Autopsy 2019 Rd 1 vs Richmond - Improved Blues go down by 33 points

Which players did you like the look of in Round 1?

Prediction, Setterfield (I assume he is still eligibe with only three games under his belt) and Walsh to go down to the wire for Rising star this year. He sort of flew under the radar with all the hype around Walsh but looks like we have a cracker here.

"Brendan Bolton’s Carlton needs 6-8 wins for him to survive the season.

Bolton comes across as regimented and bland. I’m not sure he is the right man long term for a demanding club like Carlton. Both in and out of the box he struggles more than any other coach."

I agree with this assessment, and we got off to a very bad start this year. Looking forward to a better effort against Port next week.
What a nonsense. How the hell would you know what he is like.

I thought our defence started to show some continuity. Won’t get much tougher than last night. Weitering was very good for
Weitering was good last night backed himself and I was very happy to see him take a step fwd in the strength department. It’s clear to see with McKay , Weitering and Charlie that their body shapes have changed and their trusting themselves in the contest and so they should they’re not 18 anymore their time is now.
Newman and simmo were great and but I’d like Plowman to go for his marks more. Garlett is like a headless chook in defence and nine disposals a defence runner is piss poor and his positioning at stoppages and marking contests was woeful. This is the biggest area of concern for us maybe cottrell but I don’t know enough about him. Also we need a kick in specialist because Plowman should keep right away in that area.

Was close to the fence.

Weitering really good one on one. Positions well in front of his man and then contests well when the ball comes in. Good kick. Going to have a really good year.

McKay was troubling Rance before the knee injury. If we can play him in F50 more we will win more. That said, I can see him becoming a 50/50 ruck / forward in a couple of years. Good kick, Covers the ground, tackles (should have got the free in the third), clean mark.

Cripps gets his hands on it a lot. Not sure he is as effective as he should be. Would prefer the quick long kick into the F50 than the time he takes to evade / get the arms up/ short pass to the side.

SPS ... was one out against several Tigers across half back after we had turned the ball over a few times. What I noticed was he took the physical pressure and generally won the ball. ** jumped over him when ball was clearly going out on t he full. SPS got up and kept going. We need him more midfield and pushing forward.

Fisher I think was getting his hands on it in pressure situations and was caught a bit. Tackle on Dusty a highlight, and Plow’ s.

Charlie not a great night. One time he was running up the wing and the Richmond player was holding on to Charlie’s shoulder the whole way.

Not sure why the hate on Plowman ... played a solid game.

Setterfield, Walsh and Newman straight into our best 22.

Cuningham too, knock was he didn’t get the ball enough, well he does now. Coaches have confidence to play him midfield minutes. Could be the best of our small forwards this year.

Thomas surprised me. Kicking is still a little iffy.

McGovern is simply not fit. Contributed. Scary good when he gets fit.

Murphy - congrats on 250 - was good and is on the wing to get the handball if we win the clearance and kick into F50. Did ok in this role and nice goal in the third, but I prefer him on the forward flank and perhaps Fisher, Setterfield, Walsh, SPS or O’Brien on the wing.

Ed needs to move the ball on more quickly.

Richmond ran in waves when we turned the ball over and we could not keep up with them. They blocked us a lot and were knocking us out of marking contests without going for the ball (colliding). Their pressure was very good.

I’d persist with Garlett. No tougher gig for small defenders than Richmond.

We are a chance against Port Adelaide ... would be more confident if it was played in Melbourne.

Really enjoyed Weiterings game, much stronger now and able to body players, even threw some love Lynches way early with a big bump, love the confidence it has afforded him.

Dow started like a house on fire, faded a little but found enough of it. Look out once he has completely grown into his body.

Walsh was fantastic, already making others arpund him better, so wrapped we kept pick 1.

Setterfield has a lot of presence, can't wait to see him play with a fully mature and fit body with 50 games in him. Will be a big brownlow vote poller.

Harry looked threatening the more the game went on, good signs.

Crippa, a slight off night, by his standards (a few fumbles) but overall a solid game and at least a vote.

Fasolo, under done.

Gartlett, soft.

Murphy, just as soft, maybe softer.

Gov, better as game wore on, can't wait to see him fit.

Charlie, struggling with expectations. Will come good without a doubt.

Gibbons, quite but showed good smarts and will only get better with more exposure at this level.

Fish, solid game, loved his tackles on dusty (who is struggling with his dads situation as it has truly sunk in and would be missing him heaps understandably).

Ed, unobtrusive game but had the most score involvements.

Phillips, just good to see him fit, plays again next week.

Newman, solid debut and a fantastic pick up. A gem of a goal when we needed one. Good players do those things.

Plow, solid, mister consistency.

Cunners, really looks to be playing with a lot of confidence, great to see, might just make it after all.

Jones, didn't stand out bit that's not a bad thing.

Simpson, god bless him.

SPS, not his best night, some good things, especially his delivery.

Thomas, was solid, his experience is a bonus to our side.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
Agree with this post apart from the Murphy comment and I’m not as bullish on Plowman just don’t trust him enough yet.

The good: we have a lot more guys who can be relied on now, guys who can be part of the future. Walsh, Setterfield, Newman, Cuningham all played well. Weitering’s confidence grew and he looked fantastic. We are getting closer to having an AFL caliber list - add Docherty (sigh) and Kreuzer and we are a 22 man team that isn’t an eyesore at least. It feels like we are watching most of the next decent Carlton team, not a bunch of temps, which is nice at least.

Also good to see a lot better play from our outside players. Walsh and Newman, but also Murphy playing off a wing. It meant we went head to head in the center against the top team in the comp with Cripps + Dow (19) Fisher (20) and rotated Cuningham (21), SPS (21) and Setterfield (21) through. All said, midfield did very nicely for such an insanely young group

We went heavily man on man at times and it worked well. Sure, some young guys got pushed off the ball by bigger bodies but you could see the talent and our fitness/running held up

The bad: a few players seem down on confidence - prticularly for round 1. Charlie Curnow and SPS examples. McGovern looked afraid of contact. McKay got better as the game went on. Garlett has absolutely no idea. And the whole team really dropped their heads when it wasn’t going well - first quarter and mid last. That’s more bottom team in round 22, not round 1.

Ugly: our setup and structure in the first quarter was hideous. In 6-6-6 your wings and how they adjust are critical. We played a first gamer and a 3rd gamer. When Houli started on the back of the square and ran into defence to give an extra man we didn’t pick this up, and just hacked the ball forward and this killed us in q1 - it was only after quarter time that we adjusted and went sideways to Walsh who had an entire half the ground to himself. We also started McKay on the bench, then brought him straight on into the ruck - it was the 17 minute mark before he set foot inside 50, which was bizarre. Had some issues with zone placement too - new rules mean either setting the zone further back, or playing much looser. Got some of this sorted, particularly the defensive side but it was too late.

Astute observation regarding your past paragraph.

Was close to the fence.

Weitering really good one on one. Positions well in front of his man and then contests well when the ball comes in. Good kick. Going to have a really good year.

McKay was troubling Rance before the knee injury. If we can play him in F50 more we will win more. That said, I can see him becoming a 50/50 ruck / forward in a couple of years. Good kick, Covers the ground, tackles (should have got the free in the third), clean mark.

Cripps gets his hands on it a lot. Not sure he is as effective as he should be. Would prefer the quick long kick into the F50 than the time he takes to evade / get the arms up/ short pass to the side.

SPS ... was one out against several Tigers across half back after we had turned the ball over a few times. What I noticed was he took the physical pressure and generally won the ball. ** jumped over him when ball was clearly going out on t he full. SPS got up and kept going. We need him more midfield and pushing forward.

Fisher I think was getting his hands on it in pressure situations and was caught a bit. Tackle on Dusty a highlight, and Plow’ s.

Charlie not a great night. One time he was running up the wing and the Richmond player was holding on to Charlie’s shoulder the whole way.

Not sure why the hate on Plowman ... played a solid game.

Setterfield, Walsh and Newman straight into our best 22.

Cuningham too, knock was he didn’t get the ball enough, well he does now. Coaches have confidence to play him midfield minutes. Could be the best of our small forwards this year.

Thomas surprised me. Kicking is still a little iffy.

McGovern is simply not fit. Contributed. Scary good when he gets fit.

Murphy - congrats on 250 - was good and is on the wing to get the handball if we win the clearance and kick into F50. Did ok in this role and nice goal in the third, but I prefer him on the forward flank and perhaps Fisher, Setterfield, Walsh, SPS or O’Brien on the wing.

Ed needs to move the ball on more quickly.

Richmond ran in waves when we turned the ball over and we could not keep up with them. They blocked us a lot and were knocking us out of marking contests without going for the ball (colliding). Their pressure was very good.

I’d persist with Garlett. No tougher gig for small defenders than Richmond.

We are a chance against Port Adelaide ... would be more confident if it was played in Melbourne.
On Plowman I’m not hating on him just don’t have confidence in him with ball in his hands.
Garlett needs to go up the ground before his confidence is destroyed he just has no idea in defence as both an offensive weapon and in a defensive sense.
His match simulation form was awesome on a wing let’s keep him there.

I will get sent to the cooler I expect but I don't think Cripps was our best player on the night. An average game that didn't hurt them.
in fact that pretty much sums up the team. Reckon we are three or four weeks off it starting to click.
Kudos to Walsh for looking the most composed at times in his very first match.

firstly I just want to say WHooo hooo footy:footy: is back.
Secondly its the first round of a new season. Every club is in with a chance.

Some of the things I noticed during the game.
Fas was trying to hard, going for balls that were not directed to him and spoiling the ball meant for Charlie, Harry or Mc.

Setters will be a fine player for us however last night he bombed the ball into the forward line even when he had time and space.
He at least looked forward when he did so hopefully he will recognise our forwards soon enough.

Newman was better in defense than I expected and I think Gartlett will improve once he asserts himself in that group, just feel that he is deferring to others.

Our midfield looks more expansive than previously and given enough time will tear teams apart. Walsh was outstanding for a debute :fire:

Mr Ed was just too slow to release the ball last night and needs help when playing that forward role. I am with others calling for him to move back to a tagging role.

Several times in the last half, I found it frustrating to see a richmond player walzing through the middle with Cripps lumbering 10 meters behind or Murphy standing 10 meters away just watching.

Overall impression is we are not a top 8 side yet.:)

However, here I am at work with my Carlton membership polo on ready for anyone.

Thought Murphy's kicking was back to his best. Love those change the angle kicks and vision he has, opens up the opposition going forward.

While so frustrating watching them last night, that 1st qtr in particular, the 4th qtr both sides were out on their feet, the result was to be expected and I tipped a 40 point loss. When you consider we had some of our better players play average or poor (Charlie, fish, SPS had really down moments (SPS and fish also did some good), its not all doom and gloom.

Really think we will miss Kruezer doing 90% of the ruck, McKay spent too long in there at times, and we need him fwd.

I will get sent to the cooler I expect but I don't think Cripps was our best player on the night. An average game that didn't hurt them.
in fact that pretty much sums up the team. Reckon we are three or four weeks off it starting to click.
Kudos to Walsh for looking the most composed at times in his very first match.

Tend to agree, played a really good game but was a little off his usual awesomeness. A bit fumbly and not as sharp as he normally is. As you said, didn't necessarily hurt the opposition as much as he normally would.

No injuries in a whole game of football for the CFC. That's something to celebrate right there.

I know this alone may mean little but all our mids except for SPS got more than 20 possessions.
Cripps - 32, Walsh - 24, Fisher - 22, Cuningham, - 22, Setterfield - 24, Dow - 21. This is a good thing.

Ed should be in the midfield make no mistake, but he isn't deserving of the hate he is getting. Had to have had the most assistants on the field and would have to be up there with pressure acts. Yes fumbled but as did everyone else, it was contagious tonight. The hate for Ed should be directed at the coaching panel for playing him in the fwd line. Only clear drop for next week is Phillip for me.
Agree with Ed , bloody stupid idea to plonk him fwd where he has little value, can’t really be relied on to kick goals and too slow off the mark to pressure tackle. We lacked spread last night and when he went on the ball he changed that for us. Also Cotchin would’ve been relieved at the first bounce to have Ed 50 metres away from him.
The coaches have some thinking to do the Ed move fwd and the Garlett move back didn’t work in the preseason and it carried through.

If Charlie starts that badly next week id love to see him get a run on the ball to get him into the game. He’s a confidence player and the more he touches the footy the better he gets.

Think we have enough up forward in Harry and Gov to experiment, and Charlie is more than capable in the middle. Would add another dimension.

Hate that we lost, but there was plenty to like tonight. The margin was not a true indicator of the contest.

Walsh is obviously a gun, but the efforts of Setterfield, Dow, Fisher, Cuningham etc indicate we have plenty of good times ahead.

There's an intent and quality to our play which hasn't been in evidence in recent years.

Again, I hate that we lost, but there are going to be more wins this season than predicted by the 'experts'.
I thought SPS was good in the second half.

BT made a good point. Just an automatic 25 possession player introduced into our side. Plus uses it well and makes smart decisions

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
His decision making is amazing. What he's going to be like after 50 games could honestly be anything.

Charlie Curnow just needs to clunk some marks. He legit gets his hands on everything. He doesn't have to take the spectaculars in large packs but simple marks leading up on the wing/half forward just needs to hold them. Think he is confidence player and didn't get off to a great start this game and never got going from there. If he takes some marks early in a game and gets confidence he has the potential to be anything.

His lack of effort was the biggest concern for me.