Draft Review 2016 - Revisiting the 2016 AFL Draft

Who dislikes him?

We just get sick of you not recognizing anybody but him ever being drafted, and wanting to elevate him to immortal status if he touches the ball, but not appearing in this thread when he does poorly.

You just sh*t post.

We like Bolton, but not you and your other little friend.

Bolton 'touching the ball' is the top comment on the sport sub- reddit website, which generally hates Australian rules footy, 3k votes already.

Funny the world (one of largest websites, top 20) seems to rate it at that level yet you/efc supporters don't reckon it's worthy of a comment in the bigfooty16 redraft discussion...

Curious

Bolton 'touching the ball' is the top comment on the sport sub- reddit website, which generally hates Australian rules footy, 3k votes already.

Funny the world (one of largest websites, top 20) seems to rate it at that level yet you/efc supporters don't reckon it's worthy of a comment in the bigfooty16 redraft discussion...

Curious
What is so hard to understand?

Pretty sure everyone is in agreeance that Bolton is a great player, he is most likely currently top 5 in this great draft and if he was to come to Essendon I would welcome him with open arms. It’s the way you and your other Richmond mate carry yourselves in here. You’ve been beating the same Dead horse for the last 30 pages of the thread most likely. Everyone stopped caring for your opinion a long time ago.

1. Stewart
2. Taranto
3. Clug
4. Ridley
5. Ryan
6. McGrath
7. Simpkin
8. English
9. R. Marshall
10. Bolton

10 being the best yeah?

As much as we all love to dismiss a cocky Richmond supporter, Bolton is a clear cut top 5 from this draft as of right now. Honestly I'd take him 3rd behind Stewart and McCluggage

Suns fans hate us too? I thought we were brothers. No more markovs for you.

1620529918783.png

This is such a ****ing good draft. Could well get 5+ AFL captains out of it and as for order, well, it mostly comes down to individual preference. I'd probably go something like this at this point, but I genuinely reckon every one of those players could end up as the number 1 player by the end of their career:

1. McLuggage
2. Stewart
3. Taranto
4. Bolton
5. Ridley
6. McGrath
7. Simpkin
8. Marshall
9. English
10. Daicos

Then I reckon Florent, Hayward, Darcy, Parfitt, Luke Ryan, Draper, Berry are all players that have the ability to move into that top 10 or could already be there depending on who's doing the ranking.

Following that, you've got Battle, Graham, Larkey, Waterman, Ladhams and Zurhaar who are all, at the very least, really solid AFL players and I'm probably missing others who could be in that group.

Stewart has the runs on the board with 2 AA's but McCluggage is leading the chasing pack - having an amazing year.

Lots from this draft had cracking games on the weekend:

McCluggage - 30 and a goal
Tarranto - 35
Stewart - 25 & 9 marks
Simpkin - 30 and a goal
Bolton - 22 and 3 goals
Florent - 26 and 2 goals
McGrath - 29
Bowes - 30
Daicos - 27 and a goal

Agreed Stewart has the most runs on the board. An elite player and helping my SuperCoach team to stay afloat! In saying that if we take into consideration age, scope for development and potential future output, I’m still taking Clugga every day of the week. I think Bolton has now clearly gone ahead of Simpkin and McGrath.
My top 5:
Clug
Stewart
Bolton
Ridley
Taranto

Agreed Stewart has the most runs on the board. An elite player and helping my SuperCoach team to stay afloat! In saying that if we take into consideration age, scope for development and potential future output, I’m still taking Clugga every day of the week. I think Bolton has now clearly gone ahead of Simpkin and McGrath.
My top 5:
Clug
Stewart
Bolton
Ridley
Taranto

The tiger posters finally got to you!!

Stewart is on his way to his 3rd AA - that will take a lot of catching from the chasing pack.

3 x AA's include decent players like Simon Black and Matty Richardson.

But McCluggae will add his 1st AA in 2021 unless injuries happen. Simpkin and McGrath are weighed down by being in poor teams. Hard for the kids to do the heavy lifting - just ask Cripps!!

1. McCluggage
2. Bolton
3. Taranto
4. Stewart
5. Florent
6. Daicos
7. Berry
8. Marshall
9. Ryan
10. McGrath

Such a good and deep draft, surprised Florent is being left out by a few people.

Next bunch of players would include: Ridley, Parfitt, English, SPP, Bowes, Darcy, Ainsworth. With still a few solid performers missing.

1. McCluggage
2. Bolton
3. Taranto
4. Stewart
5. Florent
6. Daicos
7. Berry
8. Marshall
9. Ryan
10. McGrath

Such a good and deep draft, surprised Florent is being left out by a few people.

Next bunch of players would include: Ridley, Parfitt, English, SPP, Bowes, Darcy, Ainsworth. With still a few solid performers missing.
I’m gonna sound like a homer but Florent top 5 with McGrath at 10 and Ridley/Simpkin not even top 10 is objectively wrong

Said it once, and I'll say it again, still my favourite draft in recent memory for us - and one that has helped us stay in contention/rebuild on the run.

No draft picks in the Top 20, but all of these Best 22 players/on the fringe of the 22 from the one draft, is just nuts:

Pick 26 - Brandan Parfitt
Pick 40 - Tom Stewart
Pick 43 - Esava Ratugolea
Pick 60 - Quinton Narkle
Rookie Pick 16 - Jack Henry
Cat B Rookie - Mark O'Connor

For reference, 5 of those 6 played in our win against the Tiges, and O'Connor is entrenched in our Best 22 when he comes back from injury/is already in the leadership group.

Insane hit rate from just one solitary draft with mostly late picks. Wells is a god.

1. McCluggage
2. Bolton
3. Taranto
4. Stewart
5. Florent
6. Daicos
7. Berry
8. Marshall
9. Ryan
10. McGrath

Not sure how the likes of Florent, Daicos , Berry and Marshall end up ahead of McGrath, Ridley and English.

Marshall's body of work is well above English's to this point. A 2nd and a 4th in B&Fs already.
Have to agree, Marshall looked primed to take the next step to being an elite ruckman this year before injury struck. Think he ends up being close to top 5 in this draft.

Obviously we all have our biases, but Marshall is just such a high quality player, whose touches are generally very influential. Finds a fair bit of footy, can play ruck or forward, has a great contested mark and is a great clearance player.

Not sure how the likes of Florent, Daicos , Berry and Marshall end up ahead of McGrath, Ridley and English.
Not saying they're right or wrong but the new kick in stats have massively inflated Ridleys impact on games.

He's a great interceptor and a really good kick but in the first 4 rounds alone he had the highest total kick-ins in the AFL with 41, with 33 of them being rebound 50's.
If you remove just that stat it takes his averages in that patch down from:

29 disposals, 20.75 kicks, 10.75 rebound 50's -------> 18.75 disposals, 10.5 kicks, 2.5 rebound 50's

Great player, and it's not a knock on him because that's just how the stats are counted now, but I could see arguments for Florent, Daicos, Berry and Marshall being on par with him