January 26th 2025

Unfortunately it's not worth doing because one side of politics has spent the last decade screaming about why nobody cares about the 26th any more and trying to blame all and sundry.

They'll oppose it, and nobody can be bothered entering into their culture wars, so what's the point?

By aggressively and pre-emptively opposing any changes to Australia Day, the LNP and friends are slowly consigning it to the bin. And the more it declines, the more they scream about it.

Boxing Day is Hot Cross Buns and the LNP complaining about Australia Day.
I think you're getting confused here.

There is only debate because some people want to change the date. If nobody wanted to change it then the people who are ok with it would have no need to debate.

Just common sense, why would someone argue for something that he/she is happy with and nobody opposes.

I think the real issue here is people who want to change the date are upset that there is push-back. It is up to them to argue their case to get the status quo changed. It is not on the status quo to argue why the status quo needs to be kept.

Havent read all 31 pages.
And ive posted this before

I reckon we need to have a three day public holiday celebration for the nation being the first weekend in February.

On the Saturday we celebrate our indigenous history. The indigenous community can organise events and a celebration of their culture.

On the Sunday we celebrate all the people who have come here since we were colonised. Multicultural day of celebrations. From the British to the Italians and Greeks, the Chinese, Vietnamese and those from Africa.

And then on the Monday we celebrate the future. By doing the most Aussie thing - having a day off work.

I call in the Australia Forever long weekend

I'm interested to know what was the purpose, and I quote the op, schneebly111

'Probably time to fire up this year’s annual Jan 26/Australia/Invasion/Survival/“just another public holiday” thread.'?

I'm going to fairly assume that this is just a way to express outrage about british ties and treatment of Aboriginal people. A way of stoking a culture war to go fishing for the rightiies.

But throughout the thread, there's claim that 'nobody cares anymore about the day' from the op. Links of articles supporting the claim i:e a good amount of effort to find supporting evidence and doing so with what some would consider emotional posting to say that 'no one cares anymore'

Fair enough, if you wanna air your grievances, it is a public forum after all, go nuts, just come out and say it.

As for the day itself, I don't think the bulk do care one way or the other, they're not interested in celebrating british ties, they just want a PH.

The only problem is the british ties, we can't escape the fact that we have british ties, because the british colonised the continent, and this is the cause of pain and trauma for our first nations people.

So in my mind, doesn't matter what day

Will the pain and trauma ever be erased?

On the Sunday we celebrate all the people who have come here since we were colonised. Multicultural day of celebrations. From the British to the Italians and Greeks, the Chinese, Vietnamese and those from Africa.
The bolded is the problem though.

I like the sentiment of your post, but it's idealistic to think all and sundry will be satisfied.

The bolded is the problem though.

I like the sentiment of your post, but it's idealistic to think all and sundry will be satisfied.
yeh. if people protest on day two - immigrant day, the following year people can protest on day 1 in protest of the earlier year protest.

There is only debate because some people want to change the date. If nobody wanted to change it then the people who are ok with it would have no need to debate.

Just common sense, why would someone argue for something that he/she is happy with and nobody opposes.

I think the real issue here is people who want to change the date are upset that there is push-back. It is up to them to argue their case to get the status quo changed. It is not on the status quo to argue why the status quo needs to be kept.
The people who really really want to change the date and will fight (politically) are few.
The people who will fight to to keep it are more than them.

The vast number of people don't care enough to fight either way and are becoming apathetic about the whole thing.

Dutton and co aren't getting their knickers in a twist because people are actively trying to change the date. They're upset the current date is now a fizzle. They wish with all their heart the Govt would try to change the date because then they'd have something other than a windmill to tilt at and get their base fired up and suck others into another culture war.

[I don't mind getting sucked in here, because it doesn't bother others and I'm bored]

The people who really really want to change the date and will fight (politically) are few.
The people who will fight to to keep it are more than them.

The vast number of people don't care enough to fight either way and are becoming apathetic about the whole thing.

Dutton and co aren't getting their knickers in a twist because people are actively trying to change the date. They're upset the current date is now a fizzle. They wish with all their heart the Govt would try to change the date because then they'd have something other than a windmill to tilt at and get their base fired up and suck others into another culture war.

[I don't mind getting sucked in here, because it doesn't bother others and I'm bored]
To my knowledge the only time Dutton has commented on Australia Day this time around is in answer to questions being asked of him at a press conference.

I agree that generally the burden falls to those wanting change to put up a good reason for it, otherwise if we were to constantly have to justify the current state of everything there'd never be an end to it.

But if those advocating change put up some good arguments for it, then it is reasonable to expect those wanting the status quo should then have to refute those points or re-justify the status quo. "Because that's how it currently is" or "We have always done it that way" don't really hold water.

Otherwise we simply would never improve.

I agree that generally the burden falls to those wanting change to put up a good reason for it, otherwise if we were to constantly have to justify the current state of everything there'd never be an end to it.

But if those advocating change put up some good arguments for it, then it is reasonable to expect those wanting the status quo should then have to refute those points or re-justify the status quo. "Because that's how it currently is" or "We have always done it that way" don't really hold water.

A significant amount of the responses you get also veer fairly rapidly in to putting down the Aboriginal community as well, then wonder why their 'arguments' aren't treated as particularly compelling.

Unfortunately it's not worth doing because one side of politics has spent the last decade screaming about why nobody cares about the 26th any more and trying to blame all and sundry.

They'll oppose it, and nobody can be bothered entering into their culture wars, so what's the point?

By aggressively and pre-emptively opposing any changes to Australia Day, the LNP and friends are slowly consigning it to the bin. And the more it declines, the more they scream about it.

Boxing Day is Hot Cross Buns and the LNP complaining about Australia Day.
It's not declining. They said the same about Anzac Day once, it's got even more popular.

So just been to the local Coles and Woolies.

Absolutely zero “Australia” stuff at Woolies. Not a hint of any items.

At Coles the “Australia” themed plastic junk was one shelf, barely had been touched, it was a dark corner at the back of the store well away from where most people shop, and the display wasn’t marked in any way “Australia Day”. It looked like an afterthought, like the store manager thought “shit we’d better put some flag crap on the shelf somewhere so some bogan doesn’t come in here and harass us”.

At all the other stores at the shopping centre - ZERO promotions for Australia Day at any outlet.

However I did notice something interesting. At both Coles and Woolies the Chinese/Lunar New Year display was in a more prominent position, had half of the shelves empty (people are actually buying that stuff), and was clearly marked “celebrate Lunar/CNY 29th of January”

I would portend there’s more Australians who celebrate Chinese/Lunar new year (not just those of Chinese background, Asian Australians make up 1/5 people here now) than those who deck themselves out in flag gear on the 26th.

That’s with absolutely zero media acknowledgment of the day. I say we make CNY/Lunar NY a public holiday in recognition of how prominent Asian culture is now in Australian society. Better than a day observing British convicts hoisting a Union Jack

It's not declining. They said the same about Anzac Day once, it's got even more popular.

Totally incorrect. Crowds at Anzac services are plummeting:

And what’s happened since 2019? No wars, nothing to promote the military, Australia’s most “elite” military unit and soldier have been exposed as war criminals, and now the Australian military is begging for foreigners to come full their ranks because young Aussies have no interest in enlisting.

That's Conservatism wrapped up. No intention of improving. In fact, they'll happily suggest we were better in the past. As I said, it's sliding into apathy rather than opposition, so nobody will really bother
To my knowledge the only time Dutton has commented on Australia Day this time around is in answer to questions being asked of him at a press conference.

Then Michaelia Cash's Op-Ed full of nonsense (incorrect facts) and now Dutton and Price have an Op-Ed where you can read 8 Paras about how being born in Australia is to "win the lottery of life", and then 15 paras to finish off complaining about everything from "inner-city elites" to an IPA poll about kids preferring socialism (because Dutts doesn't know what a socialist democracy is), the lack of Council ceremonies and no London Australia Day, the Voice Referendum, and Woolworths, Big W, KMart and Aldi.

Starting to think Coles are behind Dutton's frothing.

So just been to the local Coles and Woolies.

Absolutely zero “Australia” stuff at Woolies. Not a hint of any items.

At Coles the “Australia” themed plastic junk was one shelf, barely had been touched, it was a dark corner at the back of the store well away from where most people shop, and the display wasn’t marked in any way “Australia Day”. It looked like an afterthought, like the store manager thought “shit we’d better put some flag crap on the shelf somewhere so some bogan doesn’t come in here and harass us”.

At all the other stores at the shopping centre - ZERO promotions for Australia Day at any outlet.

However I did notice something interesting. At both Coles and Woolies the Chinese/Lunar New Year display was in a more prominent position, had half of the shelves empty (people are actually buying that stuff), and was clearly marked “celebrate Lunar/CNY 29th of January”

I would portend there’s more Australians who celebrate Chinese/Lunar new year (not just those of Chinese background, Asian Australians make up 1/5 people here now) than those who deck themselves out in flag gear on the 26th.

That’s with absolutely zero media acknowledgment of the day. I say we make CNY/Lunar NY a public holiday in recognition of how prominent Asian culture is now in Australian society. Better than a day observing British convicts hoisting a Union Jack
I think that highlights how ****ed this country has become. Too scared to fly the Australian flag. Happier to embrace foreign cultures. It's a sad indictment.

1). The flag has been tainted because a bunch of racist ****wits wear it around like a cape every year.

2). The flag looks like shit.

Who is anyone too scared to fly the Australian flag? Who is threatening them?

Are you suggesting that Chinese culture is foreign to Australia?

Australia is a multicultural society with Chinese culture being a part of that.

And don’t worry there’s plenty of people who’ll still fly the flag:

8E2B07F5-1590-4AF7-92F0-1436E8324784.jpeg

E1D5CA81-FC01-4ADF-917D-F5002438DF14.jpeg

5D693924-DE64-4C3C-AAE7-12FE994C0650.jpeg

I'd find it embarrassing to have an Australia flag on my vehicle or property for fear of being associated with Dutton, Sky and those type of people.

Study found those who fly Australian flags from cars more likely to support the White Australia Policy

Also known to beat up brown skinned people by the beach, attend anti migrant rallies and promote anti vaxxerism.

Some would say ordinary citizens need to “reclaim the flag” but that’s too far gone now, no one wants to re-establish pride in a British inspired symbol of racism.

Either we get a new flag or just carry on with the situation where flying the current one easily identifies you as a racist

Study found those who fly Australian flags from cars more likely to support the White Australia Policy

Also known to beat up brown skinned people by the beach, attend anti migrant rallies and promote anti vaxxerism.

Some would say ordinary citizens need to “reclaim the flag” but that’s too far gone now, no one wants to re-establish pride in a British inspired symbol of racism.

Either we get a new flag or just carry on with the situation where flying the current one easily identifies you as a racist
Billy Bragg wrote a book called The Progressive Patriot where he talked about trying to reclaim the St George's Cross from the bigots.

This one please. At least it has our national colours and no other national flag on it. Looks good too.

View attachment 2209131
That’s quite nice. We can change the flag and still be a constitutional monarchy. I wouldn’t be against that.

January 26th 2025