rather than beating an opponent one on one. He may struggle around the contest when he first gets to senior level. Smith, on the other hand, looks hungrier for the footy and will climb over blokes to get it. Perhaps the difference might be similar to the difference between Josh Kelly and Joel Selwood. Both elite, just a different way of playing the game.

At the pre-season US camp for the U18 AFL Academy squad, Smith won the 2km time trial ahead of Walsh. I can not remember the finishing distance between the two, but reports were that it wasn't even close. Something like 50m or 150m.

In a direct comparison Cotter, what can Smith bring to the table and do better than Walsh, and vice versa?

POBT has summed it up pretty well and the Josh Kelly/Joel Selwood comparison apt one.

The handy thing with Smith is his inside/outside ability. He’s a bull on the inside and reads ruck taps well. But he spreads well outside of the contest too. He’s got a some pace about him and he is a nice size.

He’s an elite runner. I’ll be surprised if he doesn’t end up having a very good career. Never seen someone as hungry for it as Smith is. Leadership potential in spades.

POBT has summed it up pretty well and the Josh Kelly/Joel Selwood comparison apt one.

The handy thing with Smith is his inside/outside ability. He’s a bull on the inside and reads ruck taps well. But he spreads well outside of the contest too. He’s got a some pace about him and he is a nice size.

He’s an elite runner. I’ll be surprised if he doesn’t end up having a very good career. Never seen someone as hungry for it as Smith is. Leadership potential in spades.
In the Championships games his kicking did seem a bit haphazard. Is his disposal a possible weakness? Even if so, presumably it is an area that can be improved whereas winning the ball is something that seems to come naturally to him.

Reads like a late arrival for Pick 1 to me, similar to McGrath vs McCluggage. If Carlton pass on Lukosius and go for mids to support Cripps, Smith might be preferred over Walsh.

In the Championships games his kicking did seem a bit haphazard. Is his disposal a possible weakness? Even if so, presumably it is an area that can be improved whereas winning the ball is something that seems to come naturally to him.

I didn’t think his disposal was too bad in the Champs personally. His disposal is generally pretty neat. But he’ll continue tidying it up. More of a pressure thing I think.

Worth noting he played pretty sore at the Champs.

Not specifically on Smith but I reckon the kicking of those inside out “burst”
mids gets a bit too much focus for a few reasons. First, they are often under pressure, off balance or travelling at high speeds when they kick. Second, if they play like that, you probably need to accept that they won’t be superb kicks as they haven’t had the chance to practise and perfect kicking. Finally, the damage is often done by breaking away from the stoppage and getting the ball forward quickly. They can create chaos among defenders simply by putting the boot to the ball before the defence can properly structure up. Perfect disposal inside 50 is great but not completely necessary if your forwards are up and about.

Reads like a late arrival for Pick 1 to me, similar to McGrath vs McCluggage. If Carlton pass on Lukosius and go for mids to support Cripps, Smith might be preferred over Walsh.
Sort of what I have thought all along. Smith is a much better fit at both Carlton or Gold Coast than Walsh. Both clubs need bigger body inside mids.

If the Blues win....may harm their pp? They have played some good footy this year apparently.

This PP that Carlton say they don't want but that everyone thinks the AFL will give them anyway.......surely there wouldn't be any chance that they would get it straight after their first round pick......would there?

Otherwise a nightmare scenario could be:
Pick 1. Carlton
Pick 2 Carlron (PP)
PIck 3 Gold Coast
Pick 4 Gold Coast (Lynch compo)

which would relegate us to Pick 5.

Or even 6 if we happened to finish in front of the Saints.

This PP that Carlton say they don't want but that everyone thinks the AFL will give them anyway.......surely there wouldn't be any chance that they would get it straight after their first round pick......would there?

Otherwise a nightmare scenario could be:
Pick 1. Carlton
Pick 2 Carlron (PP)
PIck 3 Gold Coast
Pick 4 Gold Coast (Lynch compo)

which would relegate us to Pick 5.

Or even 6 if we happened to finish in front of the Saints.
If the Suns lose Tom Lynch they may take one of the King twins which would be good. No way would or should Carlton get another top of first round PP. Surely?

on tlaking footy this week Tom Browne (I know) said that he had asked the AFL and they had confirmed you can only get a priority pick if you request one.

Given Carlton has said they won't request one we could asusme they won't get one. (but its the AFL so assume nothing)

on tlaking footy this week Tom Browne (I know) said that he had asked the AFL and they had confirmed you can only get a priority pick if you request one.

Given Carlton has said they won't request one we could asusme they won't get one. (but its the AFL so assume nothing)

Especially when a strong Carlton is good for footy:rolleyes:

I actually heard this old line trotted out on SEN in the last day or two.

It wouldn't help them. IF they get a PP it would almost certainly be an end of first round pick. In fact on two wins the Saints may even think about requesting one
Saints have had 3 1/2 wins and they were on the edge of the 8 last year.
So they don’t stand a chance of a PP.

Smith's kicking skills are a lot better as well.....
Especially when a strong Carlton is good for footy:rolleyes:

I actually heard this old line trotted out on SEN in the last day ot two.
They've stuffed their rebuild. Gibbs, Henderson and Toohey they let go to do it and just to add they stuffed up by letting go of Waite, Betts and Garlett. Throw those 6 in and they would be heaps better then they are so they can have sufferance.

Smith's kicking skills are a lot better as well.....

They've stuffed their rebuild. Gibbs, Henderson and Toohey they let go to do it and just to add they stuffed up by letting go of Waite, Betts and Garlett. Throw those 6 in and they would be heaps better then they are so they can have sufferance.
they let some Robinson guy walk for nothing as well.

2018 Draft thread