Preview 2025 Rd 5 Carlton vs West Coast Saturday 12th April 1.20PM AEST @ Adelaide Oval

Can Cripps touch his toes?

Vine Wtf GIF

Heard it all now
Actually feel it was a reasonable question, and a good observation.

Crippa was dramatically hampered against the Magpies. Media nuffies (particularly Buckley) raving over the job Pendlebury did on Crippa don’t take in to account he was severely hampered and probably shouldn’t have played. Crippa doesn’t bleat on and is fair game by running out, but that selection integrity was again pushed. So hoping another week has him “right” although some training footage showed one “effort” for a ground ball being very minimal.

Eh, that's just playing semantics. Decent kicks can become good kicks, poor kicks can become decent kicks.

Either way almost nobody in the history of the AFL has gone from a poor kick to an elite one which is really what we're arguing about.

We haven't drafted or traded in more than 4 elite kicking talents in the last 5 years and our skill across the park on game day shows that.
It wan't what we were arguing about. The debate got sidetracked.
Elite kicks are irrelevant.
Improving the team is what matters. We should be kicking better than we are, but we don't need to be elite.

You can significantly improve without getting to be an "elite" kick

What about the Irish blokes??

They’ve kicked a round ball all their lives, then come over here & blitz.

Never see a poor Irish kick.

Whoever teaches those guys should have a statue.

Aside from our kicking skills, or lack thereof, I want to see our handballing improve. Too often handballing to players who are stationary or under pressure or handballing to their feet.
This has been highlighted on some of the footy programs lately

So many handballs that miss their targets - too high too low dropping short ball spinning laterally rather than vertically (like a drop point)

particularly under pressure

3Q against the filth was shockingly bad

Doc is a major contributor to this - although he's not alone.

We could badly do with a big win here just for the confidence levels and moral at least.

Really the team could blow the Eagles out of the water and some people will say it was only the Eagles, while a narrow win will be seen by some as further proof that there is problems. A damned if you do damned if you don't scenario really.

The main thing is to just get those first four points of the year and hopefully drive on from it and go on to better things.
The win is the most important thing, of course. Weagles are abysmal however and imo we should be beating them by six

goals plus. If our season starts now, as some have suggested. Then we flog this mob and we are then back in the game.

Player's will get around H and I could see him kicking five snags, would be exactly what the doctor ordered.

Blues by 37 points.

If Cripps or anyone isn’t ok, they need to take a week or 2 off. Playing players not right, is one of our issues.
Not saying they have to be 100% to play, but if they are impacted, by not being able to bend or run or whatever fully, then they rest. That is best for the team and individual both short and long term.

Actually feel it was a reasonable question, and a good observation.

Crippa was dramatically hampered against the Magpies. Media nuffies (particularly Buckley) raving over the job Pendlebury did on Crippa don’t take in to account he was severely hampered and probably shouldn’t have played. Crippa doesn’t bleat on and is fair game by running out, but that selection integrity was again pushed. So hoping another week has him “right” although some training footage showed one “effort” for a ground ball being very minimal.
Spot on Coona. Crippa was a shadow of his normal self, played very sore after that hard landing on his hip at marvel.

Yes he did put his hand up, but this is one of the M.V.s mantras. That the captain plays and leads from the front, unless he

is in a wheelchair. Some have been critical of our captains efforts last week, definitely harsh imo.

We will see Crippa back to his best in Radelaide, pretty sure.