Traded Adam Cerra traded to Carlton for pick #6 and F3

If he leaves (as widely reported), what will Freo get in return?

• Two good 1st round picks

• Top 10 pick and change

• A 1st & a 2nd

• Later 1st rounder

• Two 2nd rounders

• Early 2nd rounder

• Other 2nd round pick

• Less than a 2nd rounder

Results are only viewable after voting.

7 and a late second round pick equates to more than pick 5.

More than fair.
As I've said. We will be demanding those 2 firsts aha and will end up giving something back. Being out of contract has nothing to do with it. Many other Melbourne clubs would like him

I'm just scanning the media and I can't find the same media coverage of Bolton being out of contract as I can Cerra. Surely Bolton has been offered big deals by other clubs just like Cerra and remains out of contract just like Cerra so I just wanted to check if the same logic applies for Bolton?

Bolton's ahead of Cerra but does have an extra year of development. Last year at the same stage in their careers Bolton averaged 15 disposals and 0.8 goals a game so I'd consider their value close to equal.

Just clecking as a point of reference for a Cerra trade whether the Tigers would take pick 7 for Bolton?

If he nominated a club and that was their first pick, we would have to. Like Freo, we would like more but no contract means you will almost always get unders.

As I've said. We will be demanding those 2 firsts aha and will end up giving something back. Being out of contract has nothing to do with it. Many other Melbourne clubs would like him
Of course it does. If he does happen to nominate us then you have no leverage.

And as Ive said, it'd be our job to give up fair value, not give up both our first picks just cos you want them. It's up to freo to turn pick 7 and your own picks into two first rounders, not ours.

I'd be shocked if we give up both 1st round picks despite what freo want to give back....unless it's another first round pick.

And as Ive said, it'd be our job to give up fair value, not give up both our first picks just cos you want them. It's up to freo to turn pick 7 and your own picks into two first rounders, not ours.

I'd be shocked if we give up both 1st round picks despite what freo want to give back....unless it's another first round pick.
And if you don't satisfy us? We can easily go to Cerra and say look they aint playing ball so you either choose another club or you go to draft where other Melb clubs will defy take you before Richmond

What will your firsts be?

Do you live in WA perhaps? There's been plenty.

Bolton spent his first 3 years as a scrawny forward pocket and the youngest player taken in the draft from memory so I wouldn't read too much into that. His trajectory since moving into the middle has been exceptional.

But yes, same logic applies to any uncontracted player that nominates a club.

Yes I do and no there has not been as many articles on this side of the country as compared to Cerra.

The trouble for Freo is having two Melb clubs at the bottom of the ladder.

More often than not ..the OOC player gets to where he wants to go. The AFL clubs generally understand that its in their interest to get less and give more. Its not often that a Martin situation happens...

In general , id like to see players that are OOC be FA. Thats not happening anytime soon but really it might be better if FA was reduced but Cerra has given 4 years... its probably fair to hope for me service than 4 years.

If Cerra say I will just go to another bottom club like North or Haw ... then that outcomes is not ideal for Freo or most in the AFL. For this reason I suspect you get less than you hope

Why has the talk moved from Carlton to Richmond?

Shai Bolton + a 1st seems reasonable
Cerra has told Carlton he's not interested in going there. Has told the same to Essendon, and told Freo he's putting off contract talks until the end of the year.

It all points to us being his destination of choice, and that makes sense given we've been putting work into him for a couple of years now.

Cerra has told Carlton he's not interested in going there. Has told the same to Essendon, and told Freo he's putting off contract talks until the end of the year.

It all points to us being his destination of choice, and that makes sense given we've been putting work into him for a couple of years now.

Last I heard his manager said that he hasn't even considered offers yet.

If you have been putting work in that long then we should be compensated fairly. We paid Pick 5 for him and he has shown heaps! Gun in the making. Worth more than a Pick 7 and late second lols!

Last I heard his manager said that he hasn't even considered offers yet.
Do you honestly believe that with two months to go in the season his manager hasn't fielded any offers yet? These discussions are had months and sometimes years in advance.

If you have been putting work in that long then we should be compensated fairly. We paid Pick 5 for him and he has shown heaps! Gun in the making. Worth more than a Pick 7 and late second lols!
Look at the Prestia trade. You won't get any more than that.

It's really difficult to determine what would happen when there is 1 game separating 8th and 12th, though it does seem close to impossible Richmond make finals now.

Reckon Freo supporters are over the top with demanding 'fair compensation.' We'll get a fair return but claims of getting both Richmonds firsts when they continue to fall further down the ladder is getting greedy.

Pick 7 and a 2nd round pick seems pretty fair and I imagine Richmond will fight tooth and nail to keep the Geelong first given their first one is now going to be top 10

Do you honestly believe that with two months to go in the season his manager hasn't fielded any offers yet? These discussions are had months and sometimes years in advance.
I think the truth is probably somewhere in the middle in that his manager has been lining up offers to be considered, negotiating with clubs, and then Cerra will decide which one he wants when he gets to the end of the year.

It's really difficult to determine what would happen when there is 1 game separating 8th and 12th, though it does seem close to impossible Richmond make finals now.

Reckon Freo supporters are over the top with demanding 'fair compensation.' We'll get a fair return but claims of getting both Richmonds firsts when they continue to fall further down the ladder is getting greedy.

Pick 7 and a 2nd round pick seems pretty fair and I imagine Richmond will fight tooth and nail to keep the Geelong first given their first one is now going to be top 10
We may take there early second as well. But not a first and a back ended second!!

No worries.
Pick 7 & 16
for
Cerra & pick 10.
Can live with that. :)

Well that's not happening.

It might be a 2nd rounder coming back if thats the price but we won't be sacrificing firsts for the deal.

Well that's not happening.

It might be a 2nd rounder coming back if thats the price but we won't be sacrificing firsts for the deal.
I know.
Just going off your mates remark No matter what we give back.

We may take there early second as well. But not a first and a back ended second!!
You start arguing semantics at that point when there would be late pick swaps chucked in as well. If first pick is top 7, I'd be very surprised if we got the other first as well. I think Richmond would make it an absolute priority to keep the other first, even if it means giving up more later picks, remembering they have 2 2nds and 2 3rds as well.

Yes, we have to be satisfied but at a certain point you're just being greedy

You start arguing semantics at that point when there would be late pick swaps chucked in as well. If first pick is top 7, I'd be very surprised if we got the other first as well. I think Richmond would make it an absolute priority to keep the other first, even if it means giving up more later picks, remembering they have 2 2nds and 2 3rds as well.

Yes, we have to be satisfied but at a certain point your just being greedy
Would you rather have Cerra or Pick 7? The Picks after about 20 are lottery picks anyway really

It's not about what I'd rather. In this draft, I'd rather Cerra over anything except pick 1 since Daicos isn't available and you can throw a blanket over 2-10 from most reports.

We arent entitled to anything and if Cerra wants to leave we have no choice but to trade him regardless of what we'd rather. On historical trades, pick 7 and a 2nd round pick is reasonable. It's more than Tigers paid for Prestia for example