Media Swans Talk in the Media 2022

Our club in the Media

Luke Parker is on the MMM Rush hour with B1 this arvo

Side note: When I was about 21 I worked at a local service station in Ballarat and Plugger came in one day to buy the paper. I told him I was a massive swans fan and had been all my life. I asked him politely if I could get his signature. He just said "No", then turned and walked out LMAO.

Haha...yes, he was not a huge giver to the fans and media outside of the white line, but anyone who tries to spear Eddie with a crutch holds a special place inside my heart:

Plugger lived with my stepmum's family for a few weeks when he first joined the Saints. Always mentions how shy & polite he was.

John is smiling at training!
What was the joke on Nick Blakey?

Found some 3AW sound bites from our game against the Demons.

Don Pyke interview pre-game

Luke Parker interview post game:

Surely the swans media team is the worst in the AFL. Offer absolutely nothing, no behind the scenes, training vids that are over 30 seconds, matchday stuff in the changerooms, vlogs, QA's etc. Like what do they even do, why are they employed? Used to have more 10 years ago. **** them off

Surely the swans media team is the worst in the AFL. Offer absolutely nothing, no behind the scenes, training vids that are over 30 seconds, matchday stuff in the changerooms, vlogs, QA's etc. Like what do they even do, why are they employed? Used to have more 10 years ago. * them off

There is probably no budget for it mate

They don't have a camera and mic? That's literally all you need, plus fundamental editing skills. 10 years ago used to get Sam Reid interviewing different teammates each week, even that sufficed compared to what we have now. Do they forget we have 55k members it may somewhat interest?

Surely the swans media team is the worst in the AFL. Offer absolutely nothing, no behind the scenes, training vids that are over 30 seconds, matchday stuff in the changerooms, vlogs, QA's etc. Like what do they even do, why are they employed? Used to have more 10 years ago. * them off
I think they're fantastic.

if you like Buddy, Heeney, Papley or Warner

I'm happy with what I get. What sort of behind the scenes things are you after?

Whenever I'm scrolling through facebook I get suggestions of other teams going through training drills, coaches interacting with players, pre/post-game footage, or day in the life kind of stuff. I know Hawthorn, Gold Coast, Collingwood, Essendon, Geelong, Bulldogs and some other teams are really good at it. I just think what we get is lazy and boring.

I mean to be fair, I had to download the Freo app a few weeks ago for ticketing reasons and whilst on there I noticed they have a regular segment where a player is interviewed by Mundy & Logue in depth and it's filmed in HD. They have 2-3 training galleries a week, each with about 40-50 photos in it that include pretty much the entire squad (we are lucky if we get one with a dozen in it, and they're usually the same faces.) So then I thought hmmm maybe Freo's is just that good. So out of curiosity I looked at what other clubs were offering and I can say that whilst not everyone's is at Freo's level, ours is definitely the worst in the comp by some margin.

Good heavens. He's actually celebrating you numpty!!!

My god, how soft do you think those poor kids must be. Can see participation awards all over the place.

I just like to complain about the lack of media support we get from the "VIC centred media" like everyone else on here. Shouldn't everyone be waxing lyrical about us?
Exhibit A: Footy Classified - zero mention of the Swans

Exhibit B: Real Footy Podcast - 35mins on Cats game, 10mins on Richmond and Bulldogs, 2mins on the Swans

I just like to complain about the lack of media support we get from the "VIC centred media" like everyone else on here. Shouldn't everyone be waxing lyrical about us?
I agree with you Kelpie.

It’s also the reason when you talk to other vic supporting team supporters the swans are always ‘under the radar’ or ‘where did they come from’ or I never rated the swans until….

It’s because we don’t get as much air time as the vic obsessed media and nsw media is pretty much non existant. So that’s why most of the football public never see us coming because we aren’t talked about.

Having said that, the lid is well and truly off at present and the Swans are getting the kudos we deserve. But also because there is only 6 clubs left!! Shout out to Ticky009 for the great work you do with gathering media on Swans, it is much appreciated 👏

Exhibit A: Footy Classified - zero mention of the Swans

Exhibit B: Real Footy Podcast - 35mins on Cats game, 10mins on Richmond and Bulldogs, 2mins on the Swans

Great evidence!

Exhibit C:

I enjoy listening to crunch time on SEN on a Saturday as they usually spend the majority of the first 30-45mins talking about the Friday night game which has good analysis.

Swans smacked the Bravedogs on Friday night round 17 or thereabouts and I wanted to hear all about it, instead SEN spent the vast majority of the time talking about the Thursday night game which was cats v dees!!

Another slap in the face! Surely it’s a direction from the hierarchy on where they spend their time?

I have a son in law that's an Essendon fan, lucky he's a good sport!
When I interview staff for work I always ask who they barrack for.
Should they say the Bombers I instantly give them a job with no further questions asked.
I know they be free to work in September allowing my family to watch the Bloods in finals.