Colm Begley's inside 50's...

May 3, 2005
Brisbane
Brisbane Lions
Scuderia Ferrari, Dallas Cowboys
Is Colm Begley is the best player in our team when it comes to pinpointing the man inside 50?

I lost count how many times his inside 50 kicks hit Johnno and Browny square on the chest yesterday

Absolutely phenomenal foot skills and his reading of the play completely belies the fact he is a newcomer to the game.

GUN!

Is Colm Begley is the best player in our team when it comes to pinpointing the man inside 50?

I lost count how many times his inside 50 kicks hit Johnno and Browny square on the chest yesterday

Absolutely phenomenal foot skills and his reading of the play completely belies the fact he is a newcomer to the game.

GUN!

Both he and Lukey Power i believe are on par for inside 50 passes. Excellent player, can't wait til he bulks up a bit, will be an excellent replacement on-baller to aker.

There is no way he picked up a sherrin for the first time 14 months ago.

In fact, I don't think he is from Ireland at all. He was just a gun youngster carving them up in Australia.

He could do a pretty good Irish accent after a few pints of Guinness, so Leigh tricked everyone and picked him up as a "international" rookie. Unfortunately, he has to continue the charade the rest of his playing career.

Begley's foot passing was absolutely top class yesterday and I really like his style.

Loved the shot at goal from 50 that ended up going through the big ones at half-post high.....after him looking around for someone else to give it off to.:eek:

If he's only been kicking a Sherrin for 14 months, he's the world's fastest learner.

In fact, I don't think he is from Ireland at all. He was just a gun youngster carving them up in Australia.

He could do a pretty good Irish accent after a few pints of Guinness, so Leigh tricked everyone and picked him up as a "international" rookie. Unfortunately, he has to continue the charade the rest of his playing career.

:D

Not to mention all the 'An irishman walks into a bar' jokes that he will have to endure from all the fellas on a daily basis.

Amazing stuff! Looks a better kick than even some of our blokes who have played since they were 5.

They cheeky bugger will probably be telling Browny how to fix his kicking:p

I've thought this for a while. "Colm" is clearly a fake name. I actually reckon he was backpacking through Ireland in the Northern Summer when Gubby Allan ran into him eating in a pub. He had a mouthful of food when he told Gubby his name was Colin Begley. When asked where he was from, he tried to answer Logan East, only for it to sound like Laois. Young Colin then left the pub, whistling La Marseillaise, for it was 14 July.

Brown is pretty good himself, he has hit Johnson on the chest a few times this season, if only his goal kicking was as pin point. Power, Black and Lappin are all pretty good at hitting a lead, pretty amazing that we are mentioning Begley in the same breathe as those guys when it comes to foot skills.

That is amazing, COLM, A LION FOR LIFE :D :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

The GA is HUGE in Ireland, the players although amateur, are revered as living Gods, even moreso than our boys. The GA is an omnipotent archaic institiution that overseas a fantastic sport - albeit one that uses a round ball. The grounds are superb, (cos all the money goes to the administration and not the players!!) and the kudos attached to playing at the top level is awesome. So bearing in mind that our scouts go over there and pick the creme of the crop, Tadgh, Jimmy (hail mary) Stynes, Setanta, Colm etc it does not surprise me that we have a guy who can play sport (probably any sport) well. The correct pronunciation of his name is "Collum"... but we shouldn't call him Gollum. I know a lot of Irish and like them a lot because they are the only other people anywhere in the world who have some idea of how great our game is. Respect. And yes, his disposal skills so far have been top notch. :thumbsu:

The GAA game over here is becoming less and less amateur. when i played at county level, we were lucky to get a pair of boots!!.. now they are well catered for, but while it still remains amateur, I believe there will be a steady flow of young irish guys snapped up for the afl due to kennelly, begley's success. Martin Clarke should be a hit for the pies in the next few years.

The emphasis in current years seems to be on fitness rather than skill, so i suppose that why there can be a natural transition into afl, as they have the fitness levels in place and can work on progressing their skills

Following begley is the main reason i started following brisbane. watching today's game.. they look poor so far:(

The GAA game over here is becoming less and less amateur. when i played at county level, we were lucky to get a pair of boots!!.. now they are well catered for, but while it still remains amateur, I believe there will be a steady flow of young irish guys snapped up for the afl due to kennelly, begley's success. Martin Clarke should be a hit for the pies in the next few years.

The emphasis in current years seems to be on fitness rather than skill, so i suppose that why there can be a natural transition into afl, as they have the fitness levels in place and can work on progressing their skills

Following begley is the main reason i started following brisbane. watching today's game.. they look poor so far:(

Welcome aboard Brogie, it is good to have a diverse range of supporters. As for Brisbane, we have dropped our heads, but we can still fight back, the group needs a stirring Matthew's speech at three-quarter time.

Cheers,

I see that there is a wide range of wierd and wonderful nicknames for the lions players. Has Begley picked one up yet?

BTW Today's game is a killer...very disappointing

yeh i call him begs too.

had a great last qtr tonight i thought. he's coming along at break-neck pace its amazing. developmental potential aside (as in give him games to get him used to the oval ball), he'd nearly make the team as a standard 20 year old out of the draft ATM, he's doing everything right.

Cheers,

I see that there is a wide range of wierd and wonderful nicknames for the lions players. Has Begley picked one up yet?

BTW Today's game is a killer...very disappointing

Glad to have you on board mate. Please don't judge us based on that game.

We normally play a very free flowing, exciting style of footy but the Adelaide Crows shut that down effectively.

Watch our game vs Essendon next week. Will be a cracker.

Glad to have you on board mate. Please don't judge us based on that game.

We normally play a very free flowing, exciting style of footy but the Adelaide Crows shut that down effectively.

Watch our game vs Essendon next week. Will be a cracker.

I love watching Harding and Shermo at the Dome, they seem to do very well on average at the Dome. Also, we can kick accurately for goal (18.1 v Carlton sometime into third quarter)

Colm Begley's inside 50's...