Autopsy AFL 2020 Premiership Season First Elimination Final - Eagles v Pies Sat October 3rd 8:10pm AEST/6:10 WST (OPTUS) Match Highlights in OP

Who will win and by how much?

• Eagles by a goal or less

Votes: 5 4.7%
  • Pies by a goal or less

Votes: 5 4.7%
  • Eagles by 7 - 20

Votes: 41 38.3%
  • Pies by 7 - 20

Votes: 13 12.1%
  • Eagles by a lot

Votes: 39 36.4%
  • Pies by a lot

Votes: 4 3.7%
  • Draw

Votes: 0 0.0%

They do this. They have this habit of pulling out a backs to the wall victory, especially on the road in big games. They'll beat us next week. Just like last season, watch Jamie Elliot step up. You don't want to face the hot Pies and this team could go all the way. IMO now it's Brisbane or Collingwood who take it out. I'd tip Brisbane if I had to pick one but the Pies could win it from 8th.

Buckley, De Goey, absolute master class. Pendlebury is a *en magician. Cox? lol he can harden up and explode when he has to.

this is what I was thinking about during the week

and last years one point win by the Pies. Some ripping contests over the years. That 94 final as well, the drawn one in 1990. Close games in 2013 and 2014 and of course the other finals and drawn one in 2007 + 2018 etc. Amazing stuff.

Well played Pies. Brilliant work and especially in finals like in 2002 away to Port, Brisbane 2003 and wins over the Eagles throught their history.

Stirring.

You don't want to face the hot Pies and this team could go all the way. IMO now it's Brisbane or Collingwood who take it out. I'd tip Brisbane if I had to pick one but the Pies could win it from 8th.
Could be right. I thought Collingwood (and west coast) played better than both Brisbane and Richmond did in their final.

It was not Coles fault he got a terrible handball from Kelly
Yeah but Cole is calling for the handball with three pies blokes filling his vision ahead, his fault, not Kelly's imo.
Need to think about your own position not just always scream for the ball (which most players seem to do).

They do this. They have this habit of pulling out a backs to the wall victory, especially on the road in big games. They'll beat us next week. Just like last season, watch Jamie Elliot step up. You don't want to face the hot Pies and this team could go all the way. IMO now it's Brisbane or Collingwood who take it out. I'd tip Brisbane if I had to pick one but the Pies could win it from 8th.

Buckley, De Goey, absolute master class. Pendlebury is a fu**en magician. Cox? lol he can harden up and explode when he has to.
I reckon all six teams can still win it (obviously they all literally can) as they all showed a bit this weekend.
Brisbane and Port in the box seats but Geelong created enough chances to win, Richmond get the big baby faced velvet sledgehammer back, Saints have a very well balanced team and playing well and good ol Collingwood have finally flicked the switch. Can’t wait for the next 3 weeks of footy!

Yeah but Cole is calling for the handball with three pies blokes filling his vision ahead, his fault, not Kelly's imo.
Need to think about your own position not just always scream for the ball (which most players seem to do).
Agreed, Kelly should have backed himself and kicked it long. Eitherway even if we had won that game we would have to win 3 games in Qld and unless pigs fly that was not happening well done to the Pies too good for us, they took their chances and we missed ours

Was there a long option for Kelly to kick to? Looked on TV like they had the loose man on the overlap so you’d probably coach them to take the handball more often than not to draw the defenders forward and give Kennedy and Darling space to lead into. It’s the difference between a contest on the 50 or a deep entry where even if they can’t mark it Liam Ryan would have been a huge chance to draw a free kick from a panicky defender. It was just a sh*t handball by my recollection.

Match day report from the stands:

Arrived at stadium station around 4 pm, looking forward to a beer and a dhurry at the Canfield. No chance there, line up too big - went straight in, got a beer found my seat - would've been nice to have BringouttheGimp gimpy, jmac70 , and No SPIN to share a beer with so we could all reconcile our differences and unite before the game.

Found my seat, it was obvious that ticketmaster had grouped all us Pie fans together, run into a wa boy proud as punch Pie fan - been to all of our GF's since 79, his seat right next to mine. Pretty much on the 50 southern side.

Run into old mate from work (FIFO), wc fan 'good luck' he said, I said yeah cheers mate we're gonna need it. And we got that luck - rare in Pie folklore.

1st qtr:

The instruction was clear, play on, play on. FINALLY! we are at our most dangerous when we play this way. Then my worst nightmare - bomb it in high i50, but hang on Cox plucks marks and kicks goals, 3 of our first for the game. Here we go!

Tay's body language was telling everyone he was up for this game, the whole team was, Tay's body language ooh boy spoke volumes!

From the outset, TheGoey and Billy were swapping forward and mid, I like this. There is no doubt and I've said it infinitum the club is grooming TheGoey as a mid. Didn't have huge impact in there but it is coming, future is bright in there. Stay the course on this one club.

Stepho found some confidence, took a mark at HBF and immediately played on, the opp marker right next to him was thinking 'oh no, gonna get tackled' but nup, had confidence, played on and hit a target downfield.

Something about Grundy too, he didn't fall into the NN trap, instead NN was mistiming his jumps at the bounces and Grundy was winning taps but wc mids weren't sharking them as expected. 4.0.24 to 2.1.13

2nd qtr:

The wc response, gotta give credence to this team as much as I hate em, we applied pressure but the same old wc were able to transition through that. F*** they're good at that. Were winning ball and able to transition i50 only to be be stopped by Moore and co, Crispy, Bruzzy, Q, Noble were fantastic all game.

It was clear at this point, it was game on, wc knew we came to play and would have to dig deep to get over the line, and they dug deep. They kicked three to our two. 6.1.37 to 5.4.34

3rd qtr:

If I've ever seen a mark not paid, it was JT. Clear mark and then a late jump in the back, no mark, no free. You all can attest my belief in fair game and believe that we should win on merit and merit only. This was a clear mark if not free and JT should've been lining up for goal................ we'd get paid back later for that.

Billy and TheGoey rotating mid and forward, it was working.

We kick one they answered then we'd answer back, this game was going down to the wire.

9.4.58 to 7.6.48

4th qtr:

wc goal immediately, the mid battle, all game long was an enthralling contest. Just the presence of Jordy in there helped us. wc kick another and it's game on! wc getting on top around the ball - was ready for another heartbreak. wc kick again to steal the lead.........................

Then enter the match winner >TheGoey< forward pocket casino end plucks it out of the stoppage and snaps truly.

Oh.my.God!

If there is ever a match for Dusty in the current era it's this guy! He will become if not overtake Dusty such is his dexterity and quick of mind. Even saw wc fans jaw drop in awe of this guy.

Checkers mark and goal, fair dinkum this bloke that came from the VFL that no one wanted, wow, a consistent topline performer.Diamond in the rough.

The Billy incident: resulted in a goal for us, all day every day that was hold in the ball.......... probably a pay back for the not paid JT mark and free. Swings and roundabouts.

wc goal to bring it back to a point, here we go again. Being at the game didn't know how much time was left, was literally praying for the siren. We! have the ball on the wing northern side and it sounds.

Euphoria! One of our greatest wins!

Final score:12.476 to 11.9.75

Only just got home so I don't have the important stats. What I do know, from watching from the stands, we've had a seismic shift of game style - none of this chip sideways to find the perfect i50 bullsh1t. It was take the game on, and we matched them.

As I've always said and you all know my thoughts. IF we play the way we should like we did tonight then we are every chance to take this cup.

Notes: Pendles, there'll never ever be another player, nor has there ever been one that can read where and when the ball and the opposition will be. Still doing it now to this day. Will again next week.

Grundy = grind, talk about stick phat, the ultimate consummate professional. Against an opponent that's had the wood on him he ground out a memorable performance, taking intercept marks down the line. Chocolates even between the two for mine, that Nic Nat is such an impact player, Grundy equaled him.

Tay Adams: Whether or not he had a big impact, like the whole season, he was seriously intent on this game. Kudos mate.

Stepho: Finally found some confidence, that running shot for goal that jjjuuuuuusssssttt missed, didn't break him - he's back ladies and gentleman.

Onto next week, IF we continue to play the way we did tonight I doubt Geelong will have the speed to match us, such was our ball movement.

P.S West coast fans, I've lived here for 13 years, never have I found a more gracious bunch, win or lose. Walking out of the stadium all I got was 'congrats mate good game' No steely looks or '2018' which I was expecting.

Nah great lot of fans, and I'm truly blessed as a Pie fan to be in your welcomed back yard.
bloke behind us was a utensil all night and in the last jumped up and yelled “de goeys injured har har suck s**t woohoo de goeys injured”

everyone turned around gave him evils and shut ups.

reckon the footy gods heard him.

Since, you're obviously correct and not at all blinded by emotion right now...

Why don't you go ahead and re-watch the game and find every single incorrect decision from the umpires - and see which frees led to direct scores within that play... Go on and show us just how robbed you guys were.
LOL you just want him to watch them lose again.

On SM-G980F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I remember after the 2018 GF how WCE supporters on here would comment how great Collingwood fans on here were after their loss, the way most eagles posters are carrying on since last nights loss its a shame it hasnt been the same, just whinge after whinge.

Not from me it was a belter of a game, they won we lost. We had our chances, didn't take them they did. That's football.

If you don’t think the umpires weren’t at the very least a 1 point difference in Collingwoods favour then you were watching a different game. You can get away with saying umpiring is just an excuse in a 3 goal+ game but in a one point game it was literally a gamechanger. Eddie will be glad his brown paper bag went through before the final siren. Absolute rort

Blame Oscar Allen - stupid free kick cost you the game.

It was not Coles fault he got a terrible handball from Kelly
Exactly, the Kelly handpass to Cole with closing in Pies was the killer really. Even if he got a kick away it would have been indirect.

Predictably, Petch doing nothing and going missing in the 2nd half, and Ah Chee being Ah Chee, were our two worst. I never want to see them in our 22 again, bonafide whipping boys now. Harsh given young players, but that team selection backfires on us. There were a few others who had muted days, but I still felt deserved to be out there and did some nice things.

On the pregame external noise punditry, if there is any Eagles or Pies fan who didn't think the game was going to go down to the wire, and didn't respect what both sides dished out collectively, then they can gagf. I imagine most Eagles & Pies were ready for another nail-biter.