Who are the most overrated players?

The thread title says "overated players", I'm not sure why you think they have to be only the top players? I've seen Stocker play, he's a good footballer but would have the worst endurance in the AFL hence he is overated at pick 17 in the modern game imo. Jack Silvagni is just not up to AFL standards, he has no feel for the game and is a selfish footballer. Tabenar is rated highly at Fremantle but imo is no good.
Plenty of Carlton supporters said Brendan Bolton was a good coach- for years on end- and you were wrong big time. Don't be biased.
Someone doesn’t understand what overrated is.

A few people rating a player doesn’t mean they can be overrated.

Someone doesn’t understand what overrated is.

A few people rating a player doesn’t mean they can be overrated.
It's a subjective thread, there is no 'rating' table to compare players on how they are rated unless you want to use player ratings. I suppose I was referring to Carlton supporters over rating those two players if that makes you happy.

Who said anything about being damaging? Name me an inside midfielder that has a high disposal efficiency? Mitchell is a top 5 midfielder comfortably sitting alongside Martin, Dangerfield, Fyfe and Cripps.

There’s your top 5.
It's true. Tom Mitchell really is one of the best midfielders in the comp. But he is rarely mentioned when people name their best mids. Therefore, he belongs in the underrated players thread. Not the overrated players thread.

Hawthorn's 2018 midfield was decent enough with Mitchell dominating. Not great, but good enough to get us into the finals with 15 wins and 7 losses despite us not having any key forwards to speak of. They guy was BOG (or 2nd best) in 10 of our 22 games. 3rd best in two other games.

This year without Mitchell, the Hawks have one of the worst midfields and we're sitting in 12th place with 8 wins, 11 losses. Virtually the same group of players (minus Mitchell) and no dropoff in form from anyone. Clarko has coached as well as ever, extracting everything he can from a team with limited talent.

McEvoy has been as good as ever. O'Meara, Shiels and Smith have been okay. Worpel and Henderson have been big improvers this season. Impey had improved, probably an upgrade on Ryan Burton at HBF. Roughead is no longer in the team, but he wasn't very good last year. Mitch Lewis gives us a better target. Breust and Gunston haven't been as good this year, but that's mostly due to the midfield supply. Neither forward has lost any ability or pace. It's just that our struggling midfield gives them no chance.

The one major difference from 2018 to 2019 is that Mitchell is no longer out there working his arse off & getting 40 possessions every week (20 contested). Having Tom Mitchell in your team is like adding an extra player into your midfield. His ability to read the play and his hunger to get from contest to contest is phenomenal.

I'd agree with Tom Mitchell being overrated on the back of not having pinpoint disposal if he was in the normal bracket of disposals in the AFL ie 25-30. Per possession he doesn't match someone like dusty absolutely.

But.

When you get 40 possessions a match, are the top 3 in the comp for contested possessions and clearances, avg 7 tackles a game, kick goals and can still get 30+ with a heavy tag, how are you overrated?

The fact his name gets mentioned here means he is underrated. Sure he doesn't have a pin point laser boot like sam Mitchell but his workrate, spread and game sense are as good as anyone ever, yet he gets no credit for it

Lloyd, Heeney and McVeigh weren't ahead of Mitchell in 2015-2016. He also managed double-figure Brownlow votes in both those seasons, so he was clearly "rated" in some form or fashion.

But was Mitchell better than Kennedy, Harper or Dan Hannebury pre-injuries?

The coaches are on to Treloar. 30+ low impact possessions most weeks. However he poll 9 votes on the weekend just gone but still doesn’t have enough to make it on to the leaderboard, where you need a minimum 48 votes to make the top 20. Meanwhile the Bont leads with 88 votes.

The difference is that Rance beats Franklin and Richmond wins the game, McGovern has gotten a bag kicked on him the last few times West Coast have played Sydney and got flogged
McGoverns only played on buddy twice. 1 each to both. Gov Played Buddy at the SCG last year but he ended up sacrificing his game. This year he went away from that and Buddy killed him early on.

The coaches are on to Treloar. 30+ low impact possessions most weeks. However he poll 9 votes on the weekend just gone but still doesn’t have enough to make it on to the leaderboard, where you need a minimum 48 votes to make the top 20. Meanwhile the Bont leads with 88 votes.

I rate the coaches votes (as evidence of anything beyond another opinion) even less than you rate Treloar.

The way people carry on about Treloar is actually embarrassing. He’s a machine, an elite work horse who is one of the most versatile mids in the competition. Was giving the rest of the Magpie mids a piggy back in the centre when Adams was out by playing as our sole in and under ball winner and excelled at it, and with Adams back in the side, he’s gone back to playing his line-breaking outside role that is so lethal and cuts up so many teams.

His ball use is the most over exaggerated quirk or deficiency of any player’s in the league. I watch a fair bit of footy and Treloar’s ball use is no worse than Neale’s and Coniglio’s who are often ranked in the top handful of mids going around. It’s a Collingwood thing, really.

The way people carry on about Treloar is actually embarrassing. He’s a machine, an elite work horse who is one of the most versatile mids in the competition. Was giving the rest of the Magpie mids a piggy back in the centre when Adams was out by playing as our sole in and under ball winner and excelled at it, and with Adams back in the side, he’s gone back to playing his line-breaking outside role that is so lethal and cuts up so many teams.

His ball use is the most over exaggerated quirk or deficiency of any player’s in the league. I watch a fair bit of footy and Treloar’s ball use is no worse than Neale’s and Coniglio’s who are often ranked in the top handful of mids going around. It’s a Collingwood thing, really.
Agree with this. When Treloar was cutting sides up running through the middle of the ground in his first few years at Collingwood he was really dangerous. Sure he is not an elite user, but good enough. Reckon he has had his game sabotaged almost by wanting to put him under the ball this season, Adams or no Adams.
He is an elite exponent of the two handed handball however, but if the umps let you...

It’s funny how many posters like to prop up Collingwood players in these threads but they always post the wrong ones. There are overrated Collingwood players but Treloar, Cox and De Goey aren’t any of them.

Steele Sidebottom ironically after being our unheralded hero from 2011-2015, has become horrifically overrated because of his poor decision making under pressure as well as the large number of kicks that fall short of his target. He’d also rank highly in out of bounds on the full kicked, and his defensive game is weak. A good midfielder, but is often ranked as our best. Nah.

Will Hoskin-Elliott is as poor as forwards come defensively. Good for a two quarter cameo appearance every two or three weeks but he truly is an average player occasionally capable of the remarkable. His form to begin the 2018 season is shaping to be the anomaly, not the norm.

Chris Mayne has been seen by many as now an integral part of Collingwood’s lineup. Truth is that most AFL players could play his role just as well as he does. He’s not athletically gifted in comparison to his cohort and he doesn’t induce much damage on games. Great character but he’s not special as a player.

Darcy Moore is still as poor one-on-one as he used to be. He was nowhere near AA form at the start of the year.

Jack Silvagni is just not up to AFL standards, he has no feel for the game and is a selfish footballer.

His footy IQ is virtually his only real point of difference, and he is definitely not a selfish player.

Guarantee you’ve seen him miss one shot from a difficult angle, and now you’ve got the blinkers on.

It’s funny how many posters like to prop up Collingwood players in these threads but they always post the wrong ones. There are overrated Collingwood players but Treloar, Cox and De Goey aren’t any of them.

Steele Sidebottom ironically after being our unheralded hero from 2011-2015, has become horrifically overrated because of his poor decision making under pressure as well as the large number of kicks that fall short of his target. He’d also rank highly in out of bounds on the full kicked, and his defensive game is weak. A good midfielder, but is often ranked as our best. Nah.

Will Hoskin-Elliott is as poor as forwards come defensively. Good for a two quarter cameo appearance every two or three weeks but he truly is an average player occasionally capable of the remarkable. His form to begin the 2018 season is shaping to be the anomaly, not the norm.

Chris Mayne has been seen by many as now an integral part of Collingwood’s lineup. Truth is that most AFL players could play his role just as well as he does. He’s not athletically gifted in comparison to his cohort and he doesn’t induce much damage on games. Great character but he’s not special as a player.

Darcy Moore is still as poor one-on-one as he used to be. He was nowhere near AA form at the start of the year.
De Goey come finals time could be the sort to win it off his own boot. These sort of players do go missing occasionally, but that is the nature of these guys. When he went in the middle against Richmond last we met he was your best player by some way. He is like Martin, one day it will all click and he will win a Brownlow. Martin was 26 when he won, De Goey is just 23 and has had his share of injuries.... like most of Collingwood's players.

I rate the coaches votes (as evidence of anything beyond another opinion) even less than you rate Treloar.
This.

It’s odd that in a thread about being overrated flogs use players being highly rated by others as an example of how they’re not overrated :drunk:

If he was elite wouldn’t he be a thoroughbred and not a workhorse?You need to get your story straight.

I've said it once and I'll say it again overrated =/= bad player. A champion can still be overrated.

BigFooty posters have struggled with this distinction since the start.

One from the tigers boards:

Marlion Pickett.

I'm as excited as the next bloke to see how he goes, but he hasn't played at AFL level yet and some of the noise I'm hearing makes it sound like he will make a push for the brownlow.

Just calm down, because the moment we get our hopes up BANG! it all comes crashing down.