Mega Thread Port Forum 'General AFL Talk' Thread Part 15

This is where stats are misleading though he never crashed packs or took big contested marks in his brief prime old Ted, I'm not saying he didn't have a couple of good years but there's reasons why even Darling has had an AA nod while this guys biggest achievement is 2x AFLPA Captain of the year lottery winner.

I'd take prime ted over darling any day of the week but I also don't really care enough to argue

Loving this feud between dittmar and kornes. Dittmar claiming Kane begged the club to get him to 300 games, kornes calling bullshit on it saying dittmar has been carrying roos bags for so long his line to the clubs been cut so much so the club see him as a crows supporter these days. Lol

You trade for 4 $250-million players. It is a way of playing the books.

I know it's overstated and been said a million times, but the idea that sportsmen are worth paying that sort of money is just crazy. Yes I know, marketing, merchandise sales etc etc. Madness.

I mean an outstanding athlete should be able to earn enough in their career to set themselves up for life. They put their bodies through hell to get there and sometimes end up with lifelong complications. But there's a world of difference between that and some of the crazy basketball, soccer, NFL etc salaries.

We think footy players get paid too much when it's peanuts really..

Ben Simmons made it out to become a star in the NBA and as a result he's currently earning roughly the same amount as the playing lists of 4 AFL teams put together.

I know it's overstated and been said a million times, but the idea that sportsmen are worth paying that sort of money is just crazy. Yes I know, marketing, merchandise sales etc etc. Madness.

I mean an outstanding athlete should be able to earn enough in their career to set themselves up for life. They put their bodies through hell to get there and sometimes end up with lifelong complications. But there's a world of difference between that and some of the crazy basketball, soccer, NFL etc salaries.

I don't know much about Ronaldo or Messi but they seem to still be kicking along nicely, complication free.

Meanwhile, our retired GOAT moves in his 30s like this guy.

giphy.gif

Loving this feud between dittmar and kornes. Dittmar claiming Kane begged the club to get him to 300 games, kornes calling bullshit on it saying dittmar has been carrying roos bags for so long his line to the clubs been cut so much so the club see him as a crows supporter these days. Lol
About time someone called out Dittmar!

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Has anybody got access to that open letter from Steven Marshall to Gill about getting the GF in the Fertiliser? It looks and sounds embarrassing.
Pretty sure it's from the Tiser journos not Marshall.

So have they locked in the 24th of October for the GF? Or is this just more speculation? And have they given any indication of the time?

Ah. Okay. It will still be embarrassing, but that is the Advertisers raison d'etre. SA Great Mate.
Its a average attempt at humor by Paul Starick, Michael McGuire. McGuire usually writes good long articles - sports and non sports in their SA Weekend magazine. I do like the idea of Hans doing the halftime entertainment though. Reckon some not so subtle sledges of the AFL admin in that German accent would be thrown in.