If we’re trading back I’m taking 3x high risk, high reward types and hoping one pays off. Blokes like Collard, Murphy, Delean.
Interesting strategy! You’re clearly a 40/1 shot punter!

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
If we’re trading back I’m taking 3x high risk, high reward types and hoping one pays off. Blokes like Collard, Murphy, Delean.
I'll take 10... pass on the other 2 as there are better still out there.Agree 100% with your trade suggestion but differ with some of your selections that I think Wells will go
10. Tholstrup
14. Hastie
20. Stevens
Part of the reason is so that draftees can complete school and exams, so they can focus attention to prepare for exams and enjoy the end of school. Plus some people would decide not to bother if they were drafted so trying to maximise the opportunities they can get.Why is there a 6 week interval between the trade period and the draft?
Part of the reason is so that draftees can complete school and exams, so they can focus attention to prepare for exams and enjoy the end of school. Plus some people would decide not to bother if they were drafted so trying to maximise the opportunities they can get.
Agree on Hardie.Hardie was very average in the VFL. Very. Genuinely surprised he was kept. Kroeger on the other hand looked promising the 4 mins he played in two years. Looked like he had an AFL size to him.
Oh well the club see them everyday and very rarely let good ones go of their own choice.
Gotta take at least one KPP surely.Agree 100% with your trade suggestion but differ with some of your selections that I think Wells will go
10. Tholstrup
14. Hastie
20. Stevens
Hardie was very average in the VFL. Very. Genuinely surprised he was kept. Kroeger on the other hand looked promising the 4 mins he played in two years. Looked like he had an AFL size to him.
Oh well the club see them everyday and very rarely let good ones go of their own choice.
Why is there a 6 week interval between the trade period and the draft?
Part of it is it wouldnt have been fair to cut hardie after 4 months and no pre season after he had to leave his job to move over here. Also we are very thin for talent in the 24-28 age bracket so if theres a slim chance he comes on it makes sense to give him 12 months.
Pretty convinced we will trade down in this draft having read the predicted outcome of picks preceding our first. I think we’d hoped that Sanders might fall to us initially but that’s now unlikely with the Dogs wanting to replace their ageing inside midfield group. If Curtin or Caddy fell it would make us stop and think I would think but the likes of Twomey expect both to go a bit earlier.
The trade that appears most likely is with Adelaide. I’m hoping that our picks 8 and 25 will be traded for 10, 14 and 20 with a F3 going back to them.
Would allow us to still I think pick up some handy types and address a few holes in our list.
I’d be targeting Leake with pick 10. Just looks a Wells type. Versatile, tough and would bring some good footskills. Has a bit of toe too. Can pretty much play back, forward or in the middle.
Taken me a little while to really warm to this guy but I’d be taking Charlie Edwards with 14. Think there’s still a lot of development in him. He’s a great size for a mid, can win his own footy and has very good endurance. Kicking is good but can improve. Good overhead. Think he would compliment our young midfield brigade.
Pick 20 for me is a toss up between ZZ and Hastie. Having taken 2 mid sized players with the first 2 I’d probably lean to ZZ. He’s pretty raw but a competitive beast and has a terrific athletic profile. See him most likely as a KPD moving forward to accompany SDK.
If he’s gone no qualms in taking Hastie. Have liked this kid since I first saw him. Local kid who would bring some good line breaking speed out of defence. Good decision maker.
With one of our last picks I’m taking Philactides. We are in desperate need of a tough small defender. This kid is it. Would represent good value at this part of the draft.
And his last two games, stats-wise, were good - 26 disp, and 23 & 1.
I think 8 for 10 and 20 is likely but if we are getting 14 as well i think it costs us more than an F3.
I agree leake is a wells type personally not the pick id take id rather wilson but i can see it.
Tholstrup is useful if we trade back.
I do like ZZ and we need a key back but he is very boom/bust. Id prefer osullivan at 10 but it depends who is there.
For me demattia is obvious if we trade back hes a very safe pick. Im also much higher on clay hall than most people. Id look at stevens in the r2 if we dont take hall.
Hardeman and roberts are reasonably sure bets as half backs for me.
Im also not against jiath or billy wilson but it depends how early you want to take spec picks.
It will be interesting to see if we take a ruck later in the draft (with stanley and blitz old we probably should). Im not against green or goad or joe pike depending on how the cards fall.
Collard is too much of a flight risk i doubt anyone outside WA takes him. Murphy is very much a development player. I like delean but structurally im not sure he helps us fill a list need. If we end up with 3 decent picks at least 2 of them need to be a mid and a quality tall.
Because the clubs arent supposed to contact the kids during year 12 exams.
Leake looks like a very talented player... But he looks more of a flanker that is a good mark overhead for his height.
He looks a bit like a shorter Ollie Henry when forward and a bit like Zuthrie when back and I don't think we are desperate for that type of player atm.
Personally, I'd be way way way more keen on a Darcy Wilson type who can accumulate through the middle and run/create (in saying that Wilson will likely go a few selections prior to Leake so it may not be an even contest comparing them).
I certainly like the look of Leake but not at our first selection (even if we trade back a couple of spots I still don't love him at that selection).
As a second pick after nabbing a guy we really like, sure I'd happily have him. He has talent for sure.
The fact they extended him says there is alot off field and something on field they like in him.. He comes across as someone who will be the first player to arrive and the last player to leave the training track.
Agree with this.Hes interesting. In his first halves he looks dominant (not to the level menegola was in 2016 in the vfl but theres similarities) and then seems to go quiet. Whether its related to fitness or something else only the club will know. But i think he has ability.
All the guys I'd consider basically... All have good speed, and with good upside. I reckon Edwards will be available around 25-30, but we could even get creative and trade a pick back and add another pick for next year, that's if we pull off the Crows draft haulPretty convinced we will trade down in this draft having read the predicted outcome of picks preceding our first. I think we’d hoped that Sanders might fall to us initially but that’s now unlikely with the Dogs wanting to replace their ageing inside midfield group. If Curtin or Caddy fell it would make us stop and think I would think but the likes of Twomey expect both to go a bit earlier.
The trade that appears most likely is with Adelaide. I’m hoping that our picks 8 and 25 will be traded for 10, 14 and 20 with a F3 going back to them.
Would allow us to still I think pick up some handy types and address a few holes in our list.
I’d be targeting Leake with pick 10. Just looks a Wells type. Versatile, tough and would bring some good footskills. Has a bit of toe too. Can pretty much play back, forward or in the middle.
Taken me a little while to really warm to this guy but I’d be taking Charlie Edwards with 14. Think there’s still a lot of development in him. He’s a great size for a mid, can win his own footy and has very good endurance. Kicking is good but can improve. Good overhead. Think he would compliment our young midfield brigade.
Pick 20 for me is a toss up between ZZ and Hastie. Having taken 2 mid sized players with the first 2 I’d probably lean to ZZ. He’s pretty raw but a competitive beast and has a terrific athletic profile. See him most likely as a KPD moving forward to accompany SDK.
If he’s gone no qualms in taking Hastie. Have liked this kid since I first saw him. Local kid who would bring some good line breaking speed out of defence. Good decision maker.
With one of our last picks I’m taking Philactides. We are in desperate need of a tough small defender. This kid is it. Would represent good value at this part of the draft.
I'd have Leake no worries at all... Just not keen on taking a flanker with our first selection.Think it’s his versatility that really appeals aside from his ability. Beautiful kick too which we are a bit lacking in I reckon.
I like Wilson too and would have no trouble picking him - just have some nagging concerns about his ability to win his own footy at AFL level. Probably unjustified though.
Hardie did go well early in the guts but yep he seemed to be switched forward in games after solid starts in the middle.Agree with this.
His first halves he seemed to play majority midfield and was getting some nice numbers and was handy by foot.
After half time he looked to move forward and went missing for the most part.
You would think that would come down to fitness and maybe giving others a go in the midfield..
No current season stats available
I was giving them 25 as well.
8, 25, F3 > 10, 14, 20
For me it’s Leake v Tholstrup and Edwards v DeMattia. I’ve gone the former with both. Not by much though.