Certified Legendary Thread Roos lodge plans for massive Arden St upgrade

• Thread starter Thread starter lockheed

What was the ladies name, Lukey my son?!

I’m putting together a list of women that we need to have bashed by lesbians.

Caro
This ****

I’ve said it before this won’t stop until one of these campaigners is bashed or worse.

There are Venezuelan campaigners sleeping on my street that will do it for a happy meal.
Venezuelan’s! Crikey 😬

In relation to the beautiful photo of the 2nd Oval, why is there seemingly no grandstand around our home ground?
You're expecting them to build us a grandstand as well?

yes-yup.gif

It's been already talked to death in this thread the significant financial requirement for that to happen, let alone the actual space to position it.

But to think, that a plan includes a whole extra field for us to use, and the response to that is "where's my grandstand?!?!?".

To put it nicely, one massive ****ing project at a time.

To put it less nicely, shelve the entitlement.

It's been already talked to death in this thread the significant financial requirement for that to happen, let alone the actual space to position it.

But to think, that a plan includes a whole extra field for us to use, and the response to that is "where's my grandstand?!?!?".

To put it nicely, one massive ******* project at a time.

Who the **** are you to tell me shelve my entitlement?

If I had shelved my entitlement, I wouldn’t be the entitled flog I am today.

To put it nicely, one massive ******* project at a time.

Enquiring a place to sit to watch the team practice/play is not entitlement.

This is the norm for a number of club grounds at AFL & VFL level.

Yes, enquiring, sure...

Further to the thought of somewhere to sit; I’d have thought in this scenario it’s surely better to dream big, a lot easier to negotiate down than it is up, from experience.

I’ve never said the Vic GOV needs to pay for it, we will somehow with some assistance from them, given the need for a 3rd stadium in Melbourne with proximity to a train station.

It needs to be used for 4 games per year ie: the same 4 which are now played in Tassie.

Further to the thought of somewhere to sit; I’d have thought in this scenario it’s surely better to dream big, a lot easier to negotiate down than it is up, from experience.

I’ve never said the Vic GOV needs to pay for it, we will somehow with some assistance from them, given the need for a 3rd stadium in Melbourne with proximity to a train station.

It needs to be used for 4 games per year ie: the same 4 which are now played in Tassie.
Awesome, funding = somehow. No worries there.

Now, we've gone from grandstand to whole stadium, that shouldn't cost all that much more right? Its like getting a bulk deal on grandstands and just putting them side by side.

What they should have asked for is it to be gold plated and 1 million capacity. Negotiating down right? Then it would have been gauranteed!

Awesome, funding = somehow. No worries there.

Now, we've gone from grandstand to whole stadium, that shouldn't cost all that much more right? Its like getting a bulk deal on grandstands and just putting them side by side.

What they should have asked for is it to be gold plated and 1 million capacity. Negotiating down right? Then it would have been gauranteed!

You clearly have never built anything in your life, on a $20bn spend? What’s another $100m?

WACC is still very low.

Sell some bonds, create a coin… I don’t have all the answers but why da **** do we need 2 ovals without a grandstand again?

Yeah surely even a small grandstand for now and then if money permits make it bigger in the future

You clearly have never built anything in your life, on a $20bn spend? What’s another $100m?

WACC is still very low.

Sell some bonds, create a coin… I don’t have all the answers but why da fu** do we need 2 ovals without a grandstand again?
Well go on then, they're taking public submissions.

Go tell them they should give us 100 million just because. You KNOW building right, thatll work for sure.

Please let me know how they respond, i could use a good laugh.

Has there been a significant study done that indicates this overwhelming need for a third stadium in Melbourne? We already have that thing they play soccer and rugba on just a stone's throw from Richmond Station.

Has anyone worked out what has changed from the last plan?
The projected completion date hopefully.

I'll have to have a re-read of the original pdf's and do a comparison.

I'd love for us to have a new grandstand at Arden St and/or some sort of social club. Spectator facilities at the ground, in terms of shelter from the weather and having no social club/bar/cafe/kitchen, are generally worse than any footy ground I ever played at. And I'm talking country footy grounds. As we continue to play AFLW, VFL, VFLW and the occasional AFL practice match at Arden St the facilities for members and spectators need to be looked at.

This shouldn't be taken as an attack on the club. We all know the financial position of the club and the shite state of the facilities back in the mid-2000's. The club obviously had limits on the amount of money to spend on building the facilities at Arden St. When the new facilities were built we didn't have a standalone VFL side and had neither a AFLW or VFLW team. Logically the key priority was to concentrate on the new training and administration facilities. But, as we do now have the 4 teams based at Arden St the lack of spectator facilities is an issue that should be looked at.

Grandstand or social club? Yep, why not both but it's unlikely to happen unless one of us suddenly becomes an uber-rich tycoon. If it's a grandstand I would think it would need to be incorporated into new facilities for the club and wider community. For example, the ground floor would be some combination of new indoor gym space/community facilities/community cafe/function room with the grandstand seating above. On match days the ground floor would be used as a social club but revert to community/club use during other times.
Another option would be to build a new two-story building similar in style to what is already there. Instead of grandstand seating on the first floor you would have a large, flexible multi-purpose space overlooking the ground that could be used as a social club on match days but would also be used to host functions and be available for club/community use. A community cafe linked to The Huddle on the ground floor is something that should be considered. It would not only improve the facilities at Arden St but would link in nicely with the good community focus of the club and would likely be good PR for any such proposal. I think this option would be the more likely of the two options to have hopes of being built.

Negatives? Lack of money, ongoing costs. Problems with council/community NIMBYS & NOTE's regarding taking up more free space for the building.

I think the positives massively outweigh the negatives and I hope that something like this can be built in the coming years.

Well go on then, they're taking public submissions.

Go tell them they should give us 100 million just because. You KNOW building right, thatll work for sure.

Please let me know how they respond, i could use a good laugh.

You think I have time to read this shit? Submit proposals and feaso’s for a company I don’t work for or own?

I’m just telling you how the world works in my experience, you don’t have to agree with me, but your Schtick don’t fly with me on this topic - whether you think we can build a grandstand or we can’t build one - you’re right.

It appears you’re against social climbing, which I frankly don’t understand.

Has there been a significant study done that indicates this overwhelming need for a third stadium in Melbourne? We already have that thing they play soccer and rugba on just a stone's throw from Richmond Station.

The requirement is for us, so that there is no further commentary on us leaving the State. Ever.

You think I have time to read this sh*t? Submit proposals and feaso’s for a company I don’t work for or own?

I’m just telling you how the world works in my experience, you don’t have to agree with me, but your Schtick don’t fly with me on this topic - whether you think we can build a grandstand or we can’t build one - you’re right.

It appears you’re against social climbing, which I frankly don’t understand.
Against social climbing? The hell are you talking about?

The second oval is major expansion, a massive success should it get done. But you dont even know why we need it, even though you're talking about solidifying our status in victoria.

And ive never said im against a grandstand. But then you're not reading the report you're commenting on, so i doubt you're reading much of anything.

Against social climbing? The hell are you talking about?

The second oval is major expansion, a massive success should it get done. But you dont even know why we need it, even though you're talking about solidifying our status in victoria.

And ive never said im against a grandstand. But then you're not reading the report you're commenting on, so i doubt you're reading much of anything.

I wouldn’t read a government submission unless you paid me.

Send me an executive summary FFS.

Lol so the Bombers are planning an upgrade of Windy Hill that's a carbon copy of our model.