Review Round 23, 2023 - Collingwood vs. Brisbane Lions

• Thread starter Thread starter ZoBlitz

Who were your five best players against Collingwood?

How good was it seeing Charlie Cameron go back and help out in defence

maynard is a flog but is the kind of guy you would love to have on your footy team. love the way he goes about it personally

on the other hand murphy is a pissweak dog and him copping the full karma bus from rayner and ending up in tears on the bench was just deserts

Ticked most boxes. Still need to stick more tackles. Think Chuck enjoys being the linchpin when Gunston’s not there. Dev should’ve tucked his dangling bits in and not given them something easy to tackle - it’s that sort of attention to detail that keeps you in the 18. Nice to see Neale’s form turn the corner.
I was quite happy when Dev let his dangling bits dangle...

I've always liked what Dev brought as, far as attitude and attack went. Weirdly that period last night of him shirtless sort of speaks to him 100% - he's pretty focused and work manlike and not much distracts him. Maybe he doesn't have the finesse but he's got the grunt.

More please [emoji16]

maynard is a flog but is the kind of guy you would love to have on your footy team. love the way he goes about it personally

on the other hand murphy is a pissweak dog and him copping the full karma bus from rayner and ending up in tears on the bench was just deserts
Have to agree with both your calls but he's still a massve flog

Luke hodge asked if any player would make us better.. and he said Gunston very important for our structure and he would be a straight in if he recovers. If we make a grand final and Gunston somehow recovers and has played no games

I hope fagan does not bring him straight in . Our pressure and ball movement looked so much better.

OK reading this thread is doing my head in. What’s with this positiveness? What the F%^&.
I am not used to such exaltations of my club.
Where’s the sack Fagan mob, where’s the “our assistants suck and we need new voices?” What the f%$^.

I miss the good old days of coming here and be bathed in pessimism, spew and Fagan pet-ism.

Homer Simpson GIF

And for some balance.

Love and admire the O but surely he can be coached to improve his boundary throw-in technique....appears so slow and always behind....frustrates me to death.
I spoke to Stef Martin about the same thing years ago.

Remember how Steff used to FIGHT for the front position

He is such a talent...anyone who knows footy can understand why it's impossible not to have him in your best 22 each week. ;):rolleyes::p
We, who are not uncritical Rayner fans, want to know how we can get more games like last night.

That's the frustrating part.

Let's see if Gunston being out releases the Rayner

Charlie's spoil was sensational... May not have shown up well on TV but he came from a mile away. Showed exactly the same speed he shows at the other end of the ground. Even the pie fans were saying "what's he doing there!".

And yes he blocked for Hippy to run into goal which I loved, especially when he was originally calling for the ball. Really selfless act.
Charlie's spoil looked fantastic on TV, he was great 👍

Rayner absolutely huge tonight. There were a couple of contests where he had no right to break free and find space but he managed it.
He certainly ate his spinach
How many wrap around bear hug tackles did he make ,totally dominated.
This is his spinach,nourishment for the attacking side
Great game,maybe his role in the side when gunners is playing, somehow confines his involvement.
He seemed to be all over the park at different times
A lot of the talk on the Demons and Port boards is about avoiding having to play a final at the Gabba, especially in the first week
sounds like I’ll have some stressful moments coming up getting finals tickets 😂
How do we do this again Gads

I was fortunate to be able to go to the game last night and got there nice and early to get a good seat. We were unfortunately surrounded by Collingwood supporters but they were very quiet 🤫 for some unknown reason so it was a good night. No complaints about the umpires last night as well. Despite being a sell out I reckon there were about atleast 10 thousand seats available which was very interesting 🧐

I read 3KZ comments about the players and he was spot on. Overall it was a clinical performance with very few errors made and everyone doing their job. At the end of the game I was trying to think who were our best players and you could have picked half the team which shows how even the playing strength is. We were in front from start to finish but gee Collingwood is a fabulous team if they get close to full strength they will be hard to beat. As soon as you make a mistake they come back at you and fast. The ball can come from the backline at lightning speed and they can score before you can blink. They use a lot of hand ball to get out of congestion and then they are away. There was one point in the game when they kicked 4 goals in 5 minutes and it was clinical . You could not do a thing about it.

To me the good thing about the game is the eveness of our performance every one did their job and we hardly had a bad player. Although I must admit Payne’s form is a concern. He just doesn’t use his strength to compete in contested situations at the moment. I am hopeful this problem is rectified he just needs to make the opposition forward earn his kicks. I was also really impressed with Lyon when he came onto the ground as the tactical sub his footwork was sublime and disposal and decision making A grade. I reckon he has earnt his spot.

Like the under 8's - all played well.

In years to come we will be debating who was the biggest draft steal - Jaspa or Will. I can see Jaspa developing into a Noah Anderson.

Not surprised. Even my weary eyes can still enjoy and appreciate outstanding views :tongueoutv1:
Ha ha , me too I might be old but I wouldn’t mind if that happened to a couple of our boys each each . Great viewing and adds excitement to the game 😂

Each week I meant .

A great win and as such we did not give up 2nd spot.
It was a bit of a shootout but with our forward power i did not mind that.
A good game of AFL to watch.
Accurate kicking 19-10 and a better spread of goals each quarter 6, 3, 5 & 5 ensured a win.
Fagan and Swanny mentioned our last quarters were discussed.
We appeared to move the ball forward by foot much quicker than the previous 5 weeks.
Kiddy a bit rusty in the first few contests but was excellent after that.
Overall, a great team effort and we were up for this game right from the start.
Hopefully Linc and Ah Chee are good for the finals.
Poor Ah Chee he finds strange ways to get injured and none are his fault.

Fagan revealed after Friday night's triumph - the Lions' sixth-straight over Collingwood - that Neale had been struggling with illness and injury.

"Walking off the ground last week, I said 'mate, you can have a week off next week if you think it's gonna help you'," Fagan said.

"I think that might have sort of been like 'nah coach, I'm not having a week off, I'm going to prove to you that I'm going to be right to play'. That's just Lachie Neale.

"This week was the first time he's been able to get out on the track and train normally and I think he got a lot of confidence from that.

"He's a pretty tough sort of guy, but the season had worn him down just a little bit physically."

Utility Cal Ah Chee (back) and forward Linc McCarthy failed to finish the game against the Magpies, but Fagan is hopeful the pair will be right for finals.

Great performance, played a full 4 quarter effort and got the win comfortably. Our forward half of the ground had an amazing night, what I liked the most (as has been mentioned) was the desire to Shepard and keep space for each other.

Special mentions to Ah Chee, who was dynamic again before he got tunneled out of the contest. I hope he can come back next week because his form this year has looked incredible. Imma give Rayner some props as well, throwing his weight around and kicking goals looked so dangerous out there. Still needs to improve his marking as he had a lot of opportunities to take some big grabs. If he can nail those he will easily kick 5 in a final.

Midfield was good, defs some room for inprovement. Neale was back to his best and looked quick around the ground again. Might be something to him being a bit sick the last few weeks. Dunkley wasn't really able to shut out Pendles who almost singlehandedly got them back in front in the third. Oscar was good unto Cox came on and then he got toweled up. But he was looking for the quick handball inside a little more so some improvement there.

The ruck contest and by extension center bounces is our biggest weakness as a midfield group. I didn't think Lyons was terrible last night, but we went 6-2 in CC in the last quarter where our setup was Oscar (9 CBA), Neale (9) Dunkley(8), Lyons(5) McCluggage(5). We went 5-4 in the 3rd running Robertson / Rayner / Bailey through there. There isn't much we can do about Oscars center bounce taps, but we need to keep more pace around him to protect our defense. A lot of Collingwood goals came directly from center bounce and because we are such a high scoring team, we need to be able to defend them better.

The other problem tonight was Collingwood got a lot of marks inside 50 in heavy traffic. We haven't really seen that happen too much the past few weeks and.i thought Payne Andrews and Lester all did an average job of spoiling the high ball. Pies forwards did a good job spreading us I guess but really we should of killed 4-5 of their marks inside 50. Payne hasnt looked "right" since he did his ankle a month or so ago so hopefully the week off gives him some recovery time.

Last sign off, how important is Coleman to our ball movement. Guy is an absolute gun!

Oh, we also out ran them for KMS across the game. Maybe fitness isn't an issue after all.