Autopsy Opening Round = GWS 104-52 Collingwood

Maybe it's the fact that we didn't score a goal but I didn't feel like we dominated the qtr despite it being in our forward 50 most of the time. We struggled to get a clean touch in our forward line, they were putting us under so much pressure whenever we had the ball.
They couldn’t get the ball out of their back half for most the QTR- our dominance kept rebounding to I50 but we couldn’t score.

What’s bonkers is the level of reading and comprehension on display in this thread.

I didn’t technically even say Darcy Cameron was bad. Although I definitely don’t think he was good.

But relative to his usual standard combined with having literally no genuine opponent for three quarters of the game, I thought he was disappointing.
You might want to try harder at comprehending the game that you are watching.

Look, it’s you opinion and you’re entitled to it of course.

You’re not helping your case by attempting to insult critics of your opinion by stating that they don’t comprehend it.

That sounds like a pretty poor excuse

Grand Final of 2023 was played in 29 degree heat. We seemed to deal with that just fine

We’ve just had a pre-season in one of the most consistently hot Summers in a decade

I doubt the heat was a genuine factor
Sure let’s compare the elite fitness of a whole season leading up to the GF, to the first game of the season.

I haven’t insulted anyone

The insults having been coming my way.

Already had to report one (which was actually actioned surprisingly)
So, you reply with a “victim” response?

If you post something so out there about a player who was about our only shining light then the heats going to come.

That was a particularly disappointing start to the season. No cohesion, dash or even a reasonable level of execution - it’s a bit of a head scratcher why such a poor performance occurred. Not going to panic or freak out just yet but there better be an improvement next week.

And yes, Reef was ordinary and given this move to defence is his last chance saloon, he doesn’t have much time left to prove himself. In my view, he won’t make it.

Lipinski’s knockers are mostly those who have him as their designated whipping boy

He was ok, not great. Just…ok

I thought Long and Allan were perfectly fine given the circumstances. Not sure why so many are focused on those two

I’d argue the most disappointing player relative to their norm was Darcy Cameron

Dude didn’t even have a real opponent for three quarters of the game and still somehow got obliterated and played really poorly

But realistically? Outside Perryman, the other 22 players ranged from ok to deplorable
Many will disagree. But we need Cox back as as a ruckman to take 40% of the contests. He really improves the midfield.

Our defensive transition needs work. Too many times the opposition just sliced through our zone, and moved the ball from end to end with ease. We’re way too aggressive with our positioning, that when the ball is turned over, they are open players everywhere. It’s an issue that plagued us last year that still hasn’t been fixed.
Houston should help that Issue

I’ve defended Schultz since he’s been at the club, but he’s had 12 months to get up to scratch. Some of his decision-making and execution are not even AFL-standard. I don’t care how much we gave up for him, if he doesn’t perform at the level that he is required, then he should be playing in the VFL
To me he been a Bust.

Yes he does well Defensvely but that is about it

Also why we Bring in a Small Forward when we had plenty of Good Ones?

Just sitting in Sydney Airport Lounge waiting to fly home.

What might not have been apparent on Tv is just how swirly and horrible the wind was. Terrible conditions for footy and the ground itself is just horrible for watching the game.

Also noticeable at ground level (me and my mate were right in the fence) was GWS pace and positive decision making as opposed to our more stand back and see what the footy does approach. They backed themselves with quick hands and run and benefited from it.

I didn’t see the frees from it but really felt like umpires were terribly inconsistent with application of calls and GWS benefitted a lot.

Although I don’t think I’ll watch this in replay, might just moisturize my poor sunburnt face. This is not the season for watching footy during daytime 😥

My verdict? This was just a practice match. A real outlier. Move on, prepare for Port and stay positive.

I was there and imo the wind wasn't a factor.

They easily outworking us. Their spread was significantly better. Like night and day.

We had zero overlap run. Everything was kick mark. Completely different to what they were spruiking after Richmond.

It’s hard to find positives in what was dished up today, but if that’s the standard then let’s start ripping some of the bandaid off.

I was as optimistic as anyone about the season but that’s completely vanished.

The midfield needs to be addressed ASAP. We are way too slow. We can’t run all of Perryman, Pendlebury, Lipinski, Long and Sidebottom in there simultaneously. Just one is enough. Get Crisp, Allan, McReery, and Elliot in there. Hell, even get IQ in there. JDG back soon certainly helps, although I’m not too optimistic about how his body will hold up.

Our defensive transition needs work. Too many times the opposition just sliced through our zone, and moved the ball from end to end with ease. We’re way too aggressive with our positioning, that when the ball is turned over, they are open players everywhere. It’s an issue that plagued us last year that still hasn’t been fixed.

Another issue that we haven’t addressed is our forward connection. Goal accuracy didn’t help, but compared to GWS, goals for us were hard-fought. This is on the coaches as well as it is on the players. The list averages over 100 games experience amongst themselves. They need to show it. Change the angles, and lower the eyes. Don’t be too stagnant and predictable to the opposition. Also, don’t play into their hands.

I’ve defended Schultz since he’s been at the club, but he’s had 12 months to get up to scratch. Some of his decision-making and execution are not even AFL-standard. I don’t care how much we gave up for him, if he doesn’t perform at the level that he is required, then he should be playing in the VFL.

Thankfully it’s only March 9th and there were some little positives. But we’d wanna get busy real soon if we wanna be in contention.

When push comes to shove, I hope Fly makes some hard calls and makes some of our veterans really earn their spot.

First round is often won with fitness. And it's often not a good predictor of the year ahead.

Our running is going to be an issue though. We targeted kids who can really run over a few drafts. Really need a couple of Allan, Ryan, TJ to kick on.

Without a doubt the worst game we’ve played since Fly has been the coach.Limp,listless,lifeless.Just pure crap actually.No positives at all.Back to the drawing board.Hopefully the players will actually turn up for next week’s game.

Well that's 2 years in a row we have gone up there and played uninspiring, flat, disinterested footy. That tells me our players struggle getting motivated to play this match as the opening game of their season.
I really am hoping we now pull the plug on playing opening round going forward...

What’s bonkers is the level of reading and comprehension on display in this thread.

I didn’t technically even say Darcy Cameron was bad. Although I definitely don’t think he was good.

But relative to his usual standard combined with having literally no genuine opponent for three quarters of the game, I thought he was disappointing.
He had a good game. If he was poor relative to his usual standards, he'd be favourite for the Brownlow.

Houston should help that Issue

To me he been a Bust.

Yes he does well Defensvely but that is about it

Also why we Bring in a Small Forward when we had plenty of Good Ones?
So the best defensive player from last year awarded by the club is a bust. Maybe you are over reacting after 1 game.

Fly got off very lightly in his post game presser. Footy reporters these days want to cuddle up too much to the coaches.

There was a time when a well respected footy scribe - think Mike Sheehan - would have thrown a cat amongst the pigeons with something like:

“Craig, over the summer much was written and said about Collingwood’s team being too old and slow. On today’s evidence, that criticism would seem well-founded. What say you about that?”

I wish someone had had the balls to ask that today.

Fly got off very lightly in his post game presser. Footy reporters these days want to cuddle up too much to the coaches.

There was a time when a well respected footy scribe - think Mike Sheehan - would have thrown the a cat amongst the pigeons with something like:

“Craig, over the summer much was written and said about Collingwood’s team being too old and slow. On today’s evidence, that criticism would seem well-founded. What say you about that?”

The media will be sure to do it when there’s no opportunity to reply.

Actually thought we were okay, had plenty of good patches and totally dominated the third quarter. Dropped the ball late in the game but happy to put that down to being first up and came up against a very good opposition.

l

There was a time when a well respected footy scribe - think Mike Sheehan - would have thrown the a cat amongst the pigeons with something like:

I’m sure he’d simply say it’s a Marathon not a sprint. And that flags aren’t won in march. Just ask the lions last year

Autopsy Opening Round = GWS 104-52 Collingwood