Past #40: Eddie Ford - delisted end '25 season - 40 NM games/31 NM goals

• Thread starter Thread starter giantroo

Pretty sure it was David Hale before an Essendon game

nathan grima was a late out at the final teams and wellsy pulled out with a calf in the warm up.

haley played vfl and was probably 2 beers in the bar deep when they pulled him out of the stands.

soitta had a huge last quarter and almost got us over the line but we lost by a goals I think

Not much that the coaching staff have done this season has annoyed me but the way they've handled debuts has been shitful.

Anyone watch TEf's Twitter? He's probably having a big sook right now.
Probably an idea to keep sharp knives away from him😜

Can't remember who was discussing last week on SEN but I thought they discussed debuting as a medisub. Might have been Craig Jennings or Leppitsch? From memory they were saying that it's obviously a bummer to be medisub and not play as your first 'game' but they said it quells a lot of nerves and introduces the debutant to the game-day experience without having to do too much. Then, their next game is one step further and they can start on the bench. Whoever was talking about it seemed to think it was worth doing for some players in certain circumstances.
Yep exactly my thoughts to

I have it on good authority from someone who knows Eddie that he didn't give a sh*t he was the media sub on his debut. He loved the experience.
I thought any young guy in Eddie's place would love the experience. It would tell him the coaches are happy with his progress, that he is close to being selected in the best 22 and that he is really part of the team: great news for a late draft pick. I presume he was told he would be the medical sub when he was told he would be making his debut

No matter what he'll always be able to live rent free in your head.

On Pixel 3a using BigFooty.com mobile app
Happy for him to live rent free in my head, the blokes an enigma. Can honestly say he is one of the most interesting people i have ever come across. And not all in a good way either.

I have chechd out his twitter feed and its much the same rage as he posted here. It was just his constant personal attacks that i grew tired off, i dont mind reading opposing views and teff provided plenty. But the whole woke and coaching plan critisisms became a little bit ad nausium in the end.

Happy for him to live rent free in my head, the blokes an enigma. Can honestly say he is one of the most interesting people i have ever come across. And not all in a good way either.

I have chechd out his twitter feed and its much the same rage as he posted here. It was just his constant personal attacks that i grew tired off, i dont mind reading opposing views and teff provided plenty. But the whole woke and coaching plan critisisms became a little bit ad nausium in the end.

The only difference is that he’s pretty much ignored on there

I have it on good authority from someone who knows Eddie that he didn't give a sh*t he was the media sub on his debut. He loved the experience.

Seems like a ripper bloke. One out of the box. What a terrific attitude.

He really was electric in that state game in 2019. It will be interesting to chart his progress against some of the other guys taken higher in the same draft year.

We definitely need another marking forward to compliment Larkey, Zurharr and the resting ruck. This might be the guy. Has already put on some size in-season (by my eye). He may show us something this year and lock-in his role next.

Can't wait to see him debut. Not sure how he will go but I bet he'll launch for the biggest mark the world has ever seen. Lol. I love this kid.

Can't remember who was discussing last week on SEN but I thought they discussed debuting as a medisub. Might have been Craig Jennings or Leppitsch? From memory they were saying that it's obviously a bummer to be medisub and not play as your first 'game' but they said it quells a lot of nerves and introduces the debutant to the game-day experience without having to do too much. Then, their next game is one step further and they can start on the bench. Whoever was talking about it seemed to think it was worth doing for some players in certain circumstances.

That's a really interesting take. If you take out the razzmatazz of the job being somewhat showbiz (can you?) then what you say makes a lot of sense for any other job. It definitely helps to get a bit of a walkthrough or get to observe for a few days in other jobs before really getting cracking.

If you knew you weren't playing (which would never happen obviously) it would be an awesome experience I spose.

Still seems a bit weird to me.

I feel a bit for him to be honest.

90% of what he used to say I'd agree with. The state is a ****ed entity and commercialism and advertising/corporate culture (and the monetisation of everything) are bad for people ingeneral. But he just lost it. He's got a boatload of psychological baggage he's carrying around. Maybe he'd be happy if he just came out of the closet.

I feel a bit for him to be honest.

90% of what he used to say I'd agree with. The state is a f’ed entity and commercialism and advertising/corporate culture (and the monetisation of everything) are bad for people ingeneral. But he just lost it. He's got a boatload of psychological baggage he's carrying around. Maybe he'd be happy if he just came out of the closet.
bit ironic from someone who lost the plot from a innocuous word.

come out of the closet for what exactly?

bit ironic from someone who lost the plot from a innocuous word.

come out of the closet for what exactly?

Can you please move this conversation to RANDOM CHAT please no one wants to hear it on a first year players thread.

So do we have to wait an extra day to find out who is playing or is it two extra days?

Pretty sure it’s named tonight but I’m guessing it’ll be an extended bench situation

nathan grima was a late out at the final teams and wellsy pulled out with a calf in the warm up.

haley played vfl and was probably 2 beers in the bar deep when they pulled him out of the stands.

soitta had a huge last quarter and almost got us over the line but we lost by a goals I think
I was at the VFL and AFL matches that day. It was a horrible, cold wet day, and talking to David Hale, he was knackered post the VFL match. He was in the stands at Etihad (now Marvel), and got the word he was playing. He had to send Teresa (his wife) home to get his spare footy boots. Then played 4 more quarters in the AFL match! That was a real Herculean effort that day!

Not much that the coaching staff have done this season has annoyed me but the way they've handled debuts has been shitful.

Anyone watch TEf's Twitter? He's probably having a big sook right now.
my bet is that he's still on here reading everything while yelling at the clouds.

I was at the VFL and AFL matches that day. It was a horrible, cold wet day, and talking to David Hale, he was knackered post the VFL match. He was in the stands at Etihad (now Marvel), and got the word he was playing. He had to send Teresa (his wife) home to get his spare footy boots. Then played 4 more quarters in the AFL match! That was a real Herculean effort that day!
Please take this to the David Hale thread.

Good response, as expected from Eddie, may have been a bit tougher to cop singing the song had we pinched the win though.