Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVII

Yep don't have the coin to pay him out
Oh boy. Well that's quite an unfortunate dilemma.

Sounds like Cook deliberately decided Voss was coaching out his contract, no matter what. Doesn't seem smart business to me (to not at least give yourself the option) but what do I know.

100% of punters here (and off line) + 99% of the media agree that our form (and results) this season have been abysmal and way sub par after a similar finish to 2024.... dross really.

Our list is way, way better than the output we see every weekend... yes, it's not perfect, but neither are other teams' lists.

I just want someone at the Club to publicly acknowledge that obvious fact together with a clear, concise statement about what they're going to do to change things for the better....

Voss has become a man of cliché and ambivalence.... and likely knows his neck is close to a noose... we'll get nothing useful from him.

The President - wtf is his name - invisible. Disgraceful effort (marginally better than the dick pic guy)...

Last edited by a moderator:

Sounds like Cook deliberately decided Voss was coaching out his contract, no matter what. Doesn't seem smart business to me (to not at least give yourself the option) but what do I know.
I assume if coaches salary gets taken out of the soft cap we could. Just pay the next one peanuts year 1 and then heaps the following years.

However like you, what would I know.

Why would he care? He had an exit date before he even signed on. Who can give their all in a high-performance environment when they already have a contract & exit date?

I've said it on here before, but in a podcast with Cook, he admitted what initially attracted him to Carlton was the monetary offer.

Bad sign.

How do we not have the money to pay Voss out??

Also isn’t there a 6 month clause pay out that is in coaches contracts like what happen to Ratts at St.Kilda
Yes that's right. Is XDQX claiming we can't afford half a year? Given it's soft cap, that's surprising and disappointing that a big club like us would let that relatively small amount be the deciding factor in such an important position.

100% of punters here (and off line) + 99% of the media agree that our form (and results) this season have been abysmal and way sub par after a similar finish to 2024.... dross really.

Our list is way, way better than the output we see every weekend... yes, it's not perfect, but neither are other teams' lists.

I just want someone at the Club to publicly acknowledge that obvious fact together with a clear, concise statement about what they're going to do to change things for the better....

Voss has become a man of cliché and ambivalence.... and likely knows his neck is close to a noose... we'll get nothing useful from him.

The President - wtf is his name - invisible. Disgraceful effort (marginally better than the dick pic guy)...
Agree with everything. Stop treating the supporters like idiots

Caro was saying last night that it's expected that a good portion of the coaches salaries will be able to be placed outside the cap.. this was when they were talking about Voss. So it does seem like xDQ82x is on the money about finances being tight. However, it does also seem like we will be able to move him on if what Caro says pans out.

But if we do get stuck with him for another year.. boy oh boy we are run in every facet like absolute amateur hour. Always leave yourself wriggle room. Never back yourself into a corner. My faith in this club is really starting to waiver. We make bad choice after bad choice and it sucks. Treading water under Voss, will bottom out right when Tassie comes in.

No to Buckley. Sorry can’t coach.

You don't get to within a kick of a premiership if you can't coach...
I want a new coach, and struggle to pick who.

Buckley would be in the mix. He is totally a student of the game and would have moved sufficiently with the times. He has never been a favourite if mine for persona, but again, he has matured, at least seemingly in the media. Wright would know him better than most and could assess. He had his time at Collingwood and the tenure was up with the group.

I have little doubt he would establish workable structures to move the pill. His Magpies were among the best structurally, question being if it was off the back of Malthouse and inherited? I don’t think so.

Not going to spruik him, but would have to be in the mix. What bloke would be better prepared for the pressures of our club expectation than an ex-Collingwood leader. Whoever gets the gig would have to be very thick skinned and self assured. The key would be the assistants, we need the right ones, and they need to be empowered does Figjam do this?

Blokes like Simpson are being mentioned, a great footy brain and highly successful before falling off the map at the Eagles. Horse Longmire “losing the hunger” like Dimma coincided with his group falling off the map.

The bloke understands the nuances of the game as well as anyone. Man management needs assessment from those who have been close to him. Fortunately Wright is one of those. If Wright is astute as I hope, he will make the right assessment. We are in a different spot than the Magpies were when Macrae flipped the script.

I did not want Voss, but my thoughts at the time were that we had/have the group that any half decent coach would take us horribly close to the ultimate success. I didn’t despair with the selection until MV showed himself inflexible to upskill himself and his team.

We need structures, we need to “refresh” some skills, we need team first and total buy in and commitment from the group. The upgrade to running, linking players gets a massive head start with Jagga Smith and then Cody Walker over the next two seasons. Another top tall defensive prospect in Dean, quick, athletic utility type in Ison and a quality, hard working forward/mid in young Gresham are tied to us along with young Clark who as yet doesn’t have the body of work of the other three. Logically we will get a restored first round pick with the likely departure of TDK (Lindsay and Grij candidates here, among others)

After the next two off seasons, the only question marks MAY be our small forward mix, but I still think our current group would be more effective better deployed, and a ruck effectiveness without De Koning.

I assume if coaches salary gets taken out of the soft cap we could. Just pay the next one peanuts year 1 and then heaps the following years.

However like you, what would I know.
I thought we could just pay the premium outside the soft cap to move him on if we wanted to

But again, as you rightly pointed out - what would any of us know (though you more than most of us, DQ)

How do we not have the money to pay Voss out??

Also isn’t there a 6 month clause pay out that is in coaches contracts like what happen to Ratts at St.Kilda
That may only be applicable to clubs that are on the AFL payroll? St Kilda get the highest handout in Victoria amongst the AFL clubs (4million) I think the AFL got sick of paying out coaches that the clubs couldn't bank roll