Autopsy Round 9 - St Kilda v Carlton *SPUD'S GAME*

I just don't see the knock on Darcy. Might have to watch closer
There was one contested incident that I saw where he was in the primary position to take possession and he squibbed it ... didn't go hard enough ... half-hearted attempt ... stood out like engorged dog balls .... and the Scum took it away ..... wasn't good

Saw that too. Very damning.

Could only watch the first q and a bit.

We really missed Wood as the half forward/wing contested player. Higgo for all his heart tried hard but just isn’t that type of player.
Good to see him slot that goal early - I heard he was subbed for being crook. Great effort if that was the case.

Annoyingly their forwards just out bodied us early and were given some cheapies - can’t control that but it’s so frustrating to see our forwards work 10x harder for a result than any other.

The LOC hit in McGovern was sublime.

4-5 isn’t the end of the world, onto next week.

Even Macrae seemed to struggle to hit a target.

We can't kick. Just hand it back time and time again and make spuds like Carlton look good. So sick of it.

I'd drop Hill and Wilson. Windy on thin ice. It seems to me that if Hill starts a game poorly, it gets in his head.

Mitch Owens is everything.

Well done Ronnie.

Howard doesn't seem right, but tried his heart out and did some good things.

The fact they refuse to play Owens through the middle more when our midfield is getting pantsed kills me.

Zero enjoyment watching that shitfest.

Awful game of footy.

Umpiring terrible yet again.

Lyon needs to have a word in his ear about efforts off the ball, got caught a lot watching the game at times. Still a lot of work to be done in areas of decision making and disposal. You can get a lot of the ball and cover a lot of territory, but finishing off the work is the thing that needs addressing.

I personally reckon the suggestion that Wilson will end up in the middle is fanciful, there’s not one thing about his game that screams “inside mid” to me, but he was so far off our worst tonight it’s not worth mentioning.

5th most disposals on the ground
2nd most metres gained
=7th most ranking points
6th most pressure acts
=7th most marks, score involvements and inside 50’s

And he played 89% of the game, covered a whopping 16.4km, and 4.3km at high speed (the 2nd most anyone has done in a game this year- he now has all of the top 4, and 5 of the top 6, and he’s the only one to have cracked 4km).

Honestly feels like his ceiling is Tom Scully, very similar players in a bunch of ways. Get to be a strong B grade winger who runs all day and fills the right holes but never quite blows teams away.

Can someone give me some stats around average age and average games played for the 2 teams tonight? Try and paint a picture like based on our inexperience we weee always going to lose. Just to give me some perspective and make me feel good about the loss.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20250510-072323.png
    Screenshot_20250510-072323.png
    32.5 KB · Views: 52

The talk of the pregame stuff being a negative is utter nonsense..

They did an incredible job and I didn't hear anything complaining when we smacked around the Pies last year.

The sooner Pou gets amongst the mids the better, we couldn't get our hands on the ball all night.

If we had one of Curnow/McKay in our side it's a different result.

Frustrating, but promising all the same

It’s one thing carrying a Collard in the forward pocket hardly touching it week after week, but you can’t afford to be carrying someone in the midfield against remotely decent teams, or you’re going to be pushing shit uphill.
Clark was also missing. Not in the injury list anymore either.

Missing Clark and Wood if winning was a goal vs getting games into kids.

If there's one game you don't want to lose!! It looked like we did kind of play that way too. Very tight contested game, awful to watch. I think we tried to get more numbers around the ball at stoppage to stem the bleeding when it became obvious that we would get smashed at clearance. Then had nothing to go to when we won it. Didn't help that some of our skills were terrible.

Hill was a serious liability. He fumbles so much when there is a tiny bit of pressure it would literally be better if he stayed further outside and let someone else win the hard(ish) ball.

Byrnes probably played his best game, was everywhere and used it well. Great to see Pou back - good 1st game back.

Very frustrating. Midfield destroyed early which lost us the game. A positive was we found our way back in the middle but it's hard coming from behind. In the last quarter we had some glorious chamceothat we butchered. Macrae and Hall both should have goaled.

Who was on Silvagni? He killed us all night.

We would have loved King but also a fit and in form Henry would have been a huge asset. Need him back in form.

It was really an awful night but I think we can learn a lot from it. We should have won but just couldn't get the style and execution right, hopefully next time.

I personally reckon the suggestion that Wilson will end up in the middle is fanciful, there’s not one thing about his game that screams “inside mid” to me, but he was so far off our worst tonight it’s not worth mentioning.

5th most disposals on the ground
2nd most metres gained
=7th most ranking points
6th most pressure acts
=7th most marks, score involvements and inside 50’s

And he played 89% of the game, covered a whopping 16.4km, and 4.3km at high speed (the 2nd most anyone has done in a game this year- he now has all of the top 4, and 5 of the top 6, and he’s the only one to have cracked 4km).
He seems to have become a whipping boy in here, not sure why he is a great young prospect.

Disappointed but not shattered. Lacked finesse in execution and decision making but otherwise were well in it for the whole game with a very inexperienced midfield.

Missed Mason Wood - would have made a big difference.

Stats wise the Marshall v De Koning contest was close but De Koning is a more complete "ruckman" working with a much better midfield.

Unfortunate to lose Higgins.

Remind me never to pick a fight with an Irishman - LOC must be made of rock.

I think we need a complete overhaul of our fitness staff.

Doug was rushed straight back in, last week he was favouring his shoulder and had a hip issue - this week seemed underdone. He's been good since he came back, but he's not 100%.

Higgins, too sick to train, should never play if that illness causes him to be subbed.

King, well, we all know how King has gone since the middle of last year.

Butler, recurrence of the same injuries despite a heap of work preseason.

Henry, is another one in the 'can't get it right' category.

Pou, the guy is class, but clearly not 100% if we aren't rolling him through the middle. The stress fractures was due to overwork

Steele/Marshall, both playing like banged up vets trying to get to round 23, only issue is they've been doing it since round 1.

JC is having recurring soft tissue injuries this year.

So basically, our record of rehabbing players to full fitness really isn't looking great. It's like we have Essendons old fitness guy or something based on these issues.

Edit: of course it's 'this guy' with a photo of one of his many injury free specimens

View attachment 2309984
This is why i didn't like it in RTB's presser last week when he essentially took the piss out of Doogs for coming off with an abductor. We have form for playing injured players and then them reinjuring themselves or really struggling in the game. You don't want a culture where players feel like they need to play through injury

Only kids but LOC (6), Hugo (11), Box (10), Windy (13), Collard (0) - moreso the mids, but we cab have 3 defensive minded mids who don't find the ball at all.

Another thing, we don't train at night. Hammers falcon last night may be proof of that.

A lot went wrong last night, but we still should've won. Funny game footy is.

I always think back to the 80s, I remember being so bog average in Spuds era - it's like we bring it back for one night only.

Was this game a negotiated away game with increased gate takings?

Why would we have a club-focused marquee game as an away game otherwise?

Did we generate a record attendance for the two clubs only for Carlton to capitalise?
No it was our home game we requested to be at the G for spuds game.

We would have made buckeloads than if this game was at Marvel

Very disappointing watch live. Poor skills and what looked like nervous indecision going into the 50.
No one wanted to take the shot - 3rd quarter Hugo marks inside the 50 dead in front and goes sideways outside the 50 eventually Hill got it on the run within range and goes to the pocket where we have no player clear.
Very very hard to watch.

Autopsy Round 9 - St Kilda v Carlton *SPUD'S GAME*