Preview 2023 National Draft Preview Thread [currently: #2, #14 (PA), #19 (PP) #40, #52, #60]

If we have picks 2 and 3 don't be suprised if they turn into 4 first round picks with future first rounders comining into play. I'm sure they would already have 2024 draft kids on the board. Fans will have a meltdown but smart money says you load up on early picks when you can. The only advantage this club has is early draft picks, nothing else, literally nothing else. Other teams went to town on GWS and Suns. Cameron and Lynch to top teams, equal competition AFL, you are having a laugh.

Sooooooooo hill and pickett have shone tonight - think we need to take Watson

These small guys are team changers

The counterargument is both players are finishing products with Pickett brought in the year before the Demons flag and Hill brought in the last trade period for the Pies. Both teams have the other pieces in position. We most certainly do not.

Mate I’ll live in my world where the wizard make everything better 😛

Admittedly have only just started looking at this draft but is anyone else feeling really uncertain about who to draft? Previously I had LDU (should have been no 1), Thomas (will be at least top 5 retro), JHF, Shez and Wardlaw as lock them in no questions asked we have to take them. You just had to watch a few of their games, like two. But this draft, I get Reid, ready made and will step in and will roll into the midfield like he's 25 not 18. We are stacked with midfield talent already, we could end up like GWS, salary dump mania. They should have won a flag already. Curtain interests me the most, would not be suprised if West Coast take him, he had 25 pos as a midfielder at 195cm omg. Would not be suprised if Eagles and us overlook Reid to load up on as many high picks as possible to increase the odds of landing one or two guns. Recruitment teams are going to need to earn their money, or maybe it's just pot luck this time. Please no champion data. This is the draft that will looked back upon as what could have been or you nailed it. Over to you Brady, no pressure at all.

Chances of us overlooking Reid if WC happen to? Nil.

He's a modern day jack mahoney
No , Jack Mahoney was an inside mid we tried to make into a small forward, it’s a specialist position very few can play. Watson can play this role and will translate into an excellent small forward. I’m kinda resigned to us not getting him and will enviously watch on as he has a 500 plus goal career and wonder why we didn’t select him. Oh well

If we do does what would that mean for Phillips? He really is 100pct inside mid and from what I gather so is this guy.
Yeah we are quite stacked in the middle. But if we could play Swallow (post-achilles), Ziebell and Cunners in the middle at the same time, I reckon we can fit Phillips, Sanders in there with LDU, Wardlaw, Sheezel, and Tarryn running through. Simpkin moves to a wing/half forward where he's most damaging. Can you imagine how difficult we'd be to play against with Phillips, Sanders and Wardlaw a constant presence applying pressure, blocking and releasing LDU, Thomas and Sheezel. It's going to be insane. I also think with a bigger tank, Phillips and Sanders play different roles. Sanders the Mitchell-like playmaker who can direct play, Phillips breaking out of the middle and hitting that 30m short pass like Boomer would on the regular. There's space for all of that and it'll make our midfield very hard to match up on. But who knows, maybe I'm talking shit and their styles clash or are too similar.

So does that make Jack Mahony, to whom one would usually apply this description, but from whom it has now been stolen, just an intangible entity? A vapour of some sort?
Has Mahony been trialled as a lockdown small back? He’s tenacious, diligent and is footy smart. It might be a move which limits the impact of his athletic weaknesses.

My point was Shez and Wardlow were easy picks. The selection meeting would have lasted 5 mins and then lets go to the pub and celebrate we have a job for a few more years. Tell me your pick 2 and 3? Clarko would be expecting a 5 day deepest of dives analysis and if your screw this up your out.
Easy picks? 5 out of the 6 look guaranteed to be very good to me. Reid, Walter, McKercher, Watson and Duursma are locks to be excellent players. Curtin should be excellent too unless the team that drafts him plays him as a key defender.

We can't really mess this up but I'm sure we'll try.

He ran 20m in 2.92 during preseason 2022. My guess is he'll go sub 2.9 at the combine.
How do u remember that so far back? What was his agility pls? IMO that tells me more about him being quick.
I'm not a huge fan of the combine particularly for guys we know are going to get drafted and most recruiters think the same. The combine data is great for bolters or kids that are 50/50 to get drafted.
The speed test that AFL clubs look at is the GPS data. This is a lot more accurate as it measures the players output on the ground with and without the ball in hand in various conditions. I love watto but there are quicker players than him with ball in hand. Windsor looks very comfortable and quicker running and bouncing with the ball.

How do u remember that so far back? What was his agility pls? IMO that tells me more about him being quick.
I'm not a huge fan of the combine particularly for guys we know are going to get drafted and most recruiters think the same. The combine data is great for bolters or kids that are 50/50 to get drafted.
The speed test that AFL clubs look at is the GPS data. This is a lot more accurate as it measures the players output on the ground with and without the ball in hand in various conditions. I love watto but there are quicker players than him with ball in hand. Windsor looks very comfortable and quicker running and bouncing with the ball.

I get pre-testing numbers from the Coates League each year.

I disagree RE: Watson not showing his speed but I've said all I need to about him so I'll leave it at that.

EDIT: I will clarify that 2.92 was off the top of my head. His time was 2.932

I get pre-testing numbers from the Coates League each year.

I disagree RE: Watson not showing his speed but I've said all I need to about him so I'll leave it at that.
I didnt say he wasnt showing his speed. He is clearly quick. I said AFL recruiters dont really care about draft picks like Watson what they run in a 20m sprint at the combine. I also said his agility would be a better guide as to how quick he is. Can you share that pls? I also said I love Watto so don't take my comments as anything else.
Recruiters care more about GPS numbers. Do u know what his top speed has been this year during games?

My five cents worth:

I'm assuming that we get pick 3 for Buckets and that we don't have to pay for Sanders with our current picks.

Take Curtin with pick 2. So I'd like us to be creative with pick 3, if we can get two more picks in the top 10. If we can manage that, I'd take Watson and then O'Sullivan. These picks address obvious gaps in our list, and we can top up again with midfielders in next year's draft.

I’ve come around to curtin/Watson
Can we downgrade pick 3 to say pick 5/6 and get Watson plus something else
Would gws hand over 6 + 12 for pick 3
6 becomes 8 after a Walter bid and McKay compo. I think its possibly too late for Watson and it would also be at serious risk of being absorbed by a sanders bid, if we can’t prelist him.
Maybe the dees 5 + 15 could work?
Otherwise gold coasts pick 4 is the one.

My five cents worth:

I'm assuming that we get pick 3 for Buckets and that we don't have to pay for Sanders with our current picks.

Take Curtin with pick 2. So I'd like us to be creative with pick 3, if we can get two more picks in the top 10. If we can manage that, I'd take Watson and then O'Sullivan. These picks address obvious gaps in our list, and we can top up again with midfielders in next year's draft.
I think we should just take the 2nd and 3rd best players on our draft board. Seemed to work well last year.

Acquiring two more picks in the top 10 isn't a straight forward task.