Discussion 2020 General AFL Discussion

Think it’s time the league looks at new teams to contest the Anzac Day match after all the much to do of their two darling clubs Collingwood & Essendon.

Both teams would receive quite a windfall playing that match & what do they with that money?
Well we have one goes on a spending spree to lure the best young talent to their club.
Then the other team collects all this money from the game & invests it in a street pharmacy.

How in the hell could the league let a couple dishonest teams be the showcase on this the day we honour our armed forces who protected our country?
Seriously think it’s time for a change.

I want us to really put our foot down and stamp some new blockbusters.

With Finnis in charge a renewed push into NZ would work out much better I think but with COVID the travel might be an issue for a few years.

Im also all in on a Nicky Winmar tribute game for Sir Doug Nicholls round. Nicky was one of WA's greatest exports and played for South Fremantle before coming to the Saints.

If the Dons v Tigers game is always on Saturday night then we should play Fremantle on the Friday night. We can alternate between playing in Perth and Melbourne each year, it gives a couple more clubs a chance at prime time/blockbuster opportunities and both teams are full of young and exciting talent.

Andrew Bassat simply has to make sure that those monochrome monkeys never get their hands on Simon Lethlean, Matt Finiss or James Gallagher.
Eddie and Bucks can reign over Collingwood for a couple of lifetimes as far as I'm concerned, the longer the better and the less threat to us!!

Same reason I hope Dodoro never retires.

We got a good deal with Snake and 18 back in the day so our dealings with him have been fine.

Love watching him flail around for a week and derails other clubs while never actually improving Essendon.

Andrew Bassat simply has to make sure that those monochrome monkeys never get their hands on Simon Lethlean, Matt Finiss or James Gallagher.
Thats probably going to be a problem I suspect. They will be poached sooner or later.

Have to prioritise. Finnis has done a good job of stabilising the club and getting good people in place but Lethlean is the one we can’t afford to lose. It’s hard to know how much they’ve all contributed from afar, but Lethlean has done an enormous job of turning the club around. Would be a great CEO I reckon.

Same reason I hope Dodoro never retires.

We got a good deal with Snake and 18 back in the day so our dealings with him have been fine.

Love watching him flail around for a week and derails other clubs while never actually improving Essendon.
Yep, Adrian scored big time with those draft picks, now he's going to knock it out of the park on Draft Day...

But we could have got Gresham with pick 6.

Or listened to gun recruiting agent Gary Buckenara, passed on the older Carlisle, and drafted the "3rd best player in the talent pool" Kieran Collins...

Imagine having to stay in a hub with Collingwood and you had "Mr Intense" Buckley looming in between all the games.

I haven’t heard this....what happened?

Scuttlebutt is that Buckley and Molik were doing a little more than playing tennis.

Sanderson backed up his best mate's story to cover.

Treloar and Stephenson both confronted Buckley about it and that's why those two were pushed out.

Matthew Parker

He is electric at his best, even if some of those performances are few and far between. He has shown he is more than capable at senior level and adds a stack of pace and pressure to any side’s line-up and did so for St Kilda in 2019 before the rapid improvement of the Saints in 2020 saw Parker take a back seat. He’s a Western Australian, so if the Dockers are looking for a Brandon Matera replacement after delisting him, Parker is a much more suitable age to their demographic and could be a good backup option to have in the wings if needed.

Loved watching Matty play and had a great first up season given where he'd come from so hopefully he does get picked up by some team - back home at Freo would be a perfect result.

'Pies asking for Beams' payout to be paid by the AFL as a medical payout - do we know if we did the same with McCartin's money this year??

I think more hidden lies at the pies If anyone finds the podcast on 6pr last night or whoooshka to this below please tag me as no wonder west coast smashed the pies when bucks went outside the hub to moliks house for a shag ....
My mate just text me he caught the end of Hardie on 6pr saying if the collingwood debacle truth comes out it will rock tha Afl to the core.
Anyone hear the whole thing or any idea what it could be?
Heard Buckley wasn't actually playing tennis with Sanderson and Molik, but instead Buckley and Molik were getting "close" and Sanderson is good friends with Buckley so accepted some of the blame.

I think more hidden lies at the pies If anyone finds the podcast on 6pr last night or whoooshka to this below please tag me as no wonder west coast smashed the pies when bucks went outside the hub to moliks house for a shag ....

Heard Buckley wasn't actually playing tennis with Sanderson and Molik, but instead Buckley and Molik were getting "close" and Sanderson is good friends with Buckley so accepted some of the blame.
I don't get the big deal. Is it just infidelity that is the scsndal? Something more?

They broke COVID rules either way, I’m not sure how it’s somehow worse if it was due to an affair or a supposed game of tennis.

It's about the players sacrificing personal freedoms while their leader was out risking the hub for an illicit root. If I'm a young player who can't go out and do things outside a resort but the coach is breaking the rules I'm going to be pretty pissed off.

We were rated the unluckiets side of the year according to this Fox article, due to the amount of close games we lost.

Not sure luck is the right way to look at it, but the face we were so close to winning another 4 games shows we might not be that far off a top 4 side.

I'd expect with a more mature and experienced side we start winning more of those close games.

The Saints’ rise from 14th to the finals was already impressive, but it’s even more so when you consider they were battling a big swing in close game luck.

After going 3-2 in close games in 2019, Brett Ratten’s side went an AFL-worst 1-4 in 2020.

Tight losses to North Melbourne (two points), Fremantle (six points), Brisbane (three points) and Melbourne (four points) meant Saints fans had to wait until the last home and away round to see if they would play finals.

But in reality St Kilda was clearly one of the six best teams this year - their percentage of 116.2 was just behind West Coast’s, and almost 10 points higher than Collingwood, Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs - but their record of 10-7, matching the Dogs, just didn’t show it.

They should be better than 1-4 in close games next year. So if you’re looking for reasons to back the Saints to push into the top four in 2021, here you go.

We were rated the unluckiets side of the year according to this Fox article, due to the amount of close games we lost.

Not sure luck is the right way to look at it, but the face we were so close to winning another 4 games shows we might not be that far off a top 4 side.

I'd expect with a more mature and experienced side we start winning more of those close games.

The Saints’ rise from 14th to the finals was already impressive, but it’s even more so when you consider they were battling a big swing in close game luck.

After going 3-2 in close games in 2019, Brett Ratten’s side went an AFL-worst 1-4 in 2020.

Tight losses to North Melbourne (two points), Fremantle (six points), Brisbane (three points) and Melbourne (four points) meant Saints fans had to wait until the last home and away round to see if they would play finals.

But in reality St Kilda was clearly one of the six best teams this year - their percentage of 116.2 was just behind West Coast’s, and almost 10 points higher than Collingwood, Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs - but their record of 10-7, matching the Dogs, just didn’t show it.

They should be better than 1-4 in close games next year. So if you’re looking for reasons to back the Saints to push into the top four in 2021, here you go.

Close loss? Choking ? Call it what you will.

Jack Steven has retired from footy

Geez. Wonder what went wrong.