Autopsy Post-game: North Melbourne dances with our sister, draws against Brisbane

Did anyone else google the score and see that we’d won 72 to 70?

I did. I was out to dinner so could only refresh the score here and there and spent a good ten minutes thinking we’d won that thing. Planned to get home and bask in the glory.

Then I went on here and saw all this talk about a draw. Then on the Facebook page and saw 71-71.

Another step added to the excruciating existence of being a North fan. Can’t trust, or enjoy anything.

ANYTHING
AT ALL

F*** you Google 😆🤣

(😭)
My partner sent me that screenshot. I 100% knew it was a draw and the fact the wrong score card said it was played at Marvel was the clincher. AI, huh.

Quote: lachie neale “we couldn’t have played any worse”
They played as well as we let them play.

Which is usually what happens funnily enough.

This week we didn't let them have much easy ball. The positive was with both sides being midfield dominant we beat them at their own game. Heaps of credit for that goes to X, but the other mids were good around the contest as well. Think we match up better against them than some of the more outside dominant sides we've played and will play.

🤣 I’ve got a slightly obtuse take out of yesterday’s game. We’re all frustrated that we didn’t achieve the victory we should have - rightly so. However, if we had gotten over the line, you could just see this team resting on their laurels next week and losing to Richmond - back to square one. This way, although we didn’t lose, the media are still getting into us for not being able to seal the deal. That should ensure we enter the Richmond game champing at the bit.

I don't have a problem with him either. Has done his time more than most transgressors in the AFL landscape.

Interesting how Lloyd and Hird clearly have an almost affection for us from the days we were a respected nemesis.
It might be worth it for the online melts. Nice to get one back on them after they poached some beloved ex North people in Brad, CamJ and Ben Magoo.

Konstanty will be the scapegoat but the lead from the full forward was terrible, again.
The lead was fine for once. Its just that a nine game player who played his guts out all day was a bit ****ed by the time he kicked it. When he's played 29 or 59 games he'll be making that kick.

North Melbourne v Brisbane​

10 Tristan Xerri NMFC
8 Dayne Zorko BL
5 Charlie Comben NMFC
3 Jack Payne BL
2 Luke Davies-Uniacke NMFC
2 Josh Dunkley BL

Stephens would have been kicking from inside 50 he could have had a shot, all we needed was a point.
I think Konstanty should have changed direction and cut inside. It would have opened up the 50. Not sure if giving it to Stephens.would have ended well as he would have been on his right foot unless he could have sold the dummy or used Konstanty again. Just my thoughts.

Nah.

When he's played 29 or 59 games he'll be handing it off to Stephens in the higher % play.
He either gives it to Stephens straight away when he gets it or he has to hold it imo. Bartel said he should run at the Lions player, that's not a bad option or keep taking the space in front of him. If he kicks two metres to his right tho Larkey is having the shot from 45 out, 45deg+ angle on his favorite side to shoot from. Before he went down media street he was 90% to kick a goal from there.

I think Konstanty should have changed direction and cut inside. It would have opened up the 50. Not sure if giving it to Stephens.would have ended well as he would have been on his right foot unless he could have sold the dummy or used Konstanty again. Just my thoughts.
Having watched it again, Konstanty made a perfectly acceptable decision. If he had kicked the ball one metre to the right, we wouldn’t be having this discussion. He didn’t, so we’ll rightly unload on him. Stephens was only two metres ahead of the Brisbane player. Passing to him was not the lay down misère it’s being touted as, IMO. Stephens, then, would have had to seal the deal. Possibly, he could have run to the 50 and launched…

Having said all that, I’ve just listened/watched Bartel’s take and I’ve completely changed my mind. It was indeed a brain fade by Konstanty. 🤣

Any team that we come near or beat will lament how they should have played better.

This whole they never got out of third gear is a nonsense.

They are as professional as a unit as any side in the competition. They have great players all over the ground. We planned, and executed that plan so well we all but pulled of one of the greatest heists ever.

Before the game who gave us a shot? no one. we just about f***ing did it anyway.

There is a heart in this team.

Just keep at what we are doing.

North will rise again.
I agree, I thought it was poor form by Neale to say that and I bet he regrets saying it but WE made them play like that, yes Brisbane has played better this year but we beat them soundly in the contest so they couldn't generate ball movement as I thought we protected the ball a little better this week, so it also reduced the opportunities for turnover so we squeezed them a bit.

If he had his time again, I'm sure in hindsight that Neale would prefer to have said that North made Brisbane play like that. Because they were having a dip, make no mistakes about it.

This game was the first time in a long time that our players stood up physically against a powerful team and not only matched them in the contest but comprehensively beat them. Great signs.

Was being chased by Rayner three steps behind.

If he couldn’t burn him off, he can GTFO.

Ha ha, you reckon they did that voluntarily, and didn't try to change gears ?
To be honest, I think their execution by foot around the ground under zero pressure was incredibly poor from a top notch A grade team. So I do think they were down, we definitely created intense pressure around them and we definitely should have won, but im in the camp we should have won by 5-6 goals.

Incredibly different to my pre game predictions.

🤣 I’ve got a slightly obtuse take out of yesterday’s game. We’re all frustrated that we didn’t achieve the victory we should have - rightly so. However, if we had gotten over the line, you could just see this team resting on their laurels next week and losing to Richmond - back to square one. This way, although we didn’t lose, the media are still getting into us for not being able to seal the deal. That should ensure we enter the Richmond game champing at the bit.
The ol 6 point play?

It's the kick that was dud, as mentioned earlier, needed to be boundary side of Larkey. I reckon if he handballed to Stephens, who was running onto his right, Stephens woulda wanted his left and then would have shifted back towards the Lions players. If you stop the vision when the ball is over Stephens head from the kick, you can see that Larkey has to change direction, thus bringing his opponent into play.

Stephens may have swung inside and laced a player in the corridor too.

But Larkey(?) would have been anticipating that to be handballed. No way would you think your team mate would burn stephens in that position

Anyone who thinks anything different is flat out footy illiterate

But Larkey(?) would have been anticipating that to be handballed. No way would you think your team mate would burn stephens in that position

Well then I must be dead set stupid

Larkey is leading out towards the boundary ... he's a dumb ****er too then.

Autopsy Post-game: North Melbourne dances with our sister, draws against Brisbane