Game Day Community Series. North Melbourne v wc Saturday 1/3/25 Bunbury WA

Phillips has been a senior listed player for 5 years and was a number 3 pick.
I’m not sure why people seem to bring up Phillips to defend McKercher?

Did people actually watch the game? McKercher had 15 handballs and most of them were absolute garbage.

At least when Phillips gets he can distribute to his teammates by hand and put them in an attacking position. McKercher is more likely to put them in hospital with his hand balling. His decision making is horrendous a lot of the time.

Is that all you have to say?

So you were happy with the constant turning it over by hand or hospital hand balling?
He's a 19yr old that had 24 disposals at 63%. Im not sure what you want me to say. Your boy phillips is four years older and had 18 at 61% playing on ball. Colby is going to be one of the best in the comp.

Would much, much rather lose a game to bad goalkicking than bad structure, bad motivation etc. Eight more scoring shots= tick. Should've had them on toast by half time, didn't, paid the price.

Doesn't teach us anything particularly positive for R1, but it doesn't particularly teach us anything negative either, aside from the fact that Corr's underdone worst is woeful, which we already knew. Happier to sit and await what R1 holds than I was after the Dees game

Would much, much rather lose a game to bad goalkicking than bad structure, bad motivation etc. Eight more scoring shots= tick. Should've had them on toast by half time, didn't, paid the price.

Doesn't teach us anything particularly positive for R1, but it doesn't particularly teach us anything negative either, aside from the fact that Corr's underdone worst is woeful, which we already knew. Happier to sit and await what R1 holds than I was after the Dees game
We looked really good. Usually takes Corr
three or four games to get going and then he's really good.

He's a 19yr old that had 24 disposals at 63%. Im not sure what you want me to say. Your boy phillips is four years older and had 18 at 61% playing on ball. Colby is going to be one of the best in the comp.
15 were hand balls and he is going at 63%.

People on this board overrate him. He will not be near the best in the comp with terrible decision making and shit skills.

His DE% should have been way lower, but Champion data count an effective disposal even if you have sold your teammate into trouble.

Phillips isn’t my boy at all, but I find it strange that anyone is using him to justify how shit McKercher was.

A zero gamer in FOS looked better than both of them. At least he doesn’t panic and sell his teammates into trouble.

We looked really good. Usually takes Corr
three or four games to get going and then he's really good.
Corr’s shit. He’s a spud that sucks the air out of this team with his constant brain fades.

He hit that West Coast player beautifully in stride to give them a goal because he is shit like most of our defenders.

Today showed that it doesn’t matter how dominant we are ball in hand, if you’re going to bleed goals every time the oppo eventually get it forward you’re gonna lose.

Yes and no.

West coast scored 71 points.

We’d take that as an average score against all season. Also kicking 11.5 was rather accurate vs 9.15 shows that the ease of which west coast locked goals wouldn’t have mattered if we were more accurate/them less accurate.

Don’t het me wrong. Theres lots of room for improvement. But the backline as a whole isn’t responsible for archer and Chom forgetting that sometimes it’s best to go long and hit the boundary.

It’s the second week in a row we have dealt with windy conditions worse than our opponent. But it was better than last week and we play 3 out of 4 at marvel to start.

Corr’s shit. He’s a spud that sucks the air out of this team with his constant brain fades.

He hit that West Coast player beautifully in stride to give them a goal because he is shit like most of our defenders.
I assumed by your name that you were 30+, I'm now guessing your between 14 and 17?

Honestly bizarre performance from the commentators today. It was always absolutely clear that North hadn’t done enough to hold off WC with such a massive breeze. Painting it out like North had absolutely dominated throughout the game was crazy. West Coast were in front at half time!

Another long season ahead of us.

We'll be nowhere near it for round 1, even with all the Dogs outs.

Honestly bizarre performance from the commentators today. It was always absolutely clear that North hadn’t done enough to hold off WC with such a massive breeze. Painting it out like North had absolutely dominated throughout the game was crazy. West Coast were in front at half time!

Another long season ahead of us.
Well that's an interesting opinion, I actually think the opposite, to a point, I think with what I saw last year, we are going to improve quite a bit. Taking all the positives & negatives together and factoring in several other things I'll be quite shocked if it ends up being a long season and in fact I'm positive it wont be! ;)

Won’t go as far as all this, but I was really disappointed with his intent to defend. For a bloke blessed with so much pace, he just jogs back the other way far too often. I mentioned to a mate that was watching with me, I wouldn’t be surprised to see him dropped back to the vfl at some stage for a kick in the pants if he doesn’t address this. Did not want contact at all today, and same again last week.

I’m prepared to die on this hill alone if I have to, but we are wasting everyone’s time playing Chom in defence, I know we aren’t blessed with ready made options but he is not and will never be a defender. His 1 on 1 stuff is shockingly bad. The only effective thing he does back there is take a few uncontested intercept marks a game but then he has to kick it. Still think he’s better served at CHF so we can complete in the air up forward.

I don’t think Logue was that bad tbh, Corr was a mile off it, every time you seen him he was trailing Waterman by 5-10m. I can’t see us getting ourselves too far off the bottom with this defensive unit.
Waterman makes bloody good defenders look shit. He’s a gun.

The midfield group is on the doorstep of being elite. Ultimately they’ll be our biggest barometer and will likely be what carries us to wins throughout the year.

Our backline is stale. Logue and Comben both seemed to have lost a step and Corr needs to find form quick. I have faith the coaches can see there is a personnel issue back and am hopeful someone puts there hand up quick. Having FOS behind the ball immediately make our back 6 balance improve, and we can more easily replace his minutes at wing/HF. I’m extremely hopeful Goater realises his potential as it’s much needed.

I think the forward line can kick a winning score more often than not, albeit it still looks dysfunctional at times particularly when finishing on the counter. If Larkey has a big year it might paper over some of the cracks. We need to continue to invest in more pace in the front half to create more headaches for the opposition.

The midfield group is on the doorstep of being elite. Ultimately they’ll be our biggest barometer and will likely be what carries us to wins throughout the year.

Our backline is stale. Logue and Comben both seemed to have lost a step and Corr needs to find form quick. I have faith the coaches can see there is a personnel issue back and am hopeful someone puts there hand up quick. Having FOS behind the ball immediately make our back 6 balance improve, and we can more easily replace his minutes at wing/HF. I’m extremely hopeful Goater realises his potential as it’s much needed.

I think the forward line can kick a winning score more often than not, albeit it still looks dysfunctional at times particularly when finishing on the counter. If Larkey has a big year it might paper over some of the cracks. We need to continue to invest in more pace in the front half to create more headaches for the opposition.

I think it’s pretty promising personally that we played like that and were missing both Simpkin and Wardlaw.

I thought it’s the best we have looked through the midfield in about 3 years

Importantly no injuries and more match conditioning for the players....but a better performance compared to last weeks.

We're an indoor footy team and so we won't really know where the team is at until we see the first couple of games at Marvel.

Bingo! King Corey

I think it’s pretty promising personally that we played like that and were missing both Simpkin and Wardlaw.

I thought it’s the best we have looked through the midfield in about 3 years

And again Bingo King Corey

Yes and no.

West coast scored 71 points.

We’d take that as an average score against all season. Also kicking 11.5 was rather accurate vs 9.15 shows that the ease of which west coast locked goals wouldn’t have mattered if we were more accurate/them less accurate.

Don’t het me wrong. Theres lots of room for improvement. But the backline as a whole isn’t responsible for archer and Chom forgetting that sometimes it’s best to go long and hit the boundary.

It’s the second week in a row we have dealt with windy conditions worse than our opponent. But it was better than last week and we play 3 out of 4 at marvel to start.

Bingo bingo bingo!!! King Corey

And again Bingo King Corey

I think most people know I’m not one to make excuses. I’ve been extremely harsh on Clarko for a long time.

However there was some mitigating circumstances yesterday. The defensive lapses for 5 minutes were horrible, however because of the wind, you only really have about 30 more minutes to make that up and capitalize for the rest of the game.

West Coast flooded when defending the wind, we tended to play a normal game plan as if under the dome. We played an +1 in the contest even kicking into it. They played an +1 behind the ball. All their goals into the wind were kicked from about 15 out.

We annihilated them in most stats.

It’s definitely the best we have used the ball in a long time, even with the wind factor.

I’m more bullish than I was last week, that’s for sure.

If we played and dominate certain statistical aspects like that every week, we will win a hell of a lot more games

15 were hand balls and he is going at 63%.

People on this board overrate him. He will not be near the best in the comp with terrible decision making and shit skills.

His DE% should have been way lower, but Champion data count an effective disposal even if you have sold your teammate into trouble.

Phillips isn’t my boy at all, but I find it strange that anyone is using him to justify how shit McKercher was.

A zero gamer in FOS looked better than both of them. At least he doesn’t panic and sell his teammates into trouble.
Being sh1t is a bit of an overstatement imo. Yep a few times his handballs were naff, but I'd reckon they were given in a one two, give and get back situation in an attempt to run the ball. The bloke receiving the ball is generally gonna be hot as the aim is to get it back with the opposition still following the previous handball. Anyway, he's shown that he is a smooth mover and willing to take the game on, has a nice shoe and will become, if not already, a very important player for us. And yes, FOS is an absolute gem of a footballer.

Game Day Community Series. North Melbourne v wc Saturday 1/3/25 Bunbury WA