Training 2023 Pre-season thread

What about from his work though, isn't that what we are talking about, not his 'past'? What has he written / said that's led you to that conclusion? I am genuinely curious - journalism is very subjective so of course people will have different views. For example he is a bit predictable but i don't hate kane cornes. there i said it!

Incidentally I am not a huge Whiting fan, i think he is decent. But i find it strange that he is being targeted by a few people on here - he is very measured in any criticism of the lions, so much so i wish he could actually stop sitting on the fence most of the time.

We had Fagan blow up when Whiting called the Lions sub par v essendon last year - what was he supposed to say, oh great effort boys shame about the injuries? We were terrible that day and it was several senior players that cost us, along with the lead feet of the coaching staff (midfield getting smashed, Adams hobbling on one leg, Mathieson just watching on as sub - just baffling).
I believe he’s only being targeted by one poster here, said poster has voiced his displeasure with all journalists and the profession in general.

surprisingly nice short piece by cornes

Maybe the click moment mentioned in the article was when Cripps was determined eligible for the Brownlow.

Nothing more Lachie could do, time to stop focusing on it and get on with winning the premiership. Which obviously means doing everything you can to help get the best out of teammates.

And no better way to do that than to be captain. As long as he has and keeps the confidence of the players, he will be an awesome captain.

Poor zorks, first year out of captaincy and his consolation is just a premiership ...

Not that i want to share. I've only met him a couple of times but I know some of his past through friends & I draw my conclusions from them. Disagree with the way you describe him but everyone has an opinion and thats fine....I'm just voicing mine.
Not going to comment on Fish specifically but people change. People should be allowed to change in positive direction. If not why not.

We all make mistakes and the beauty of life is that we can learn and change .

That's just an observation without reflecting on what's been said about anyone here. Focusing on the past and carrying it around is a deadend street.

We all make mistakes and the beauty of life is that we can learn and change .

That's just an observation without reflecting on what's been said about anyone here. Focusing on the past and carrying it around is a deadend street.
" Focusing on the past and carrying it around is a deadend street."
Says the man with a profile picture of Kevin Murray (I think) wearing a pre 80's Fitzroy jumper.;) But I agree with you 100%

Anyone know if we are playing full afl length quarters on Friday against Sydney?
Not a fan of the 12pm kick off but I am sure people on here will fill us in on the action for those of us who are unable to watch the game.

My comment re- fish, preferably crumbed with lots of fresh squeezed lemon juice and a good sprinkle of salt! mmmmmmm
Salivating Homer Simpson GIF

Anyone know if we are playing full afl length quarters on Friday against Sydney?
Not a fan of the 12pm kick off but I am sure people on here will fill us in on the action for those of us who are unable to watch the game.
I believe it's 25 minute quarters, with no time on. Similar to how it's been in the most recent intra-club games.

Sydney v Brisbane, Tramway Oval (Moore Park), 12pm AEDT (4 x 25 min, no time on)

In case you intend to watch on Kayo/Fox

The unofficial match simulations are organised between the clubs and their duration, number of players involved and number of breaks will vary as they don't have to follow the standard AFL structure. As a result, there will be no live scores and stats from these matches.

All of the unofficial match simulations will be live streamed on Kayo Sports and broadcast on Foxtel, while there will also be a free live blog on AFL.com.au and the AFL Live app this Friday for the six matches around the country

I don't get the hate directed at Whiting.

if he was such an evil bastid then why would the club keep him on the inside?

He regularly gets inside mail, which means he is their strategic leaker/spruiker.

Doesn't pass the pub test that he's an [)(*&^%$><, as far as I am concerned.

He regularly gets inside mail, which means he is their strategic leaker/spruiker.

I don’t think there’s much hate directed at Fish, outside of one poster I think most have good things to say about him and appreciate the majority of the work he does.

They don't look photoshopped to me. See link below.
The original point i was making is the other 6 players should have been done by now but are still blank.
Now with team photos complete there is no excuse to not fix it up.

Every player photo is old. They're in the old kit. Classic on the collar instead of the Maccas logo

The one person who has posted some negative comments re: Fish has seemed likely to have a personal connection to a player at the club through what they've posted in the past.

I am just guessing here, but it's relatively common for players and their loved ones to hold long-term grudges against journos who ever write something even slightly critical of the player. Wonder if that might be the source of the angst on this occasion.

The one person who has posted some negative comments re: Fish has seemed likely to have a personal connection to a player at the club through what they've posted in the past.

I am just guessing here, but it's relatively common for players and their loved ones to hold long-term grudges against journos who ever write something even slightly critical of the player. Wonder if that might be the source of the angst on this occasion.
Footy clubs are a breeding ground for people to lose their perspective.

Some club people I know from the '70's are still raw about what was or wasn't done to them.

It's funny listening to what you've heard 1000 times before.

Coaches often thrived on the us against the world principle . Hard to shake off the anger training.

I think those days are mostly over but resentment against the press is a common theme that lingers somewhat. Listen to Bevo ,Malthouse , Clarko ,countless others.

Sheedy and Barassi used to put press articles in players' lockers to fire them up. Knowing Sheedy he probably put the journo up to it.

Anyone know when the Captaincy will be awarded? Thought we might have something before Friday.

Sent from my SM-A525F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Think I heard Fagan say the vote is this week,maybe was today or will be tomorrow.

Anyone reckon the club will provide a link for the replay ? I feel they have done it for scratchies in the past.

Training 2023 Pre-season thread