Game Day Around The Grounds - Finals Week 2 - 1st & 2nd Semis 2021

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

Just encouraging the crowd to get their covid vaccination.
if it's fair dinkum it's all of ridiculous, inappropriate, brilliant and straight out nuts..........

Luke Beveridge is the type of cultural changing bloke I want coaching us. If we miss out on Clarko, I would love a Bevo prototype type of untried but dynamic coaching prodigy.

The last centre square free kick to the Bullies for interference was pathetic umpiring. Was the difference imo.
what about the one in the first quarter?

I don’t ever want to hear Cripps is better than Bont again.

it’s not a contest.
when was that last said? back when preston oval had grass? no-one mentioning his missed goals of course........

What an amazing game. I wanted the Dogs to win, but was never confident. What's that for Brisbane now, three consecutive top-four finishes, and one finals win out of six? Ouch. And it's always tough watching those matches, because they're a reminder that we're a million miles away from that level.

I think it's fair to rank Bailey Smith alongside Sam Walsh. Yes, he's had more quality around him, but he has also proved himself on the big stage. Maybe he would have struggled if we'd picked him... but maybe he'd be the very, very good player he is now.

Finals footy is so finely balanced, sometimes it just seems like a game of rotten chance. Two weeks in a row Brisbane lose a key forward to friendly fire before half-time - what are the chances? And then Jarrod Berry to concussion at half-time. A man down on the bench for the entire second half... and they still broke even on the scoreboard. Huge, unbelievable effort... and no reward.

Mind you, it is a huge tick for the maturity of the game, and the imperatives correctly placed on the wellbeing of the players, irrespective of the status of the match. It doesn't seem like that long ago, that people were decrying a newly-introduced blood rule... now, we are having blokes like Jarrod Berry ruled out of matches on concussion tests, even when that medical decision is likely to be a season-ender for his team. It is a great thing.

people simply have to read the lions review thread for some of the vilest hate toward the umpire and footscray you'd never want to experience - actually worse than I've read here after a loss..........extraordinary.........

isn't there an umpire thread where tragic little people can go to bleat? the game was extraordinary and carried about the same number of umpiring influences as any other game.........
No one is arguing about how great the game was. One of the best for the year but umpires made some crucial errors in that last quarter. Not saying it went one way but in a final those decisions just mean a little more. But again agree it was a fantastic game

I was at the 2009 elimination final at the Gabba us v lions goddam awful supporters
Is that the game we were 5 or 6 goals up early in the last and they ran over the top of us ?

off the fitzroy board, these people may well have children:

"Toby has been vindicated. He should’ve put Stevic in hospital".

They are pretty bitter

Stupid ******* rat-faced bogan scum. Your club should have died in 1989.