JLT2 2019 - Hawthorn v Richmond, UTAS Stadium 7:10pm AEDT 9 March 2019

• Thread starter Thread starter Millsie69

So you don't even understand why your comments were sexist? If that was a male umpire, I have no doubt you would have said something along the lines of being demoted to the VFL, but because it was a female, the first card you use is the AFLW.
It was a throw away comment, spare us the moral lesson

Surely not having Sicily intercepting for most of the second half deserves a mention too. Not convinced O'Meara wasn't rested for a fair bit of the third either.
People on here are reading too much into our change of structures in the second half. We had almost the same set up as the first. Tigers were taking the piss then they turned up the heat on us which we couldn’t and won’t cope with all year. Sorry I’m not trying to be pessimistic, the reality is we are nowhere near the top echelon of teams atm. Harry Morrison playing in our best 22 for 20 weeks tells us all we need to know, good clean player who is smart user with space but not best 22 material and we’re still toying with the idea of maybe, just maybe Mirra and timid are solid afl footballers but 17 other clubs would beg to differ. I wasn’t impressed as much as others but hey, that’s just me, a pleb.

Sadly, no.
In the second half Richmond got serious, put on the pressure and we just went to water. Couldn’t cope.

Admittedly we shuffled the magnets around a bit at half time but that’s no excuse for the poor defence and hopeless movement into the forward line and getting monstered in the midfield. Smith marking in the goal square and playing on for a point was a lowlight amongst many. Stratton was totally ineffectual. And our kicking skills under pressure were hopeless.

But it was only a preseason run in the park and not a game we can take too seriously despite the easy 8 goal turnaround. What annoys me was that the half time comments from the Richmond rooms indicated they thought they’d win the game after they made a few adjustments to their game plan.

Thanks mate, it appeared that they were at full strength and we were missing a few of our best.

I wonder how much of a part that played, as well as the tinkering of the side.

I've also noticed a couple of post in relation to Mirra and O'Brien having average games and looking at the game stats in also appears that Stratton possibly had one himself.

It happens and once again it may come down to the tinkering again.

I'm lost as to why Smith took the shot in that fashion, thought he would have learned his lesson by now, but he definitely has the runs on the board so can't hold it against him.

Perhaps he was trying to pull of something fancy to fire the boys up perhaps.

It's only a JLT game so will definitely reserve my judgment, for when the real thing starts and there seems to be plenty of positive things for us to be happy with.

I was really hoping that we would get the win though, so that I could give the tugger supporters at work a little banter.

Can't wait to play them when we're full strength though.

i think you need to be more observant.
People were saying the same thing in pre season game against cats , 50 points up then just won by a kick after the siren but apparently clarko was ‘trying ‘ things in the 2nd half!! Let’s be real. You are what you are.

TOB and Mirra coming on was the ball game. List cloggers, both of em.

Main positive was Roughy. If he’s going to play like that this season, then bloody fantastic.

They seriously lifted in the 2nd half. Cotchin scintillating in the last quarter. They’re a serious footy side. We’re 4-5 seasoned players short to be able to mix it with the big boys.

Don’t know what to expect r1. Will be heart in mouth stuff early this season for mine.

People on here are reading too much into our change of structures in the second half. We had almost the same set up as the first. Tigers were taking the piss then they turned up the heat on us which we couldn’t and won’t cope with all year. Sorry I’m not trying to be pessimistic, the reality is we are nowhere near the top echelon of teams atm. Harry Morrison playing in our best 22 for 20 weeks tells us all we need to know, good clean player who is smart user with space but not best 22 material and we’re still toying with the idea of maybe, just maybe Mirra and timid are solid afl footballers but 17 other clubs would beg to differ. I wasn’t impressed as much as others but hey, that’s just me, a pleb.

So.... if we finish where most MSM predict us to finish, do you see anything tonight that gives you encouragement looking forward of 2020 plus

Not sure why people are getting so filthy about a loss in the JLT, which effectively means bugger all.

Let's just cool our jets and wait for the real thing to kick off and see where we're at.

Richmond a few years ago would hav played a few Morrison’s to build into the top echelon team you see now

We kept rance busy for most of the game, which is taking something away from Richmond
Any one would have taken a close loss before this game

So.... if we finish where most MSM predict us to finish, do you see anything tonight that gives you encouragement looking forward of 2020 plus
You wouldn’t want tob , Mirra, Frawley in our squad let alone in our backline going frwd. I do like what Worpel and Cousins bring to the table. Not sure on Lewis, Ollie or Moore but I’m not prepared to put a line across them as they do show glimpses. Smith and Breust have always worried me in important moments especially now that they’re don’t have giant shadow of hodge, Mitchell , lake , Lewis , gibbo, Cyril type legends of the game to ride shot gun off!!! O’Meara is a beast and thank God we still have Gunner and Wingard to come back or else it was gonna be a loooong frustrating season.

I wasn't able to watch the match tonight, though, I wouldn't be too concerned about quiet performances from players like Stratton & Hardwick - both have runs on the board. Moreover, guys like Morrison and Moore, whom apparently had quieter evening, too, I believe just need a bit of continuity; after all, 1 intra-club, 1 practice game (v Carlton) and 2 JLT games is just the beginning of a whole year of footy.

Scrimshaw ran out of gas needs have an impact the whole game liked what i saw but faded badly. We need more players running through the middle. Sic rested just after half time. Worps at 3qtr time.

Richmond had vlaustin sit down around the same time as sic and martin not show up after 3 qtr time.

A lot to like and a lot to work on. Have to say breusts kicking was diabolical. He is class act and i know he will be better when the season starts.

Our starting midfield can match it with anyone our supporting cast not so much. Morrison has been dissapointing needs to lift. We have players like scrimshaw and hanrahan that arent fit enough to play out an entire game. They look good early but fade badly. Hopefully the season builds their fitness.

All in all great hitout against quality opposition we should welcome back gunners for round 1

Richmond a few years ago would hav played a few Morrison’s to build into the top echelon team you see now

We kept rance busy for most of the game, which is taking something away from Richmond
Any one would have taken a close loss before this game

Well keeping Rance busy for most of the game wouldn't have been hard, just give the flog a mirror and a tube of lube.

Didn't the Big Rough kick a bag though?
Yep, kicked 5. His miss was a simple one though. So were, at least, two of Breust's . Isaac just had a brain fart because he wanted to avoid a set shot (from edge of the square).

I have no doubt Tigers stepped up the intensity in the second half, but if we'd kept our structures from the first half in place and both sides didn't have the 4 extra players, I think we'd have done better at holding our lead. I think a player like Sicily that can take an intercept mark and stop the ball hitting the ground is crucial against a team that plays like Richmond does (at least Richmond without Lynch).

Also, if you look at Richmond's outs versus ours for that game, the quality we still have to come back is at least as good, despite their ins including Lynch and Caddy. Wingard, Scully, Gunston, Birchall is a handy foursome. I also disagree Morrison in our best 22 is a sign of our lack of depth. He's not in our 10 best players - not even close - but if you compare him to the last 4 picked in any top 8 team's best 22 I think he stacks up ok. Mirra, I'd concede is a sign of our lack of depth in defense, but he was hardly a lock last year, playing only 7 games, and with Brand and O'Brien being decent in Box Hill's finals run last year, Birchall hopefully returning, and Scrimshaw tracking ok, I doubt it will be any easier for him this year (irrespective of TOB getting a bath tonight).

A best case personnel swap for later in the season from tonight would probably look something like this (given we have to drop 4 players from the 26 anyway):
Out: Mirra, O'Brien, Hanrahan, Henderson (unlucky but Scully needs to replace someone), Lewis, Moore, Scrimshaw (currently Birchall still easily gets a game ahead of him if 100% fit, but hopefully gets some games in early), and one other player I can't decide on (Brand if we don't need two tall defenders, perhaps Nash, as it seems like both Cousins and Worpel will need to play)
In: Wingard, Scully, Birchall, Gunston

I think if you merge the first half with the changes still to come, we've got a list that will go closer to top 8 than I'd have thought when Mitchell broke his leg during pre-season. Midfield class depth and depth in quality KPDs seems to be the biggest factors likely to hold us back.

Scrimshaw ran out of gas needs have an impact the whole game liked what i saw but faded badly. We need more players running through the middle. Sic rested just after half time. Worps at 3qtr time.

Richmond had vlaustin sit down around the same time as sic and martin not show up after 3 qtr time.

A lot to like and a lot to work on. Have to say breusts kicking was diabolical. He is class act and i know he will be better when the season starts.

Our starting midfield can match it with anyone our supporting cast not so much. Morrison has been dissapointing needs to lift. We have players like scrimshaw and hanrahan that arent fit enough to play out an entire game. They look good early but fade badly. Hopefully the season builds their fitness.

All in all great hitout against quality opposition we should welcome back gunners for round 1

Love Breust but he misses his fair share of sodas from right in front of goal for a 'good kick'

TOB plays out of the goalsquare at FF in this weeks intraclub and kicks 5 or GAGF

Cuz played great but blew up like a pufferfish in the last quarter at one stage pulling in the big ones when taking a free. JOM and Worps who had great games being taken out of the square for a lot of the 2nd half put the blowtorch on him and he faded understandably

Happy with Lewis' and Ollie's showings have optimism they can do more, and Scrim showed what he can do much to work with very exciting if he comes on strong

Just watching the highlights, the crowd sounded quite bias towards Richmond - are we getting out-supported in Tassie now, or are Hawthorn fans incredibly tame?

1552133156779.png

"Oh, Dick, what a delightful mark from young Mitchell Lewis. Did you see that?"

"I did, indeed, Kitty. Very pleasurable."

When the Tigers turned up the intensity we couldn’t keep up. We completely ran out of gas.

Smiths brain dead decision was very costly when we needed a goal against the flow.

I love the Mirra story and all but jeepers we need to find an alternative.

Tigers will be a top 4 side. We are a 6th-12th side.

Can’t wait until we see Scully and Wingard in our colours.