Autopsy Opening Round = GWS 104-52 Collingwood

I see a lot of people saying Lipinski was poor. From watching on the tele I thought he played ok, definitely not in our worst. Was there something in particular he fluffed?
He had such a great game last week, I guess we were expecting the same.

But that goes for all of them really 🥴

Just sitting in Sydney Airport Lounge waiting to fly home.

What might not have been apparent on Tv is just how swirly and horrible the wind was. Terrible conditions for footy and the ground itself is just horrible for watching the game.

Also noticeable at ground level (me and my mate were right in the fence) was GWS pace and positive decision making as opposed to our more stand back and see what the footy does approach. They backed themselves with quick hands and run and benefited from it.

I didn’t see the frees from it but really felt like umpires were terribly inconsistent with application of calls and GWS benefitted a lot.

Although I don’t think I’ll watch this in replay, might just moisturize my poor sunburnt face. This is not the season for watching footy during daytime 😥

My verdict? This was just a practice match. A real outlier. Move on, prepare for Port and stay positive.

yeah agree no use dropping our bundle just yet. GWS should have won the flag last year and they are favorites to win it this year i reckon

Yes, we may have had a shocker today, but it’s a long season - a marathon, not a sprint. We’ve got plenty of work to do to be able to match it with last year’s best teams, but I have belief and faith in the coaching group and players to do just that. If only they could find a way to display the same belief themselves.

Takes more than belief.

No idea how we're gonna apply pressure when our team is so effing slow.

Every GWS player with pace just burnt off their opponent easily which is why they got so much space and easy goals, mean while we had to kick into a 5v5 contest

I see a lot of people saying Lipinski was poor. From watching on the tele I thought he played ok, definitely not in our worst. Was there something in particular he fluffed?
For me, he generally uses the ball well but gets easily exposed for pace.

Though he had a really good handball intercept when GWS looked out the back, then kicked it laces out to someone at HFF.

My initial tweaks would be Houston in (obviously) to replace Josh. Put Josh back on the wing. And Steele if he stays in, needs to be our tagger. He played his best footy of the year last year in that role.

Cox in? Cameron probably needs the support & McStay can concentrate on just being a forward.

Is it a good or bad thing that we don't train again until Wednesday? 🥴
Seriously after one round. Josh stays at half back with Houston. They’ve trained it all summer. Let’s see after the next round how it works. Josh still had 28 touches today , yet he’s copping heat. Most were average today. Hardly a winner on the park.

I hope it's okay for me to post as an impartial supporter. The scoreboard was not a true indication of the game. Yes the last 20 minutes of the game wasn't good but you didn't have a full bench and your best player was injured for most of the second half. Stats were pretty even across the board but your kicking for goal was woeful and that can take the wind out of a team's sail. You have Houston and DeGoey to come back (2 bona fide stars) and they will make a difference. Easy for me to say but it's the first game of the year so I wouldn't be getting to down on the team. All the best for the remainder of the year guys and gals.

Not giving up with Josh at half back just yet. He was playing there when we went 4-1 to end last season.

Let’s see how he goes with Houston.
Yeah I don't expect they'll move Josh out of HB considering he's trained there all summer.

Hopefully today's match for everyone was just one of those shockers.

We had enough inside 50's to win. Couldn't miss last week & today we couldn't buy a goal.

We were poor in so many areas it is probably best to draw a line through it go back to basics and start again.
Ive never seen so many players cramp up that early in a game.

And here I was planning to watch the replay tonight.

Not.
I can’t bring myself to watch it either. I’m binging the Take the Steps doco instead to hype me up for next week.

When you dominate a QTR like we did in the Third and basically not give the opposition a look in - then you need to capitalize.
We didn’t and when the Oppo is a Flag favorite then it’s game over.
Kingsley would have thought at 3/4 time that they’d got out of jail.

No way he’d have been happy with how they were dominated.

Repeating that dominance in any future games gives us a very comfortable margin at 3/4 time, and we win the game.

Well, that was shambolic and frustrating. Not too much went right for us. Hopefully just an aberration and we can turn it around next week.

In case anyone was wondering, changes to the sides this year compared to last:

GWS
Out: Green, Hayes, Hogan, McMullin, Thomas, Riccardi
In: Gruzewski, Stone, Leake, Jones, Keeffe, Callaghan

Pies
Out: JDG, Markov, Dean, Mitchell, Nable, Cox, Johnson
In: McStay, McInnes, Perryman, Allan, Howe, Membrey, Long

Positives for me:
  • Thought McInnes and Allan played their roles
  • Cameron easily our best
  • Perryman was very good
  • Josh Daicos was very good
  • Still waiting for an update but apart from some cramping and Howe getting a bit of hyperextension to his knee, it seems we've gotten through without any significant injuries

Negatives for me:
  • failing to take opportunities, especially given they kicked 10-11 goals off defensive transition.
  • ball use and the breakdown of connective run
  • lack of matching pressure and work rate
  • lack of clean hands
  • decision making, especially going I50
  • you always look slow when the footy is constantly pinging out of contest into the arms of a GWS player, luck or just better positioning by them?

Hopefully better for the run, bring on PA

Seriously after one round. Josh stays at half back with Houston. They’ve trained it all summer. Let’s see after the next round how it works. Josh still had 28 touches today , yet he’s copping heat. Most were average today. Hardly a winner on the park.
I'm not bagging Josh or giving him heat. I haven't criticised him at all. And I don't expect the coaches will move him.

I just love him on the wing. With Houston coming to the Pies I was surprised we had Josh training as a HB during summer. Particularly when he's such a valuable wingman who can kick a goal or 2.

I hope it's okay for me to post as an impartial supporter. The scoreboard was not a true indication of the game. Yes the last 20 minutes of the game wasn't good but you didn't have a full bench and your best player was injured for most of the second half. Stats were pretty even across the board but your kicking for goal was woeful and that can take the wind out of a team's sail. You have Houston and DeGoey to come back (2 bona fide stars) and they will make a difference. Easy for me to say but it's the first game of the year so I wouldn't be getting to down on the team. All the best for the remainder of the year guys and gals.
Classy post. Also correct.

Why Drop Allan after a Good Game?
Thought he looked lost in the first half. Didn't think he was that good. Oknin 2nd half Plus structural who else cones out.
It's actually frustrating those who were ordinary are structurally important with no replacement. While those OK with promise are obvious outs for your Houston degooey

Lipinski’s knockers are mostly those who have him as their designated whipping boy

He was ok, not great. Just…ok

I thought Long and Allan were perfectly fine given the circumstances. Not sure why so many are focused on those two

I’d argue the most disappointing player relative to their norm was Darcy Cameron

Dude didn’t even have a real opponent for three quarters of the game and still somehow got obliterated and played really poorly

But realistically? Outside Perryman, the other 22 players ranged from ok to deplorable

Autopsy Opening Round = GWS 104-52 Collingwood