List Mgmt. 2019 Draft Prospect Discussion

But if Melbourne only took him to call GWS's bluff, then Melbourne suck more than they do now.
I know what you mean, but I find it hard to believe that they could really suck more than they do now. Top 4 to 17th - yeah, they didn't get ahead of themselves at all.

It's annoying to see that even the AFL website gets this wrong, referring to the upcoming Rookie Draft as the 2019 Rookie Draft - it's the 2020 Rookie Draft!! The 2019 RD was held this time last year!

I don't think you're right.

Or at less the draft next week is the 2019 national draft.

I don't think you're right.

Or at less the draft next week is the 2019 national draft.
It's the 2019 National Draft next week, for sure. That draft is always named after the year in which it is held. It's different with the Rookie and Pre-Season Drafts - they are named after the following year.

Plenty of media outlets (and others) get it wrong, but the upcoming Rookie Draft is officially the 2020 one!

It's annoying to see that even the AFL website gets this wrong, referring to the upcoming Rookie Draft as the 2019 Rookie Draft - it's the 2020 Rookie Draft!! The 2019 RD was held this time last year!
They may be changing a very odd naming convention. It probably made sense in the early draft rules, but it's now just confusing.

I agree that it's confusing, and I imagine most people couldn't care less what they call it!! They often get it wrong even on the AFL website, and they just shouldn't. You can look in the AFL Record Season (Guide) 2019 and see all the selections from the 2019 Rookie Draft. We picked up Broomhead and Murray, plus named Keane and Tohill.

This mob at least got it right a year ago!: https://www.triplem.com.au/story/2019-afl-rookie-draft-live-119491

So they've already had the 2019 R/D, and unless they rename the one held this time last year (and probably all those that came before it), they're stuck with this odd naming convention!

Glad the 2nd Half of the Draft starts at 7pm next thursday as I am out and doing stuff at Home with NDIS all day

Glad the 2nd Half of the Draft starts at 7pm next thursday as I am out with NDIS all day
I wouldn't be happy if I missed any of it myself! Even in years where we don't have very good picks (like this year) I still find every bit of the draft(s) fascinating, and don't want to miss a minute of it!

Spot on it’s just confusing. Hell the rookie list should be phased out entirely by the end of the current CBA in favour of a straight 45 player list.

With academies and the like all of the kids that would normally be rough around the edges and selected in those drafts are getting access to the elite pathways earlier meaning they’re more ready to go. It means the rookie draft is basically a salary cap management tool.

Spot on it’s just confusing. Hell the rookie list should be phased out entirely by the end of the current CBA in favour of a straight 45 player list.

With academies and the like all of the kids that would normally be rough around the edges and selected in those drafts are getting access to the elite pathways earlier meaning they’re more ready to go. It means the rookie draft is basically a salary cap management tool.

Yep. National Draft followed by 1 year contract supplemental signings to fill your 45 spots seems like the way to go to me.

100% agree. Keep Cat B rookies seperate and merge senior and rookie list.

Differentiate initial contract length by having

1st Rd picks - 3 year deal
2-3rd picks - 2 year deal
4th Rd and beyond - minimum 1 year

DFAs offers tailored

But I reckon the AFL see drafts nights as a profile boost and TV rights money earner... so doubt the consolidate lists

I wouldn't be happy if I missed any of it myself! Even in years where we don't have very good picks (like this year) I still find every bit of the draft(s) fascinating, and don't want to miss a minute of it!
It's a bit like sex when you're young though, a massive buildup, a few minutes of fun, then a long nervous wait.

Good deal for the Dawks. Kangas are bottom 4-6 next year
Hawks needed a 2020 2nd rounder so they could trade their 2020 1st rounder into this years draft. (So Pies might have some competition if we are trying to also trade our 2020 1st rounder into 2019)

DFAs offers tailored

But I reckon the AFL see drafts nights as a profile boost and TV rights money earner... so doubt the consolidate lists

Would they view the rookie draft as a money earner? I think it will go. ND plus supplemental signings seems the way to go to me. I think clubs would like it more and I think the AFLPA would back it too, as I suspect it would mean less blokes on 1 year contracts.

DFAs offers tailored

I dont really understand why people want draftees to have longer contracts when they themselves would laugh at such a proposal by their employer, if your better then your peers you deserve to be making top coin no matter if it's your 2nd season in football or your 12th, and if it's about creating a culture or trying to keep players, do we really think the suns would retain their players because of one more year? I think their issue are alot deeper then just that, there will always be young players that demand trades because they dont want to live on the other side of the country, imagine being 18 or 19 and being told you have to stay 1000s of kms away from your family because of football, without the paycheck I'm sure alot would just straight up quit, players have no obligations to the teams that drafted them, same as the team have no obligations to players the team drafts, if the team doesn't want the player that's ok but if the player doesnt want the team then he is a bad guy, not a team player etc, sorry for the rant not all of this is aimed at you but some people need to realise football isnt life

Would they view the rookie draft as a money earner? I think it will go. ND plus supplemental signings seems the way to go to me. I think clubs would like it more and I think the AFLPA would back it too, as I suspect it would mean less blokes on 1 year contracts.

Because the more footy events on Foxtel... the more dollars earnt when TV rights come up again. Mid season draft is another example. Fills a marketing and product void as well as serving a footy purpose.

I dont really understand why people want draftees to have longer contracts when they themselves would laugh at such a proposal by their employer, if your better then your peers you deserve to be making top coin no matter if it's your 2nd season in football or your 12th, and if it's about creating a culture or trying to keep players, do we really think the suns would retain their players because of one more year? I think their issue are alot deeper then just that, there will always be young players that demand trades because they dont want to live on the other side of the country, imagine being 18 or 19 and being told you have to stay 1000s of kms away from your family because of football, without the paycheck I'm sure alot would just straight up quit, players have no obligations to the teams that drafted them, same as the team have no obligations to players the team drafts, if the team doesn't want the player that's ok but if the player doesnt want the team then he is a bad guy, not a team player etc, sorry for the rant not all of this is aimed at you but some people need to realise football isnt life

Being drafted is like doing a trade or joining the army. The expectation that a 1st round pick commits to 3 years before leaving is reasonable... given the draft pick and development investment made by a club in that player.

If players aren't prepared to move interstate they can flunk the interviews or not not nominate at all.

But you're right in saying contracts can and will still be broken in some circumstances e.g. mental health caused through homesickness.

Or by mutual agreement club's can trade out a contracted player... happens all the time.

Because the more footy events on Foxtel... the more dollars earnt when TV rights come up again. Mid season draft is another example. Fills a marketing and product void as well as serving a footy purpose.
Does the rookie draft even get televised? Even if it does, I can't see it impacting tv rights negotiations.

A few of the other names within the article such as Heppell look unlikely, however VFL pies Hustwaite and CFC2010 s man Glover get a mention.

Campbell Hustwaite (Collingwood, 19): The brick-hard left-footer joined the Pies this year after two honour-filled years with Dandenong Stingrays, and did well to play 15 matches. His stats didn’t exactly leap off the page, but the Pies like his work around the ball and his leadership. It won’t surprise if he pops up on their rookie list.

Sam Glover (Collingwood, 22):Was invited to the state combine, indicating interest from at least two AFL clubs. Put that down to his ability to play as a key backman and key forward, his marking power and his one-touch skills. Hurt his foot late in the season but is back running. Recruited from Nick Meese country – West Preston-Lakeside – and was on the Northern Blues’ books in 2016-17.

DFAs offers tailored

There’s only one “draft night” now for the first round picks and I’m guessing the expense of a production like that outweighs the viewership so I’m not convinced that’s why they’ve been reluctant to change.

My feel is that the AFLPA have been slow to acknowledge the change in attitude at club land toward list management and the rookie list. It’s low priority currently, but I think the ball will start rolling once the draftee contracts change as you mentioned.

The AFL have definitely got what they wanted with live trading. Usually I'd half tune out until our pick at 35 but at this stage I'll be sitting back just waiting in case we offer up one of 35/future first/future second x 2 to get Worrell.

Haha don’t bother. The clubs that know we’d want to do that deal would know which player we’re after and word would get out. Any other club with interest would either move their plans forward or their picks. Unless it’s someone off radar or best available we won’t make a move like that on the first night.

I'm not so sure. It wouldn't be too hard to spruik to "insiders" that you were chasing a fake name player with less hysteria to prevent being "outbid" by another team with similar interests.