News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)

• Thread starter Thread starter BoomerRoo

I know you are all ardent North fans and want what is best for the club but an on mass cancelation of your memberships only weakens the club.

Trying to generate extra funds is obviously important. How they go about that, how they communicate etc are certainly up for criticism, but some of you seem to leave in fantasy land about North Melbourne.

We do this to survive.

Without increasing revenue North will die, or be relocated to Tassie where we will play 11 home games there.

Which would you prefer?
The club has reduced its debt to virtually nothing with the deal they had with three games... while having zero Pokie revenue. Recently the deal at Etihad (Marvel) got better. Reducing the content to Melbourne based members, making us feel 2nd rate and taken for granted has a tipping point. If there was no negative reaction via people voting with their feet (and their cash) I feel that the club could rightfully say something like “ despite some angry phone calls, and a bit of push back on big footy, our retention rate of our Melbourne reserved seat holders remained strong, thus we have a mandate to move just one more game to our Hobart fortress, cementing ourselves as the main team for all Tasmanian’s”

I'm guessing it's in retaliation for what they perceive as lack of respect towards them by the club.

(I'm not saying right or wrong, just playing amateur psychologist/publicist)

Sure. And I get people are angry.

But i think other ways of voicing disapproval might be better.

North lives on the edge. It’s a fact.

Canceling your membership, only brings the club closer to what you are protesting against.

Sure. And I get people are angry.

But i think other ways of voicing disapproval might be better.

North lives on the edge. It’s a fact.

Canceling your membership, only brings the club closer to what you are protesting against.

This has an air of 'shut up and buy a membership'.

The club has taken reserved seat holders for granted since this venture to Tassie started. Replacement games are for the tip. Especially when it costs you further to 'reserve' a seat on top of already paying for your membership.

Enough is enough.

This has an air of 'shut up and buy a membership'.

The club has taken reserved seat holders for granted since this venture to Tassie started. Replacement games are for the tip. Especially when it costs you further to 'reserve' a seat on top of already paying for your membership.

Enough is enough.
Yes TPA.... it’s taken a long time.... but I’m with you brother.

Out. Of. Touch.

Enough with the personal attacks and abuse, please.

Of 700 interactions with the Hobart 4th game post on Facebook, 611 were positive as of this morning. The membership department's feedback re response from members has been overwhelmingly positive too. Emails coming in are majority supportive of the move as well as calls. Yeah, some are negative, but there's way more of the other, by a long way. We've been keeping tabs on it all and there are no alarm bells.

We were prepared for some membership angst, but have been pleasantly surprised because most people understand the need for us to grow. Most people can do the math and see that in 2008 we had approx 34k members ... today we have 41k ... minus 7k Tassie members and we have 34k ... back to where we were a decade ago despite some heavy lifting and hard work.

So how do we grow?

The truth is, we have somewhat stagnated in Victoria and needed to develop a long term, sustainable strategy, identifying three markets for growth; North Melbourne/Victoria, Wyndham and Tas.

Membership growth, a massive financial boost beyond anything we could achieve at home, and more wins for the footy dept all came from the opportunity in Tas and are all going to help us to win more and hopefully bring home another flag.

If we didn't do this Tassie deal, where do you think we'd be right now? Yep, at the behest of the AFL again, just like in 2007. We aren't strong enough or big enough to operate solely in Victoria. I get the angst about reserve seats and we are genuinely trying to find a solution that fixes it. I get the angst about us being effectively semi relocated because of 4 'home' games away, but if we are, so too is Hawthorn.

So what would you have us do? I've read every post on this thread so far and have not seen a solution or anything that comes even close. I've seen suggestions that simply won't work or ones that have been tried and have failed, and I've seen some other ideas which are fanciful.

If we win 4 games in Tassie in 2019 and it helps us play finals, would you be happy with that? Would you buy a ticket if we made a prelim again? Would you do everything in your power to secure a GF seat if we made it? You might laugh at this proposition, but the club is thinking this way. 4 wins in Tassie this year would have seen us in the finals.

But we all know there are other benefits to the deal too - those don't need to be mentioned other than to say they help us stay competitive off the field with the rest of the comp, and allow us to remain an attractive club for FAs and other players.

Over the past 10 years I've done my best to embrace BF and offer insights and information where it's not readily available and in that time, I have met some fantastic fans and amazing, loyal, people.

But as of today, I'm done with BF because sadly, it has become a waste of time full of people I don't care to spend energy on. Those people make more stuff up on here than the Daily Mail and run their mouths off about things that simply aren't true - destroying reputations in their wake. They abuse people and criticise - constantly and can never be pleased. It's actually quite sad. Instead of messaging me and asking "Why was Glenn Archer quoted and how did that come about?" they conclude that it was a clumsy PR strategy and attack me and my team. You really don't deserve my time, or anyone else's.

To those who have sent me messages of support (as recently as today) and thanked me for trying to explain things from the club POV since 2008 - I really respect you and hope to see you around. You are good North people who know how to support a club. Anyone who wants to stay in touch, my email is heath.oloughlin@nmfc.com.au and you can reach me there.

This account will now be deleted.

Heath

They could of got anyone, but they decided to use the same guy the AFL planned to run their relocation rhetoric through in the first place?

Then our own clubs rolls him out, talking about a very very similar issue to try and grease the wheels?

You've got to be kidding me.....
It is like a gigantic joke at this point.

Probably for the best.

I loved your work on the Players Podcast, by the way. One of the better fan-engagement innovations I have seen at AFL level in some time.

The players were more open, and honest, and downright likeable, than I could have predicted. Every episode was enjoyable to listen to.

You did a terrific job putting those podcasts together.

But this issue about Tasmania, you and the rest of the club are poking a hornets nest by posting utter nonsense here.

We can't enact a guaranteed minimum number of Melbourne home games because of a hypothetical one-off cash-cow game in China?

I still can't believe somebody from the club actually posted that here. I almost want to pretend I never saw it.

It would almost be kind of okay if North had put their hands up to, you know, replace the Gold Coast who have said they won't play in China any more.

Did the club do that? There's an empty spot open right now for your hypothetical scenario. So, if you don't put your hands up for that...

Of 700 interactions with the Hobart 4th game post on Facebook, 611 were positive as of this morning. The membership department's feedback re response from members has been overwhelmingly positive too. Emails coming in are majority supportive of the move as well as calls. Yeah, some are negative, but there's way more of the other, by a long way. We've been keeping tabs on it all and there are no alarm bells.

We were prepared for some membership angst, but have been pleasantly surprised because most people understand the need for us to grow. Most people can do the math and see that in 2008 we had approx 34k members ... today we have 41k ... minus 7k Tassie members and we have 34k ... back to where we were a decade ago despite some heavy lifting and hard work.

So how do we grow?

The truth is, we have somewhat stagnated in Victoria and needed to develop a long term, sustainable strategy, identifying three markets for growth; North Melbourne/Victoria, Wyndham and Tas.

Membership growth, a massive financial boost beyond anything we could achieve at home, and more wins for the footy dept all came from the opportunity in Tas and are all going to help us to win more and hopefully bring home another flag.

If we didn't do this Tassie deal, where do you think we'd be right now? Yep, at the behest of the AFL again, just like in 2007. We aren't strong enough or big enough to operate solely in Victoria. I get the angst about reserve seats and we are genuinely trying to find a solution that fixes it. I get the angst about us being effectively semi relocated because of 4 'home' games away, but if we are, so too is Hawthorn.

So what would you have us do? I've read every post on this thread so far and have not seen a solution or anything that comes even close. I've seen suggestions that simply won't work or ones that have been tried and have failed, and I've seen some other ideas which are fanciful.

If we win 4 games in Tassie in 2019 and it helps us play finals, would you be happy with that? Would you buy a ticket if we made a prelim again? Would you do everything in your power to secure a GF seat if we made it? You might laugh at this proposition, but the club is thinking this way. 4 wins in Tassie this year would have seen us in the finals.

But we all know there are other benefits to the deal too - those don't need to be mentioned other than to say they help us stay competitive off the field with the rest of the comp, and allow us to remain an attractive club for FAs and other players.

Over the past 10 years I've done my best to embrace BF and offer insights and information where it's not readily available and in that time, I have met some fantastic fans and amazing, loyal, people.

But as of today, I'm done with BF because sadly, it has become a waste of time full of people I don't care to spend energy on. Those people make more stuff up on here than the Daily Mail and run their mouths off about things that simply aren't true - destroying reputations in their wake. They abuse people and criticise - constantly and can never be pleased. It's actually quite sad. Instead of messaging me and asking "Why was Glenn Archer quoted and how did that come about?" they conclude that it was a clumsy PR strategy and attack me and my team. You really don't deserve my time, or anyone else's.

To those who have sent me messages of support (as recently as today) and thanked me for trying to explain things from the club POV since 2008 - I really respect you and hope to see you around. You are good North people who know how to support a club. Anyone who wants to stay in touch, my email is heath.oloughlin@nmfc.com.au and you can reach me there.

Heath
Sorry to see you leave this place.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

So how do we grow?

Heath
Really, really sorry to hear that Heath. Personally I think your input has been great & always illuminating/reassuring. I, for one, am happy to trust the club on this one & hopefully it leads us to what we all want to see.

I know you are all ardent North fans and want what is best for the club but an on mass cancelation of your memberships only weakens the club.

Trying to generate extra funds is obviously important. How they go about that, how they communicate etc are certainly up for criticism, but some of you seem to leave in fantasy land about North Melbourne.

We do this to survive.

Without increasing revenue North will die, or be relocated to Tassie where we will play 11 home games there.

Which would you prefer?

You present this as an either or option when the reality is that there are options available to them to play more games in Tasmania and not give the middle finger to their core of reserved seat members. I don't accept that the way they have conducted themselves is the only option for survival.

Are you referring to this deal as in 3 games or the additional game? They are not the same argument. I couldn't care less what Hawthorn do and frankly using them as your baseline - except for the purposes of actually winning Grand Finals - is pointless. They play games at a completely different venue to us in Victoria to start with.

Heath

I don't think anyone wants you to bail on Bigfooty Heath but the reality is that your customers have been complaining about replacement games since year 1 of these arrangements - blaming them for being upset and explaining that the club is trying to sort this out runs a little thin after this amount of time. This whole thing is clumsy PR, whether the club wants to admit that or not. There were ways to get people on board by showing value for the Melbourne base at the same time.

So how do we grow?

Heath
Yeah righto, the person i spoke to today from the club said the club has had heaps of ppl that live in tassie, wanting to join up, is that where all the postive feed back is coming from. Cant wait to add Tasmania to our name, you know we have to include them.

The writing was always on the wall tbh. Hawks have had the 4 games and it was only a matter of time until the board trod out the line of "well the hawks do it so it's not that bad!"

It would be a lot more palatable if there were assurances in writing that this shit isn't going to change to more than 4 - it's already on the edge. 1 more game and there will probably be placards down at Arden street with members spitting venom.

There needs to be more certainty around what the club is doing with the seating, what the club is doing to make this decrease from 4. We want 11 in Melbourne and this promise of the new stadium deal etc. doesn't lead me to believe that (best case scenario) we would reduce the amount of games in Tassie. I'm as optimistic as they come but even I can't help but feel like we are slowly being desensitised to a North/tassie type split like the AFLW team - the AFLW jumper, the increased games, the academy.

We are the heart and soul of this club and I'd hate to be sold off with people saying "so what we can replace them with more Tassie supporters.

That Glenn Archer statement is some of the clumsiest PR work I've seen. In fact, it's so transparently manipulative that it's almost insulting.

It's actually staggering that a media/PR team that is usually the best in the business could make that move.
It really is pathetic and one that has left me scratching my head. It comes off like:

Heath walks into Carl's office.
Heath: Carl bigfooty is melting over the tassie stuff. Can you say a few words?
Carl: Sure.
Heath: doesn't look like it worked.
Carl: let's get Archer to say something.

Shit will hey if Archer said so...pack it up folks it's all okay!

Yeah righto, the person i spoke to today from the club said the club has had heaps of ppl that live in tassie, wanting to join up, is that where all the postive feed back is coming from. Cant wait to add Tasmania to our name, you know we have to include them.
Making it worse making it worse...

I spoke to the membership dept earlier today and was surprised to hear that we don't need a constitutional amendment like Limerick has suggested as 'it's already in place'.

Hi GF, did they explain how "it's already in place"?

So how do we grow?

Heath

It wasn't a personal attack on your team.

It was an observation insofar that supporters should support the decision to play another game down in Tassie because it will help on field and enable growth. If it takes us playing more games down in Tassie to win games of footy, we're in a world of hurt. I am astounded that the club feels this is a viable scenario.

The aim shouldn't be just making finals. It should be winning flags. Something we haven't done for 20 years.

The reserved seat replacement issue has existed for seven years. I'd be interested to know what has taken so long to try and rectify it and what has been attempted in order to do so.

You present this as an either or option when the reality is that there are options available to them to play more games in Tasmania and not give the middle finger to their core of reserved seat members. I don't accept that the way they have conducted themselves is the only option for survival.

No, I’ve specifically stated that the manner in which this occurred, the future narrative by the club, and the fact that we reserved seat members haven’t been looked after well enough on this issue.

But the FACT is that we are doing what is needed to survive.

The FACT is I pay for level 2 reserved seats.

The FACT is that if we all cancel our memberships the club will die.

In regards to the number of home games played interstate? That's not accurate. As far as I'm aware,there is no provision whatsoever of a limit on the number of home games that can be played outside of our home state. So long as our home base is at Arden Street, the board can agree to home games in Antarctica without any member input if they see fit. The constitution refers to a relocation proposal only:

The NMFC Constitution states;
“Relocation Proposal” means any actual or proposed contract, arrangement or
understanding the purpose or outcome of which will result in or require the Club to
relocate from its Melbourne base to a location outside of the State of Victoria.

Limerick

Am I correct with this

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

That is my understanding. Only Merger and Relocation are covered by our Constitution. Technically I believe thar the Board could agree to play all home games outside of Victoria without any input from its members provided that they maintained Arden St. the definition of "Melbourne base" perhaps could be challenged if this was ever contemplated.

It wasn't a personal attack on your team.

It was an observation insofar that supporters should support the decision to play another game down in Tassie because it will help on field and enable growth. If it takes us playing more games down in Tassie to win games of footy, we're in a world of hurt. I am astounded that the club feels this is a viable scenario.

The aim shouldn't be making finals. It should be winning flags. Something we haven't done for 20 years.

Late to the thread so missed a lot of posts, but to be fair I'm pretty sure our Tasmanian win rate is one of the highest 'home ground' win rates in the league. Not saying this justifies the decision, but I suspect that if certain other clubs were in our on/off field position they would be heavily swayed by that factoid too.

Also, just for the record, I went to the bulldogs home game (replacement game) in the middle of the year. As the vfl was on before hand I was willing to pay for an upgrade of my replacement game entry to sit on level 2.

To my surprise I was told I could upgrade my free entry to level 2 reserved seat for free.

No, I’ve specifically stated that the manner in which this occurred, the future narrative by the club, and the fact that we reserved seat members haven’t been looked after well enough on this issue.

But the FACT is that we are doing what is needed to survive.

The FACT is I pay for level 2 reserved seats.

Agree. Also. The FACT is that the club should also be cognisant of the latter in particular. I'm not cancelling my memberships but this isn't and shouldn't be a pissing contest. If even one supporter cancels reserved seat memberships because of how poorly this has been handled I think that is a failure.

To my surprise I was told I could upgrade my free entry to level 2 reserved seat for free.

Something that I can't understand is that difficult to implement for all "replacement" games assuming the club is smart enough and organised enough to ensure that it gets the right matches. I personally don't think they should be requesting Hobart games in the fixture without having some sort of control over the replacements.

Or could it result in assurances being made that there will NEVER be more than 4 home games played interstate, could it result in more forthright and transparent communication with its members, especially those that are reserved seat holders.
I swear that if I was assured that 4 was it, and no more forever. If at least 2 of the replacement games were held at the MCG every year, if the 2 games at Marvel had some form of like for like seating, I would renew all 6!
However none of that will happen... unless there is a groundswell of discontentment to the point of action.

Heath O’Loughlin would be the last person around here I’d expect to rage quit.

I hope he reconsiders but supporters do have every right to feel frustrated/angry on a number of fronts regarding tassie.

I support it to an extent. My gripe mainly has been reserved seat pricing over the years. Basically we’re been getting ripped off and anyone can view what our club charges for 8 games (soon to be 7) vs what other clubs charge on the various membership club sites.

The club has tackled its debt problems, it makes good money playing in Tassie and yet continues to take advantage of its loyal Melbourne based members by squeezing out every dollar they can get.

It’s not right.

Heath O’Loughlin would be the last person around here I’d expect to rage quit.

I hope he reconsiders but supporters do have every right to feel frustrated/angry on a number of fronts regarding tassie.

I support it to an extent. My gripe mainly has been reserved seat pricing over the years. Basically we’re getting ripped off and anyone can view what our club charges for 8 games (soon to be 7) vs what other clubs charge on the various membership club sites.

The club has tackled its debt problems, it makes good money playing in Tassie and yet continues to take advantage of its loyal Melbourne based members by squeezing out every dollar they can get.

It’s not right.

Surely at some point there's a valid question about whether we'd have more reserved seat members if the value was in line with other teams?

Edit: As in is it better to have 2500 reserved seat members paying $750 pa or 3500 paying $535... Whether that is possible, I don't know, but economic theory tells us that increasing the price generally speaking does not increase the attractiveness of a product. Especially when the product is shrinking at the same time.