Rumour GFC 2018 Player Trading, Drafting, FA, Rumours, and Wish lists - PT4

As for Geelong's tough words.... every club talks this way before doing trades that never quite satisfy both sets of supporter bases, so prepare a little.... I know he's contracted but that's the new normal.

Freo have to spend big (picks) to get Hogan and Lobb. They aren't going to have enough left over to spend on a player who doesn't want to go there and who has a manager that publicly insulted them.

They will have 5 6 and next years R1 at a minimum maybe more...they can easily get it done.

I THINK WE WILL REGRET NOT TRADING WITH SYDNEY FOR 13 , WE WILL HAVE TO ACCEPT 20/22 THAT WILL BE A BIG STUFF UP
Considering WE don't actually have those picks, WE don't regret anything

Those picks belong to WCE, and it may be them who regret not dealing with Sydney to swap those picks if they fail to offer a sufficient trade before next Wednesday

I THINK WE WILL REGRET NOT TRADING WITH SYDNEY FOR 13 , WE WILL HAVE TO ACCEPT 20/22 THAT WILL BE A BIG STUFF UP

There is no confirmation that the eagles have even offered picks 20 and 22. I believe (and its just a hunch) the silence in the last 48 hours is because the cats are trying to convince an eagles player to return to Victoria. Hopefully Liam Duggan.

How could you possibly know it'll be a stuff up before the players have even been drafted? What makes you think the player at pick 13 will definitely be better than one of, or both players selected at picks 20 and 22? We have two cracks at it with those early 20's picks. They aren't speculative picks in the 40's or 50's. The draft is really even and strong between picks 10 and 30. We've had a lot of success with picks in 20's over the years.

Having three picks within the top 22 is far from a big stuff up IMO. Those two early 20's picks give us two opportunities to pick up a good player, and with any luck, two good players. If it were a top 5 pick, I could see your point, but pick 13 not so much IMO.

How could you possibly know it'll be a stuff up before the players have even been drafted? What makes you think the player at pick 13 will definitely be better than one of, or both players selected at picks 20 and 22? We have two cracks at it with those early 20's picks. They aren't speculative picks in the 40's or 50's. The draft is really even and strong between picks 10 and 30. We've had a lot of success with picks in 20's over the years.

Having three picks within the top 22 is far from a big stuff up IMO. Those two early 20's picks give us two opportunities to pick up a good player, and with any luck, two good players. If it were a top 5 pick, I could see your point, but pick 13 not so much IMO.

The thing about selections in that 20 something range ... they almost always are earlier than that to the club. Most if not all clubs have their own list order.. ..id say by the time it gets to 15-20 .. clubs have player identified at 10-15 that have slipped thru... we all suspect.. that well ..is the classic Fleetwood Mac recruiter .. he goes his own way ... and would it surprise anyone that he identifies someone worth 10 and gets him at 20. (for good or bad)
So we all just have to let it pan out.. just like last year ... the Ablett deal panned out after the draft when we saw who we got. If we got Williams and XOH .. id certainly be happy with those two.. whether it was 13 and 14 or 20 and 22

Josh Kelly mark 2, incredible mover and silky smooth but cant help to think he is one wrong twist or turn away from blowing out a knee, some of those turns are on a dime and would put real pressure on his body.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app
That’s what you see when you watch his highlights? He twists and turns so well he’s a chance of blowing out a knee. Be careful crossing the road today, ya never know.

Did i say that? I said the way he plays would put big pressure on his body and that it only takes one wrong step and he could blowout a knee, not that he will. Its different playing against TAC cup pressure but when an AFL player hits you at full force while your spinning and turning its a completely different kind of thing. The guy looks incredible though and not sure why he isnt touted as number 1 even though everyone is saying he is the most talented in the draft...does he have a reputation or something that has lowered his draft number?

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yeah, I get a similar vibe. I think the club may not be taking too kindly to the Eagles being in Kelly's ear all year.

I reckon the Eagles/Kelly may have been banking on "soft Geelong" to roll over on compassionate grounds.

Nobody likes to have their generosity taken for granted.

I’d say certain unwritten rules were bent or broken.

One that most clubs would be following is don’t target players straight after they’ve been drafted by another club. It’s okay to keep an eye on them with the plan to lure them after a while, but don’t f*ck around with the planning and investment that teams put into players.

Plus the whole furphy of ‘homesick’ has been blown out of the water, as he’s only wanting one club. So it’s actually a situation where the club is very cynical about the whole situation. Lack of trust in the players original plea to go home and disappointment that another club has actively lured him in his first year.

It’s these type of rules that allow players such as Ball to be passed on by clubs so he could get to Collingwood. Even if he put a low price on his head, teams respect each other to not stuff other teams up.

Players can play silly games, but clubs are bigger than that and will be around a lot longer than players.

There is a lot of understanding about things outside of your control - I doubt the Cats hold anything against the Suns for luring Ablett, that was a sanctioned move.

Conversely, I’m sure the GWS were not impressed that the Swans stole Buddy. And other clubs got pretty annoyed about that too and ended the COLA for them.

Do suitors have to offer his father a high paying job as a talent scout? Wasn't that the deal when he went to GWS? Nice way to circumvent the salary cap.
I read on the rumours board that Tom Lynch’s sister plays for the Richmond AFLW team (which has uncapped salaries) and bought an expensive home in South Yarra.

And don’t even start about the development opportunities and partnerships the Cats players get around Geelong...

Especially if Freo get Hogan and Lobb and start to improve a little, they may be a more attractive proposition next year, and willing to offer a lot more. A lot can change in 12 months of football. Buckley was going to be sacked this time last year and didn't Robert Walls have WC getting the spoon or something ridiculous like that?

Who knows, if van der Wielen can't get this deal done this year, TK may have a new manager as well. ;)
The first part is what makes me laugh. Rory Lobb and Jesse Hogan are more established players than Kelly and arguably better due to consistency. Yet, you see them with a strong interest in moving to Freo. You don’t see them whining to their Managers that Freo is a ‘bad place’...

Jeremy finlayson is one that I would be interested in if you could get him in that 35-40 range.

Not world breaking either way just the type of player I would like to take a stab at. Really damaging penetrating kick good height mobile. Never have enough blokes that kick the footy 60m plus

Yep, would love to try and work Finlayson into the Kelly deal but not sure how that would work

Freo have to spend big (picks) to get Hogan and Lobb. They aren't going to have enough left over to spend on a player who doesn't want to go there and who has a manager that publicly insulted them.
I don't reckon Hogan will leave the Dees.
Pretty sure I heard on radio that Lobb is likely to be traded for a second round pick.
Make of that what you will.

Beams to Collingwood now getting mentioned... a lot of players in the market... that would normally draw these big picks. Does 18 get it done for Beams as a 28 yo player. id think it would need more.. but there really is not many clubs left to trade out to get picks.
28yo, 2 years left on his deal and the Pies just lost a GF.
Eerily similar to Gibbs.

2 firsts should be what they should ask for.

I’d say certain unwritten rules were bent or broken.

One that most clubs would be following is don’t target players straight after they’ve been drafted by another club. It’s okay to keep an eye on them with the plan to lure them after a while, but don’t f*ck around with the planning and investment that teams put into players.

Plus the whole furphy of ‘homesick’ has been blown out of the water, as he’s only wanting one club. So it’s actually a situation where the club is very cynical about the whole situation. Lack of trust in the players original plea to go home and disappointment that another club has actively lured him in his first year.

It’s these type of rules that allow players such as Ball to be passed on by clubs so he could get to Collingwood. Even if he put a low price on his head, teams respect each other to not stuff other teams up.

Players can play silly games, but clubs are bigger than that and will be around a lot longer than players.

There is a lot of understanding about things outside of your control - I doubt the Cats hold anything against the Suns for luring Ablett, that was a sanctioned move.

Conversely, I’m sure the GWS were not impressed that the Swans stole Buddy. And other clubs got pretty annoyed about that too and ended the COLA for them.
Bang. Spot on analysis.

I hope the Cats nail the Eagles and Kelly's manager to a tree by their balls.

The consensus from all of the list managers on trade radio seems to be: the top 10-12 in this draft is amazing, after that it’s a lottery. It’s looking increasingly unlikely we’ll get that top 10 pick.

Cats fans have been asking for the club to take a harder approach to trading. Well sit tight because this is what it looks like. I’m in favour but anxious to get the deal done. I won’t be keen to have Kelly at Geelong next year. The Eagles have currency the ball is in their court to get it done.

The longer it drags on the more likely geelong won’t have time to get any other deals done. Which I don’t mind hopefully we can hit the draft with some good picks.

Cats fans have been asking for the club to take a harder approach to trading. Well sit tight because this is what it looks like. I’m in favour but anxious to get the deal done. I won’t be keen to have Kelly at Geelong next year. The Eagles have currency the ball is in their court to get it done.

The longer it drags on the more likely geelong won’t have time to get any other deals done. Which I don’t mind hopefully we can hit the draft with some good picks.
We've got all our deals done though. Linc was off before the other boys because Brisbane needed him asap to get Neale.

The boys who might be traded aren't pivotal to the Kelly trade

I’m not concerned. Weagles are the ones that need to make this work. They are the one that have given Kelly the assurances, the offer - we have the contract in place. I’m sure that there is a lot going on behind the scenes - Wells rarely or never gives a public commentary of his negotiations. Just be patient.