Autopsy 2023 Rd 8 Mediocre Blues gone after Quarter time

Who played well for the Blues in Round 8 vs Brisbane?

Have a look at our next four games the only game I think we’re a chance in is against the cheats other than that it would be miraculous to win one of the other four
Dogs we are a chance, and Swans aren't going very well. We wont beat the pies unless we get 10 goals up at 3 quarter time. I am thinking 2 wins, at best.

Apart from Pies no other side is as good as Brisbane who we play the next 4 weeks.

I don't mind going slow. The issue is that there aren't enough options being presented. It's like the players know it's going to be chipped around so no one presents (regularly). Player with the ball has no option but to go sideways because everyone else is flat footed.

Need more movement ahead of the ball.

We also need to work on decision-making as a priority because we consistently make some really dumb choices.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Watch the peak three peat hawks when they went into possession mode. The off the ball movement was awesome. Clear an area out for someone to lead into. Chip mark. Then teams played man, they go fast and the gun forwards found space 1v1. I understand the point of possession but you're right. It requires the next kick in the chip chain being presented. Our smalls rarely work up the ground to help. Our wingers are glued to the sidelines and don't help and the big bodied mids all want to take contested marks.

Mod notice.

Let this be a warning to you all.

If we see any further posts suggesting we should drop the Carlton Respects program, you will be infracted.

If you believe a football club deviates from its purpose by championing gender equality, you are as bad as those who believe gender equality isn’t needed.

This is exactly what we don’t want to see. Not here and not in society.

Wow that was hard to watch at the game with my 2 sons. Not surprised to hear that we came back into the game when it was already well and truly lost. We, like about a third of the crowd, couldn't get out of there quick enough.

I don't think I have ever seen us play a game with worst disposal. It's like we were playing for the Clanger Cup. Surely the majority of their score came from turnovers?

Weiters looks like he doesn't care any more. Made multiple stuff ups and it didn't seem to bother him at all. He used to be the general in defence, he now hardy talks to the other defenders. Something massively wrong.

Might have been different on TV but if someone had of told me that Walsh was a late out, I would have believed them. Did not notice anything positive he did.

Blacres might as well been wearing a Lions jumper as he hit them lace out more times than I could count. Just demoralising stuff.

Adam Cerra was our best by far and almost the only one who can hold his head high.

It was a very depressing train ride home.

Not sure if we have the players or coaches to turn it around.
Weird to come on here and actually admit to leaving at 3/4 time. Can say we'd never have done it or whatever, but the mentality that the game was over at 3/4 time is the sort of thing people are potting the players for

Mooney on fox footy said it best. This team just can’t handle pressure. When pressure is on then they just go into their shell. Happened today and happened last year when they needed to win a game to make finals and they couldn’t handle the heat.
Its been the case for years. Opposition know,apply the pressure and the Blues go to water.

Mooney on fox footy said it best. This team just can’t handle pressure. When pressure is on then they just go into their shell. Happened today and happened last year when they needed to win a game to make finals and they couldn’t handle the heat.
I don't think you can even compare last year to this year. Last year we played some good footy and yes, shit the bed when the pressure was put on us in the last 4-6 weeks.

This year, we haven't played any good footy,.....at all (don't include playing witches hats last week, that was a training drill). The w E come up against a half decent side and get pushed aside easily. We lost by 4 goals, but that was an 8 goal hiding in performance

Poles apart to last year.

On CPH2005 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Far out, my irony detector was obviously malfunctioning when I started your post as I was thinking your first line was serious for about half a second, which is way too long.

The only two quibbles - I think there's a case for Dow replacing Honey (more at half forward though) with big stints in the middle, but I honestly (I'm biased) think Fisher should probably be in there instead of Honey. The other is that I think we actually have a much better than average ruck, don't we (maybe aside from tonight)?
Yes re Fisher in that Honey role, no re Dow, it wouldn't work. Though anyone offering less than Honey would be difficult.

Honestly I wouldn't be upset if we dropped him. Complete c grader at the moment. Kennedy played with more intensity in a quarter than Cripps did in 4.

Offers nothing offensively and defensively. Figjam of a captain and always goes to water before we lose a coach.
The change in his game from several years ago is appalling, has been coached terribly to allow it to fester. Used to be the most team orientated, sacrificial player I've probably ever seen. Brought others into the game constantly. His greatest asset was his contested gather and quick release handball, one of the best to ever do it. Now we get treated to this lazy superman crap interspersed with zero defensive intent, no chasing etc.

Good on you for pointing it out because very few people are willing to acknowledge this huge, ongoing problem.

Mod notice.

If we see any further posts suggesting we should drop the Carlton Respects program, you will be infracted.

If you believe a football club deviates from its purpose by championing gender equality, you are as bad as those who believe gender equality isn’t needed.

This quoted post is exactly what we don’t want to see. Not here and not in society.
Lol people are weird. Thinking our loss comes down to evil wokeness. **** people are dumb.

Its been the case for years. Opposition know,apply the pressure and the Blues go to water.
What was a Adam Simpson quote, 'we know Carlton will be up for a fight but we know it won't last the full game'

Probably nothing like the actual quote but you get the drift. Good sides don't respect us (for good reason)

On CPH2005 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Mod notice.

This quoted post is exactly what we don’t want to see. Not here and not in society.
Mate, with all due respect, did you see and appreciate my last line about the horse and the kicking? If this is an irony-free zone, fine, but otherwise I'd appreciate an apology for the mis-read.

Also please look at my comments in the game thread about muting certain key words to get a feel for my position. There are few things that are more ridiculous than people thinking Sayers and Cook (or heaven forbid, board members who might be of a different gender to what I assume is most people here) are personally responsible for game day performance because of the positive things the club is aiming for with Carlton Respects etc

Honestly I wouldn't be upset if we dropped him. Complete c grader at the moment. Kennedy played with more intensity in a quarter than Cripps did in 4.

Offers nothing offensively and defensively. Figjam of a captain and always goes to water before we lose a coach.
While I wouldn't go that far re losing a coach, and I don't think Voss is going anywhere just yet, nor is anyone trying to get Voss out the door. I do think our midfield structure just seems out, too all or nothing.

As I have said before if I hear Cripps is playing hurt, wtf play him. Its just stupid.

We made 75 turnovers to Brisbane’s 79. Ours were very very costly. We lack dare at key periods of the game and they go into their shells. If that’s due to a lack of confidence after making an error or not I’m not sure.

Statistics don’t always tell the full story I’ll give you that. But this has become a trend of our midfielders getting high possesions but lacking any hurt factor. These stats paint a bit of a picture when it’s a pattern.

If you’re ok with the game plan then there’s no point having further discussion and let’s agree to disagree.
I never said anything about the game plan, that is a coach issue, and I have no idea what it could be.

I'm just an old codger who does'nt think that stats are the 'be all and end all' of the discussion. Clearly, by your own submission, leading in important stats does not equate to a a win. So what is the point?

I dont analyse games the way you do. We got smashed around the contest. The Brions were able to stand up in tackles to dispose (sometimes illegally, but not penalised) of the ball. Carlton were not able do do the same.

"moneyball".

C'mon, I hardly think most people around here (but not you, I'm sure) have enough faith in stats to buy into a proper moneyball approach. Plus, I don't think there's enough predictability in football (the fact there's an opposition doesn't help) to offer an opportunity to really moneyball it. PLUS plus, like "humblebrag", no one seems to use "moneyball" correctly
Apparently after all these years, no one knows what moneyball is. Its simply a statistical analysis centered around " on base percentage " being undervalued in the game of baseball and a better indicator of offensive success than decades of baseball knowledge by team scouts. Because on base percentage was undervalued by the baseball scouts, the analysis showed that these players were cheaper to acquire.

I never said anything about the game plan, that is a coach issue, and I have no idea what it could be.

I'm just an old codger who does'nt think that stats are the 'be all and end all' of the discussion. Clearly, by your own submission, leading in important stats does not equate to a a win. So what is the point?

I dont analyse games the way you do. We got smashed around the contest. The Brions were able to stand up in tackles to dispose (sometimes illegally, but not penalised) of the ball. Carlton were not able do do the same.
I am not saying our coaches are doing brilliantly, but do you think player for player we are as good as Brisbane?

Honey had 2 marks and a disposal efficiency of 37.5%. If he'd served up a performance like JSOS tonight it would have been a vast improvement.
Honey has played less than 10 games. Jack has played over 100. How much longer can he keep being defended?

As much as I don't want to agree, I do.

There are belief issues, psycological hangovers.

Apparently after all these years, no one knows what moneyball is. Its simply a statistical analysis centered around " on base percentage " being undervalued in the game of baseball and a better indicator of offensive success than decades of baseball knowledge by team scouts. Because on base percentage was undervalued by the baseball scouts, the analysis showed that these players were cheaper to acquire.
I can't see too many stats in AFL lending the game to a moneyball approach, except for maybe metres gained

Mate, with all due respect, did you see and appreciate my last line about the horse and the kicking? If this is an irony-free zone, fine, but otherwise I'd appreciate an apology for the mis-read.
No, I didn’t.

I saw the opening lines and used that as the reminder I needed to put the foot down.

If you were using it to make a point about it being a ridiculous stance, whilst I agree with you, I say let’s find a better way to do it.

My comment wasn’t solely directed at you anyway. I did try make that clear. You weren’t interacted for it.

Also please look at my comments in the game thread about muting certain key words to get a feel for my position. There are few things that are more ridiculous than people thinking Sayers and Cook (or heaven forbid, board members who might be of a different gender to what I assume is most people here) are personally responsible for game day performance because of the positive things the club is aiming for with Carlton Respects etc
I was on sporadically through the game. I’m sure you can appreciate my reluctance to trawl through the game day thread.

Anyway, play on. As above, it wasn’t directed at you specifically, and apologies if you thought it was.

Dogs we are a chance, and Swans aren't going very well. We wont beat the pies unless we get 10 goals up at 3 quarter time. I am thinking 2 wins, at best.

Apart from Pies no other side is as good as Brisbane who we play the next 4 weeks.
But all these teams have to do is apply a little bit of heat and we’re done it’s really that glaringly simple …

Completely deflating. Apart from beating Geelong (we got them at the right time and wouldn’t go close to them now), we’ve failed every test against a top 8 contender - St Kilda, Adelaide and Brisbane. Our disposal is woeful when we’re put under the slightest pressure. Really concerning and disappointing.
Team is absolutely rooted. There's no coming back from here. Will bet anything we won't make finals.

Autopsy 2023 Rd 8 Mediocre Blues gone after Quarter time