Preview 2020 AFL National Draft thread

Yeah alright. You'd think Port had won the last 2 flags and these kids had finished 1,2 & 3 in the Brownlow the amount of smoke that is being blown up Ports arse in this article.

You are spot on.

The insinuation from the media week in and week out that these 3 carry the side is such rubbish.

1607052187525.png

We are taking 5 selections.

2 x first rounds and 2 x second rounders + a late pick

We picked up a 21 year old former top 5 pick in the trade period.

What would you prefer we did?

that‘s a bold strategy

maybe revisit the question, I.e., you seemed to cut a lot more players than you have good draft picks. What’s your list strategy here?

Out:
Brown - commodity trade
Higgins -33 years old
Durdin - Gash
Wood - looks like a footballer, plays like a netballer
Macmillan - Finished
Pittard - Finished
Williams - Finished
Daw - Cooked
Vickers-Willis - Body let him down
Jacobs - Career ended 2 years ago
Ahern - Fat
Crocker - Rookie and not AFL standard
Hosie - Not AFL standard
Murphy - Not AFL standard

In:
Corr - best 22
Stephenson - best 22
Young - rated young prospect
Bosenavulagi - punt
Pick 2
Pick 11
Pick 30
Pick 39
Pick 71

14 out, 12 of whom will not play AFL again, one has 2 years left and the other is a trade for currency.
9 in, 2 best 22, 2 good prospects in areas of need, 2 1st round picks, 2 2nd round picks and a late hail Mary in a draft where quality will slip.

Space then for 2 mid year draft prospects as well.

I don't think people realise how much rubbish we had on our list. That we can cut 14 and quite feasibly state that we are better off for it is quite a poor reflection on the 2020 list and the team that built it.

In a weeks time we could very well say that the list is in far better shape than it was during the 2020 season.

They executed a plan well.

What's the point of this article now though only two years after the fact? Not really relevant until they actually achieve something with this draft haul imo.

If Port win the next 3 flags and this article is written 10 years from now then sure.

FWIW i'm not trying to say these players aren't any good. But this article was WAY over the top.

I think it was more to get a glimpse into how clubs can operate around this time of year, rather than celebrating that Port won the draft. I reckon articles like that are fascinating.

You needed a PHD and a whiteboard to understand how Port’s list manager had pulled it off but now the final part of the plan had to be executed.

As the Port contingent drove down the driveway of the Butters’ property in Bacchus Marsh they were struck by the mini-oval with goal posts which had been built next to the house.

Butters explained how he would spend all day and night kicking the football on the oval with his passion and love of the game overwhelming.

The kid was a footy addict and when Cripps left he looked back through the front window of the house and smiled at what he saw.

The Port Adelaide box erupted. They couldn’t contain themselves with cheers and high fives all around, the ruckus reverberating throughout Marvel Stadium.

Cripps’ phone beeped again. It was a text from his Richmond mates next door with some lighthearted advice: “Shut the f--- up will you.”

Port were in no mood to be quiet because they’d just made the biggest statement of the 2018 draft.

Two years later and they’re still making noise.

Rozee, Butters and Duursma have exceeded all expectations, playing crucial roles in Port Adelaide’s top four resurrection with the rest of the competition fully aware things are going to get even louder at Alberton in years to come.

You don't think this is a little over the top? It's written like a chapter in a biography.

Honestly just a bizarre article to read.

show_image.php

Here we have a slider

1607053307555.png

Out:
Brown - commodity trade
Higgins -33 years old
Durdin - Gash
Wood - looks like a footballer, plays like a netballer
Macmillan - Finished
Pittard - Finished
Williams - Finished
Daw - Cooked
Vickers-Willis - Body let him down
Jacobs - Career ended 2 years ago
Ahern - Fat
Crocker - Rookie and not AFL standard
Hosie - Not AFL standard
Murphy - Not AFL standard

In:
Corr - best 22
Stephenson - best 22
Young - rated young prospect
Bosenavulagi - punt
Pick 2
Pick 11
Pick 30
Pick 39
Pick 71

14 out, 12 of whom will not play AFL again, one has 2 years left and the other is a trade for currency.
9 in, 2 best 22, 2 good prospects in areas of need, 2 1st round picks, 2 2nd round picks and a late hail Mary in a draft where quality will slip.

Space then for 2 mid year draft prospects as well.

I don't think people realise how much rubbish we had on our list. That we can cut 14 and quite feasibly state that we are better off for it is quite a poor reflection on the 2020 list and the team that built it.

In a weeks time we could very well say that the list is in far better shape than it was during the 2020 season.

That we can cut 14 and quite feasibly state we could have comfortably cut another 6.

that‘s a bold strategy

maybe revisit the question, I.e., you seemed to cut a lot more players than you have good draft picks. What’s your list strategy here?

Thanks mate. Really chuffed that you are so interested. While others here may well know our strategy, I don't, so can't help you there apart from to suggest you ring our recruiters and get the good oil from them. I'm sure they'll be tickled pink to give you the info.

And when you do that, please get back to us with everything you've learnt. Thanks again.

One thought re Logan McDonald (who is still my preferred pick) - does he ever score from general play?

I can't recall any footage of him doing anything but kick from marks. No runs at goal from 70 out or snaps from general play.
I haven't seen him do it, but he looks like he has enough in his locker to be able to do it.

That said, I haven't seen him out body someone who isn't either 10kgs lighter or 10cm's shorter than him, so lots of questions to be answered with him.

that‘s a bold strategy

Appreciate your concern in our list strategy...

I'd advise that you channeled that concern to your sub par u22 year olds. North are far more advanced with the kids they currently have, then Adelaide are. Further to that, we have the same amount of first rounders this year. Next couple years are not going to be easy for North, but Adelaide is in for a much tougher time IMO.

One thought re Logan McDonald (who is still my preferred pick) - does he ever score from general play?

I can't recall any footage of him doing anything but kick from marks. No runs at goal from 70 out or snaps from general play.

The highlights packages I always see seen to show the same game where he kicked 4, had a good game that day but assume there is more

giantroo has one including his WA games, u18 stuff etc and he looked pretty good.

But it's all leads or body on body with Fortnite players. Good but leaves questions as Swallow_Wood said.

Appreciate your concern in our list strategy...

I'd advise that you channeled that concern to your sub par u22 year olds. North are far more advanced with the kids they currently have, then Adelaide are. Further to that, we have the same amount of first rounders this year. Next couple years are not going to be easy for North, but Adelaide is in for a much tougher time IMO.

Adelaide didn't trade any in-either so their progress is all in the one draft basket....

Have you seen this one?

giantroo has one including his WA games, u18 stuff etc and he looked pretty good.

But it's all leads or body on body with Fortnite players. Good but leaves questions as Swallow_Wood said.
Just to note, there were 4 other WAFL games that I couldn't source footage from where he kicked a few bags as well.