To those who defended Kepler in the past.

Donsforever

I know this has been discussed but I thought it needed another thread on it to re-enforce it. I have always not been a fan of Kepler Bradley and have always thought him to be a shocking footballer with limited ability and have come on this board and seen people defending him. Well just a quick message well actually a 2 and a half hour message of his game today I hope will open your eyes and show you that he is a disgrace. Actions speak a lot louder than words and his sure did today. He is a disgraceful footballer and should never ever be in the side again regardless of the injuries we might have.

I for one have always defended Kepler.
It is very easy to just sack, or get rid of players, much harder to show faith and wait for them to develop.

Having said that i am seriously thinking that he may actually not mature into a good footballer now, but rather than bag him, i would prefer to watch him as the year goes on and hope he improves.

If not i would be happy enough for us to delist him.

Kepler has got ability.

He's still a relatively young player and it just seems to me that he doesn't know where his body is at.

I mentioned this in another thread but look at guys like Rhys Shaw and Jason Gram. Basket cases and laughing stocks a few years ago but have improved out of sight.
Could anybody ever imagine Rhys Shaw being this good after witnessing the 2003 grand final ?

At this stage in his career needs to be played as a run with ruckman or a tall wingman just to get his confidence up.

Sadly, he is just too much of a liability in defense at the moment.

Just be patient with him.

I have defended him . Today he was crap . Doesnt look good on last year and this year so far but you get that with young talls. Im waiting to see what happens over the whole season and not just one poor game so far.

I for one have always defended Kepler.
It is very easy to just sack, or get rid of players, much harder to show faith and wait for them to develop.

Having said that i am seriously thinking that he may actually not mature into a good footballer now, but rather than bag him, i would prefer to watch him as the year goes on and hope he improves.

If not i would be happy enough for us to delist him.

Must say I agree with you on this one Merv. I guess people just love to have a scape goat. It's always been a problem at Essendon, as im sure it is at other clubs. Did actually turn to my dad when Kepler backed into the pack in the last quarter and took that mark and said "Now this next bit is what we need to worry about". You got to feel for the dude, he is a bit gangly like an ostrich, bet he wish he coulda buried his head in the G after that clanger.:(

Tall players need time.

Tall athetic players need even more time.

He will come good. Give him time. He has the body, the athletic capabilities. What I think he needs is a set position, rather than playing hm everywhere.

I mentioned this in another thread but look at guys like Rhys Shaw and Jason Gram. Basket cases and laughing stocks a few years ago but have improved out of sight.
Could anybody ever imagine Rhys Shaw being this good after witnessing the 2003 grand final ?

Are you getting Rhys confused with Heath.

Rhys made almost as many mistakes as Bradley out there. I didn't think he's any sort of player..

Bradley, hmmm... just don't know where to from here for him. I want him to succeed but I can't see how he'll get a game unless we have injuries.

Tall players need time.

He will come good. Give him time. He has the body, the athletic capabilities. What I think he needs is a set position, rather than playing hm everywhere.

A set position won't improve his kicking skills. I read a lot of posts from Essendin supporters about this bloke and most of the time I put this down to him being the favourite whipping boy...but watching him today was embarrassing. I honestly can't remember him having an effective disposal. Pretty sure he turned the ball over with his first three kicks. It was almost as if the Collingwood players anticipated a clanger when he got hold of the ball.

Mind you he had a few mates today and I think you found out a bit more about some of your blokes today when the pressure was applied.

Lovett was looking for the easy kick today
Mark Johnson looked like the game has gone past him
Watson again showed his limited kicking skills
Mal Michael is not the footballer he once was
McPhee is a little too stop start and often breaks the flow of your game
Laycock is lazy and soft

On the plus side Davey was exciting again. Really died out in the second half though. Perhaps he suffered from the four day break. Stanton was pretty honest also. Hard to find a winner other then that. Probably did well to get that close considering how many of your blokes were down today. Hope you don't take this as a troll....just giving an honest assessment from an outsider point of view.

A set position won't improve his kicking skills. I read a lot of posts from Essendin supporters about this bloke and most of the time I put this down to him being the favourite whipping boy...but watching him today was embarrassing. I honestly can't remember him having an effective disposal. Pretty sure he turned the ball over with his first three kicks. It was almost as if the Collingwood players anticipated a clanger when he got hold of the ball.

Mind you he had a few mates today and I think you found out a bit more about some of your blokes today when the pressure was applied.

Lovett was looking for the easy kick today
Mark Johnson looked like the game has gone past him
Watson again showed his limited kicking skills
Mal Michael is not the footballer he once was
McPhee is a little too stop start and often breaks the flow of your game
Laycock is lazy and soft

On the plus side Davey was exciting again. Really died out in the second half though. Perhaps he suffered from the four day break. Stanton was pretty honest also. Hard to find a winner other then that. Probably did well to get that close considering how many of your blokes were down today. Hope you don't take this as a troll....just giving an honest assessment from an outsider point of view.

Fair enough evaluation. Thought Paddy Ryder was sensational again today. Really thinked we missed the kicking skills of Winderlich through the middle. We just didn't seem to be hitting up any leading forwards. I can only really think of the goal that Johns kicked from outside 50 as a goal from a lead.

Lloydy struggled a bit. Kicked three but all gimmes, he seems to have gotten a lot of handoffs or kicks that have slipped over the back of the pack as opposed to his barnstorming leads combined with vice like marking. Could he possibly be a bit scared about stretching out that hard again because of his hammy?

Tall players need time.

He's not big enough or mobile enough to be used as a Tall/KPP. I don't think he has the athletic abilities either, he runs around like a headless chook with one leg.

He's got no special ability, not a great kick, not a great mark.

If he plays to his best ability, what could he possibly achieve?

I just feel sorry for Kepler because Sheedy gave him hope, he's a useless player and has wasted a spot on our list since we drafted him.

Fair enough evaluation. Thought Paddy Ryder was sensational again today. Really thinked we missed the kicking skills of Winderlich through the middle. We just didn't seem to be hitting up any leading forwards. I can only really think of the goal that Johns kicked from outside 50 as a goal from a lead.

Lloydy struggled a bit. Kicked three but all gimmes, he seems to have gotten a lot of handoffs or kicks that have slipped over the back of the pack as opposed to his barnstorming leads combined with vice like marking. Could he possibly be a bit scared about stretching out that hard again because of his hammy?

Did anyone watch him leading today? I don't know if he's taking it a bit easy but he's definitely very slow at the moment, and that is why he hasn't been able to take marks on the lead this year.

I'm a bit worried about him, I hope he gets it back... but he hasn't really played well this season. His goals as you say, are fairly cheap and most of the work if being done by his fellow forwards.

Did anyone watch him leading today? I don't know if he's taking it a bit easy but he's definitely very slow at the moment, and that is why he hasn't been able to take marks on the lead this year.

I'm a bit worried about him, I hope he gets it back... but he hasn't really played well this season. His goals as you say, are fairly cheap and most of the work if being done by his fellow forwards.

Dare I say it.....looks a bit muscle-bound at the moment. Maybe he's lost his athleticism by over-doing the weights whilst injured.

Interesting observation... I reckon we should get a sprint coach in for Lloydy, he needs to get his acceleration back.

I've waited for K.Bradley...waited,waited...more waiting...wait a bit more...next week.....and then...

Today!!,I just exploded into a fury of rage(inside my own head of course...family,kids around etc..) about the spineless,p--sspoor nervous nelly efforts of KB.

Lets all face it FFS!!!!!!!!!!!!! He's hopeless. No aggression,no skill by foot,slow to react to defending....he's a dud.

Just like ---ing Bolton,Barry Young and Symons..players like this make to many errors....even after 30,40, 50 games,they just don't have what it takes to be an elite footballer.

In other news...Jobe has to be dropped,simple. Won't kill him. Dyson is in the same catagory as Bradley. He hasn't got the ticker or the brain to play at league level..he's a panic merchant.

We got killed,murdered in the centre bounces today. We need Winderlich and JJ back in the guts,around the packs and feeding that ball out. Every week.

Bolton...just go away for christ sake son...:(

Kepler is no better now than when he started at Essendon, would probably say worse. Terrible disposal and decision making. Could anyone tell me who was picks 7, 8, 9 and 10 etc when we picked him up at no. 6. Just wondering who we missed out on.

Kepler is no better now than when he started at Essendon, would probably say worse. Terrible disposal and decision making. Could anyone tell me who was picks 7, 8, 9 and 10 etc when we picked him up at no. 6. Just wondering who we missed out on.[/QUOTE]

Doesn't matter does it? That was a few years ago. Its Kepler the player now,we have to worry about. We (the club,Sheedy) have to make decisions on blokes who have slipped off the "play every week" perch and who are in need of a footy reality check playing in the 2nds.

Spewin Neagle broke down.....

Kepler is no better now than when he started at Essendon, would probably say worse. Terrible disposal and decision making. Could anyone tell me who was picks 7, 8, 9 and 10 etc when we picked him up at no. 6. Just wondering who we missed out on.[/QUOTE]

Doesn't matter does it? That was a few years ago. Its Kepler the player now,we have to worry about. We (the club,Sheedy) have to make decisions on blokes who have slipped off the "play every week" perch and who are in need of a footy reality check playing in the 2nds.

Spewin Neagle broke down.....

Oh sorry to ask who we missed out on. Lets not discuss todays game either or any other for that matter, it's all in the past and doesn't matter now, lets just worry about today and the future.

Don't be such a sensitive,sissy girl and focus on the subject at hand.

Bradley has to dropped. This week. I can't stand it any more...!!

Kepler is no better now than when he started at Essendon, would probably say worse. Terrible disposal and decision making. Could anyone tell me who was picks 7, 8, 9 and 10 etc when we picked him up at no. 6. Just wondering who we missed out on.

It was a poor draft for all. Many of the 1st rounders struggle to be named and not too many superstars.

The big shock is that Kepler was just 1 pick after Brock McLean, what a difference one position makes.

We did however pick Stanton at pick 13 in that draft.

Next 4 picks:

Pick 7: Tenace
Pick 8: Raph Clarke
Pick 9: Trotter
Pick 10: R.Dunn

Better Options: (just the obvious ones, most people would be thinking anyone was a better option)

Pick 61: Rischetelli
Pick 72: Shane Tuck
Pick 76: Raines
Pick 11: B.Waters
Pick 33: Adcock

Look, we can bag the crap out of our players but the fact is Bradley needs to have a role and develop in it..Personally i dont mind if he plays VFL for a couple of years in the ruck and comes in and makes an impact..Kepler will play next week cos i doubt Hille will come up..He will get better when he feels he belongs in the team because i really didnt get that impression today..He looked like a kid whoi hasnt played for a very long time and got thrust on the big stage..Beau Waters wouldve been nice..blah, blah..Kep didnt play well today but he does not deserve to be thrown on the scrap heap..People said that about Winders and now we are saying how much we need him..And Winderlich wouldve been delisted if it wasnt for G.O.D...

I've waited for K.Bradley...waited,waited...more waiting...wait a bit more...next week.....and then...

Today!!,I just exploded into a fury of rage(inside my own head of course...family,kids around etc..) about the spineless,p--sspoor nervous nelly efforts of KB.

Lets all face it FFS!!!!!!!!!!!!! He's hopeless. No aggression,no skill by foot,slow to react to defending....he's a dud.

Just like ---ing Bolton,Barry Young and Symons..players like this make to many errors....even after 30,40, 50 games,they just don't have what it takes to be an elite footballer.

In other news...Jobe has to be dropped,simple. Won't kill him. Dyson is in the same catagory as Bradley. He hasn't got the ticker or the brain to play at league level..he's a panic merchant.

We got killed,murdered in the centre bounces today. We need Winderlich and JJ back in the guts,around the packs and feeding that ball out. Every week.

Bolton...just go away for christ sake son...:(

Your thoughts mirror mine exactly. I can cop piss poor play when our team in down, but when they shown a bit of flair, pace, and ability, then serve up that shiite, it does my head in.

p.s. Dont forget slow-mo laycock. he needs to return to the 2's to get some fitness. if we have to, play ryder in the ruck and bolton as a mobiel back up ruckmen. no more KB.

I see why he was selected, given Hille's injury, however the way I see it, this is where the whole Bradley argument is flawed.

It is a myth that he this KP backup player - he simply hardly is played there, and when he does, he is so far away from the level is is laughable, yep, I laughed yesterday. Had to, or else I woulda cried.

Simply put, he doesnt offer any more than a bloke running around the ground trying to get a kick, at a very slow pace with horrible skills if indeed he does find the ball.

The myth that he is this "KP backup" means he is put in the team before a runner, say Houli in this case, however once the game starts, he isnt and NEVER WILL BE a KP given the way he is being used at the moment. The advantage of another runner greatly outweighs his myth-like ability to be a KP backup. He simply isnt, what % of the game did Hille's replacement actually play in the ruck? Davey would have done not much worse as a KP as what Bradley did yesterday as a KP. Thats the laughable reality.

However, I think this game unfortunately has put an exclamation point on his exit. If anyone remembers a game Michael Symmons played against St Kilda at the G I guess a decade ago now, where the whole run of the game changed when he, clear in the middle of the ground, tripped over the ball and himself and made an absolute mess and turned the ball over. That was the point in which it became clearly obvious he was gone. He could never recover.

I think we will look back at this game as the point in which Bradley's AFL career ended. He simply has too too far to go to make it.

It was a poor draft for all. Many of the 1st rounders struggle to be named and not too many superstars.

The big shock is that Kepler was just 1 pick after Brock McLean, what a difference one position makes.

We did however pick Stanton at pick 13 in that draft.

Next 4 picks:

Pick 7: Tenace
Pick 8: Raph Clarke
Pick 9: Trotter
Pick 10: R.Dunn

Better Options: (just the obvious ones, most people would be thinking anyone was a better option)

Pick 61: Rischetelli
Pick 72: Shane Tuck
Pick 76: Raines
Pick 11: B.Waters
Pick 33: Adcock

Thanks gus

Bradley's performance yesterday is likely secure him a ten year career at Essendon as a project player (eg. Bolton).

i reckon. it was a sad day when sheeds got rid of henneman. he didnt get enough of a chance. hopefully they extend his contract and give him time to develop. He may end up a premiership player like dean wallis.