Bigman’s Training Reports

No, you're wrong. Particular board members chair football strategy and list management committees. They very much drive operational decision making via those committees. I'd do less googling and more thinking for yourself.
Those functions are not actually board roles - at all. Completely separate. Just like a CEO who happens to have a seat on a board does not perform any of his operational and management duties as part of his function on the board. So a list committee management role is not tied to the person’s board responsibilities just because it is the same person. I don’t have to Google this.

Riccuito was chair of the list management committee as part of his footy director role.

As an unpaid volunteer who's fitting in some meetings around the club in between his multiple other businesses, what kind of influence do you think he had?

I know we like to cast Ricciuto as a boogeyman, but I think it's more realistic to believe that the list management decisions - for better or worse - are almost completely the responsibility of the full-time staff in those roles.

As an unpaid volunteer who's fitting in some meetings around the club in between his multiple other businesses, what kind of influence do you think he had?

I know we like to cast Ricciuto as a boogeyman, but I think it's more realistic to believe that the list management decisions - for better or worse - are almost completely the responsibility of the full-time staff in those roles.
Lol. Roo has had a major say in all our coaching appointments. He’s head of list management and strategy.

To suggest he’s just a tick and flick is a bit silly and naive.

In a good way, not a fat way. He looks like a solid unit rather than unfit. He did well.

The issue is he’s now an unrestricted free agent, if he gets an opportunity and plays well, we can lose him for nothing.

Just had to keep Smith on the main list.

It's pretty funny that posters reckon the only reason we didn't delist Smith was due to salary cap and yet we couldn't even bear to convert him to the rookie list.

So you don't think the committee operate as committees usually do? The club has them purely for optics? I th8nk it's time you woke up.

Lol. Roo has had a major say in all our coaching appointments. He’s head of list management and strategy.

It's unreal,we're effing Cole's Myer, it's a football club. Chappy himself said that his chairperson role was 20+ hours per week. Forget how boards theoretically run in the real world, this is a sporting club. It's extremely common that interested board members get involved in operations. And especially when they're chair in the key footy ops committees. To suggest he has had little influence is laughable.

Id still be mildly surprised if he is, given the lack of football in the last 12 months.

Before Cumming got hurt and spent time in the rehab group I would have said theres no chance, now.... not sure.
I'm happy to provide the club some "feedback" if Laird and Smith are our half back flankers. They were prominent for their poor football last year in a bottom four team. No leadership. No examples to the youth. No apparent change to their crappy and old fashioned way to football. No visible prospect for this year to improve. No foot speed. No effective foot passing (each for different reasons). No line breaking. No run and carry. No clear supportive or instructive evidence to the younger back line players...and to be brutally harsh... No evidence of actually trying to fix any of their flaws.

Smith selected round 1 gets Nicks under the microscope. Laird playing half back for longer than say three weeks, like he did late last year gets Nicks under microscope. Two time AA and multiple bnf means little if you can't produce NOW... Reputation is built on history, not on potential.

Senior players had a different role when we were building and had young guys everywhere. But now, many of these young guys deserve a game. A reputation might help in a weak club. But good clubs will make every player earn their place. Nicks has a record of selection bias. This preseason hasn't really shown much different really with the selections.

I won't be shocked if Smith and Laird are at half back but I'll be very disappointed that an off season like ours resulted in nothing more than picking the players who "lead" the team last season to 15th.

The media will have a field day with us...again

I'm happy to provide the club some "feedback" if Laird and Smith are our half back flankers. They were prominent for their poor football last year in a bottom four team. No leadership. No examples to the youth. No apparent change to their crappy and old fashioned way to football. No visible prospect for this year to improve. No foot speed. No effective foot passing (each for different reasons). No line breaking. No run and carry. No clear supportive or instructive evidence to the younger back line players...and to be brutally harsh... No evidence of actually trying to fix any of their flaws.

Smith selected round 1 gets Nicks under the microscope. Laird playing half back for longer than say three weeks, like he did late last year gets Nicks under microscope. Two time AA and multiple bnf means little if you can't produce NOW... Reputation is built on history, not on potential.

Senior players had a different role when we were building and had young guys everywhere. But now, many of these young guys deserve a game. A reputation might help in a weak club. But good clubs will make every player earn their place. Nicks has a record of selection bias. This preseason hasn't really shown much different really with the selections.

I won't be shocked if Smith and Laird are at half back but I'll be very disappointed that an off season like ours resulted in nothing more than picking the players who "lead" the team last season to 15th.

Hopefully with the quality the club has brought into the football department including list management I am hoping that the Nicks golden ticket system becomes non existent and he has to justify his selections especially with the competition for spots. So I am anticipating a change here. Under performing players will be sent packing. TBH I am not even convinced Smith will get a game even if he plays good Sanfl footy. Youd promote Ryan well ahead of him.

Bloke should have 100% been traded for hopefully a late second or whatever we could get from him to try and grab the likes of Dodson. Think he's hit his ceiling, and that ceiling will forever be just a solid C grade foot solider. Very little scope for further growth or improvement imo.

Cash in now and get us a god damn developing ruck

They pushed him out into the market and there were no takers.

It's the same as they did with Crouch the other year.

Wild to think that the Football Director of a club just pops his head in for a cuppa 4hrs a week to say hi to the boys.

He's fairly tall, great kick, scores goals. There's a way in for him if he's able to get involved more.
Unfortunately we play him in football Siberia on the HFF and he's not able to accumulate much on his own.
I agree he has the attributes, but I just cant see him jumping others in the pecking order, I am not even sure what pecking order he should be in either, does the club?

I'd really like him to break out and be that guy. Unfortunately... not sure he will. Hope he proves me wrong.

You could add Milera as well. I could see us playing all 3 within a few weeks, especially if we lose a game or two

The whole list management thing with Smithers has been handled horribly if you ask me. Smithers has been a great player for us for a long time and he doesn't deserve the disrespect he gets from a lot of supporters. In saying that however, he shouldnt be anywhere near the side moving forward.

The games trigger was bad enough but playing him while he was so out of form until the trigger only to basically discard him once he go there is unforgivable and it clearly hampered us at what was a strong draft year.

Don't worry mate, quite clear some don't understand how a corporate board functions, let alone a footy one. Some just like to sit here and complain about every little detail they can for every free moment of the day, no matter how ancient the history is.

It's funny seeing people are throwing the baby out with the bathwater just with the PROSPECT of Smith and Laird being flankers (there has been no indications this is on the cards throughout preseason but go off lads, not good for the blood pressure though).

Fact is this list is in a good spot to compete for finals; we have a good mix now of seasoned players and youth. Yes, that includes the whipping boy Laird. Who will almost certainly help our GB retention and distribution in D50, now he's out of the midfield mix.

Expectations for this list should be between 10th - finals, but competition is so close it's difficult to say if this is a guaranteed finals list. Coaching wise though, finals are the only way in my mind for Nicks to keep his job.

The whole list management thing with Smithers has been handled horribly if you ask me. Smithers has been a great player for us for a long time and he doesn't deserve the disrespect he gets from a lot of supporters. In saying that however, he shouldnt be anywhere near the side moving forward.

The games trigger was bad enough but playing him while he was so out of form until the trigger only to basically discard him once he go there is unforgivable and it clearly hampered us at what was a strong draft year.
The disrespect comes from frustration of supporters who can clearly see that he has passed it but neither he nor the club seem able to see the glaringly obvious. As you say, he shouldn't be anywhere near the team. Similar story with Sloane - one of the greats of the club but just went on a few seasons too long and became a liability, both in terms of what he produced on field and also in the fact that while he was doing it he was also taking a spot that could have been used for trying young players who could have given just as much.

Now with Smith, if we're talking about half back then with the likes of Milera, Hinge, Cumming, Nankervis and Ryan ahead of him, probably Laird as well if he's getting squeezed out of the midfield, plus the option of moving Dawson back there if the midfield is ticking along ok... we would have to be having some kind of epic injury crisis for Smith to even be in consideration, wouldn't we? A guy that age should not be on the list just to be used as depth in the SANFL. The SANFL side should be developing the next generation of players coming through, not being used as a retirement home for those near the end of their careers.

Barely any training today, lads came out in singlets for about 30 minutes for some light skills before going back in. Could be a gym day, not sure.

Sholl, Hinge, Keays and Soligo were no shows.

Max and strachan did some running.
Maybe just a light session after the internal trial the other day?

Barely any training today, lads came out in singlets for about 30 minutes for some light skills before going back in. Could be a gym day, not sure.

Sholl, Hinge, Keays and Soligo were no shows.

Max and strachan did some running.
I was thinking that with the introduction of games each weekend now, they would shift to 'in-season' mode as far as scheduling of training.

Bigman’s Training Reports