Strategy Round 5 Changes vs Richmond Tigers

• Thread starter Thread starter freo_leo29

Agree. Richmond will be gungho with nothing to lose. Also some pace. Don’t want to let them get early momentum.

They pretty much matched Lions for 3 out of 4 Qs with Lions piling on goals in one Q, eventual difference 28 points.

They should absolutely not be taken for granted.
I think Richmond will fade badly in the hot conditions. Freo are heat climatised after playing every game so far and all summer in the heat.

Hope we put em to the sword and make up for the Geelong game.

If he has a big year in the WAFL I'd consider giving him another 12 months. Cox, Chapman and Pearce have had issues across their careers.
I'm not against the idea, but surely Murphy and Davies need to develop with some game time. Keen to see Nicholls develop too.

Agree. Richmond will be gungho with nothing to lose. Also some pace. Don’t want to let them get early momentum.

They pretty much matched Lions for 3 out of 4 Qs with Lions piling on goals in one Q, eventual difference 28 points.

They should absolutely not be taken for granted.

Brisbane also got smashed by WC for a half. Brisbane are only going half paced in these kinds of matches. It's a marathon.

I hate how this board pre-emptively moans about selection. Whinging about JL potentially dropping Dudley when he was a surprise selection by JL in the first place is lame. Cheers up lads.
Perspective Broomer, one good inclusion doesn't erase all the bad inclusions. Adelaide is his home and he has damn well earnt the call up to play there.

Do they? Adelaide Oval is only stadium bigger than Bellerive Oval and York Park used in Gather Round and the stadium isn't much bigger. It's being built for location mainly.

Think Bellerive Oval and York Park could work well with support of one or two other grounds.
I think absolutely. No point rushing in with Gather round in Tassie the first year they are in the comp.

There will already be excitement & media with them being in the comp. Let them build the Stadium and have it be the centre piece of a big footy celebration.

It would make a mockery of insisting on a new stadium with a roof. If they held all 9 (& a half) games in their existing small country style ovals.

He has been out for three weeks hasn't he?
I may be getting ahead of my thinking here, but I am seeing him like Fyfe and Walters become bit part players.Available when injuries strike.
And don't get me wrong, I have never been a knocker of any of the three infact the opposite. But.....
Switta was deservingly top 10 in the Doig last year. He’s made of tissue paper but is a gun when he’s fit and firing. No way he’s not straight back in when fit and if he was head to head with Dudley, will kick less goals but run through the middle and add pace. He’s got plenty of amazing highlights and clutch tackles too.

I want Dudley to stay in but Switta is a better player and is easily best 22 when available. Short memories around here sometimes.

I hate how this board pre-emptively moans about selection. Whinging about JL potentially dropping Dudley when he was a surprise selection by JL in the first place is lame. Cheers up lads.
This is like saying we should've gotten peanuts for Lachie Neale because we drafted him at 58.

Dudley is playing well and is exactly what we've been lacking since prime Michael Walters/Ballas. His value has increased exponentially since he came in and people would be justified in feeling annoyed if he got dropped.

he won't tho

This is like saying we should've gotten peanuts for Lachie Neale because we drafted him at 58.

Dudley is playing well and is exactly what we've been lacking since prime Michael Walters/Ballas. His value has increased exponentially since he came in and people would be justified in feeling annoyed if he got dropped.

he won't tho

You missed my point? The pre-emptive sooking is my point. If people simply stated that they hope he doesn't get dropped i wouldn't have said anything.

The coach that gave Amiss his first game back in an elim final, Dudley a chance out of no where, selected Reidy and then dropped him after one week, isn't some coach that's scared to make a risky call.

Disagreeing with a coach is one thing. But pre-emptively sooking in case a coach who knows infinitely more than you makes a decision that you don't like is very silly imo. At least leave the melts until after it happens.

Darcy in, sub him out in the third if all goes to plan.
Voss & Amiss to back him up.
Treacey better not be rucking.
Do we remember last year ?

Could Draper do the odd stint in the ruck? We're already quite tall down back.

I think absolutely. No point rushing in with Gather round in Tassie the first year they are in the comp.

There will already be excitement & media with them being in the comp. Let them build the Stadium and have it be the centre piece of a big footy celebration.

It would make a mockery of insisting on a new stadium with a roof. If they held all 9 (& a half) games in their existing small country style ovals.
Fair enough the points on the new stadium if it's about the AFL showing off, which it will be.

Can't agree that Bellerive and York Park are small country style ovals.

The more I think of it, the more I am against throwing Darcy in this week. He needs another week of WAFL and if Jackson was fit there is no way we'd even be having the conversation.

My concern is just how bad the backup option is, Reidy's terrible and doesn't belong on an AFL list, but he's probably going to need to play this week.

The more I think of it, the more I am against throwing Darcy in this week. He needs another week of WAFL and if Jackson was fit there is no way we'd even be having the conversation.

My concern is just how bad the backup option is, Reidy's terrible and doesn't belong on an AFL list, but he's probably going to need to play this week.

I also don't want Richmond close early, or even worse get behind and have to chase the game.

We were very lucky against he bulldogs, as we were smashed in the middle and gave up a huge number of inside 50's.

I don't think you will win many games while losing the inside 50 count 44 to 63.

Nank would bully him, still a scrawny kid. Treacy and Voss are big guys that can hold their own in a ruck contest. I only really want Treacy rucking in our own forward 50, and even then prefer him not.

English was ignoring Voss and Treacy late in the game and doing what he wanted.

You need a ruck.

Switta was deservingly top 10 in the Doig last year. He’s made of tissue paper but is a gun when he’s fit and firing. No way he’s not straight back in when fit and if he was head to head with Dudley, will kick less goals but run through the middle and add pace. He’s got plenty of amazing highlights and clutch tackles too.

I want Dudley to stay in but Switta is a better player and is easily best 22 when available. Short memories around here sometimes.

Switta has been good in the past but I much prefer the current small forward set up, we haven't looked this dangerous under JLo. I'm sure he will come straight back in if fit, but I don't agree with disrupting what we currently have.