List Mgmt. 2021 Trade & List Management Thread II - IN: CCJ

Not a gripe. Gulden went pick 32 for example. If he had gone late teens we could not have matched. You folk have the wonderful Thomas via the NGA. You put sfa into his development. Good luck to you. Your mob scored a beauty. Footscray did too with U-H and he barely had contact with the Dogs in his development years.

All the Northern Academies grow the game among kids. In our case we stepped in when the AFL had demonstrably failed to grow the game. We do not get a brass razoo for our efforts and it is self funded.

"You put sfa into his development", sorry to be so frank you have pulled this out of our ass. This is so far from not factual that I'm more inclined to believe the anti-vax crew.

No debate on the efforts of all of Brisbane, GC, GWS, and Sydney for growing the game at grass roots in their states. It's why the AFL provides the pathways they do. I don't even mind it, just pointing out that its greedy to expect the whole cake.

"We've had conversations with every club, but certainly North Melbourne," Reid said.

"We saw what Jason did last Friday night in that prelim for the Panthers. "He's a quality individual and I wouldn't have thought North Melbourne are moving too much on their pick one."

Justin Reid

That would suggest to me we're taking JHF. Directly linking JHF to pick 1 and us. Not that it's much of a surprise

I get what you're saying but I don't think we really need a monster inside mid moving forward. Looking at the top 8 and especially the top 4, how many of those teams have a Cunnington type? Outside of Wines, Tom Green and Josh Kennedy I wouldn't say there are any inside monsters similar to Cunners or Cripps. Oliver, Libba, Selwood, Lyons etc are all very good on the inside but are not monsters and are much more mobile than Cunners. There is no reason Simpkin couldn't perform a similar role to those guys and in fact I'd say he had a better year than all of them bar Oliver and maybe Lyons.

The other issue is unless the player you bring in is seriously elite in the middle and has one or two other assets (Cunners can take a mark and is an elite handball) they get found out and aren't really damaging at AFL level - see Dumont. Solid citizen, but no star.

The three you mentioned Petracca, Bont and Martin are all very strong but are also very inside/outside balanced. We are hoping LDU can play that role. It'd be nice if he could get to their level but even if he is a step or two down he is going to be a very good mid for 4-5 years.

Agree on TT, his best role is going to be floating through the middle and the forward line basically doing what he wants, similar to Martin. JHF should be playing a similar role. You add in Stevo and there aren't going to be many teams that can go with all 3 of them.

Phillips is going to be a mainly inside mid - clean in the contest with a strong defensive mindset.

And I haven't even mentioned Powell. He could be the best of the lot. Actually any of the above mentioned could be.

Basically, I don't think there is a need for a like for like replacement of Cunners, the sum of all parts of the inside work of Jy, Phillips, LDU, JHF and Powell should more than cover him.

This is a really interesting point. Right now it is almost impossible to say who will be our best player in three to five years. It feels like it could b any one of TT, LDU, Simpkin, Phillips, Powell, Horne-Francis, or maybe even Stephenson. Guys like Comben and Edwards could surprise on the upside as well. Exciting times!

That would suggest to me we're taking JHF. Directly linking JHF to pick 1 and us. Not that it's much of a surprise
sorry for the intrusion but Reid is stating the absolute facts there. Of course he has probably asked but got short shrift. No chance north would bother with any offers when they can just take Horne Francis and roll with what will be a monster player for you guys for a long time to come. You guys getting him, Coleman-Jones and a few others I would expect next year a sharp rise - maybe not top 8 but not too far off it like I think the crows will also have. It would be great in 3-4 years time to see a rematch of the 98 GF - both sides building great young lists

Enjoy JHF

sorry for the intrusion but Reid is stating the absolute facts there. Of course he has probably asked but got short shrift. No chance north would bother with any offers when they can just take Horne Francis and roll with what will be a monster player for you guys for a long time to come. You guys getting him, Coleman-Jones and a few others I would expect next year a sharp rise - maybe not top 8 but not too far off it like I think the crows will also have. It would be great in 3-4 years time to see a rematch of the 98 GF - both sides building great young lists

Enjoy JHF

Look, you seems a reasonable person.

But NEVER bring up 1998 on this board again.

Ok, so a nuffie mate messages me with this ripper of a rumour! Yes, he’s dead set ****ing serious!!!

“I’m hearing you blokes are trading Goldstein for pick 1, probably unders, might need a bit of something else to get it done! Pick 1 would be handy for you lot at Norf!”

My reply was informative and to the point!

“You are a ****wit and stop listening to Trade Radio… **** my life!”

Ok, so a nuffie mate messages me with this ripper of a rumour! Yes, he’s dead set ******* serious!!!

“I’m hearing you blokes are trading Goldstein for pick 1, probably unders, might need a bit of something else to get it done! Pick 1 would be handy for you lot at Norf!”

“You are a ******* and stop listening to Trade Radio… fu** my life!”

I'm confused.... we already have pick 1?

Ok, so a nuffie mate messages me with this ripper of a rumour! Yes, he’s dead set ******* serious!!!

“You are a ******* and stop listening to Trade Radio… fu** my life!”
So we still get to keep pick 1 and Goldie after the trade right? Seems like a win win trade for all parties to me. :smirk:

Riley Beveridge on North - 49 minutes in re Wallis, Stengle, KPD depth

Tarrants going to the bombers now apparently

Doesn't have a single clue and you can tell he didn't listen to Noble's latest interview either. Small forward is a big gap on the list.

Look, you seems a reasonable person.

But NEVER bring up that year on this board again.
On a side note RE: THE SCUM THE ADELAIDE CROWS PEOPLE ARE
Walking into the G that horrible day - there was a gaggle of crows fans around a burning effigy of W.Carey perched high up in the tree... chanting all sorts of obscenities. Only for 4 years later to be salivating over him.

DEAD SET SCUM BAGS!

Doesn't have a single clue.
Its really obvious the club are not talking to the media.
They are swinging wildly. Saying some stupid shit.
They have no ability to analyse a list without being fed prompts from our team.
I think its great. Exactly what we should be doing.

On a side note RE: THE SCUM THE ADELAIDE CROWS PEOPLE ARE
Walking into the G that horrible day - there was a gaggle of crows fans around a burning effigy of W.Carey perched high up in the tree... chanting all sorts of obscenities. Only for 4 years later to be salivating over him.

DEAD SET SCUM BAGS!

You might remember that they did a mock version of our song at the time as well.

We didn't kick straight and they capitalised, it happens. It was a pretty classless act though.

Its really obvious the club are not talking to the media.
They are swinging wildly. Saying some stupid sh*t.
They have no ability to analyse a list without being fed prompts from our team.
I think its great. Exactly what we should be doing.
I just had this argument with the * mod that moderates the trade board that we aren't talking to the media. He was insistent were leaking stuff about our pick priorities for CCJ, when the entire article was just guesswork, whilst I posted actual video of Caro sooking it up about CCJ.